10 books like Slightly Dangerous

By Mary Balogh,

Here are 10 books that authors have personally recommended if you like Slightly Dangerous. Shepherd is a community of 6,000+ authors sharing their favorite books with the world.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy through links on our website, we may earn an affiliate commission (learn more).

Anne of Green Gables

By L.M. Montgomery,

Book cover of Anne of Green Gables

Oh how I love this book! And I have continued to love it, returning to the story with my children. Such vibrant characters and wonderful observations of human behaviour. I read all the sequels. I fell in love with Prince Edward Island and the gorgeous Gilbert. Anne Shirley was the first audacious, outspoken, maverick female voice I encountered. Her capacity for love and the love she invokes in her hardened adoptive mother, Marilla, still bring me to tears. Her connection with the gentle Matthew, her indignant rage at the unfairness of life, and her dream and determination to find something better were inspirational to me. My own daughters are adopted and I swear there is a bit of Anne in both of them. 

Anne of Green Gables

By L.M. Montgomery,

Why should I read it?

17 authors picked Anne of Green Gables as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Anne of Green Gables is the classic children's book by L M Montgomery, the inspiration for the Netflix Original series Anne with an E. Watch it now!

Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert are in for a big surprise. They are waiting for an orphan boy to help with the work at Green Gables - but a skinny, red-haired girl turns up instead. Feisty and full of spirit, Anne Shirley charms her way into the Cuthberts' affection with her vivid imagination and constant chatter. It's not long before Anne finds herself in trouble, but soon it becomes impossible for the Cuthberts to…


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

By Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows,

Book cover of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society… post-WWII. Told through letters it reveals the story of Juliet Ashton who lost her parents and is looking for a new family. Though she doesn’t know it. She finds it in an odd assortment of characters who are part of a book club I would die to join. Again, each “family member” has a different personality that draws you in and moves the story forward. A lovely, lovely book about taking risks and finding love.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

By Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows,

Why should I read it?

7 authors picked The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The beloved, life-affirming international bestseller which has sold over 5 million copies worldwide - now a major film starring Lily James, Matthew Goode, Jessica Brown Findlay, Tom Courtenay and Penelope Wilton 'I can't remember the last time I discovered a novel as smart and delightful as this one ... Treat yourself to this book, please - I can't recommend it highly enough' Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love To give them hope she must tell their story It's 1946. The war is over, and Juliet Ashton has writer's block. But when she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams of…

Crown of Dreams

By Kimberly Cates,

Book cover of Crown of Dreams

First and foremost, this author is so witty and her characters so engaging, you will be entertained from the first page. No wait, first sentence. The historical setting is perfect as love and war collide in a time when England upended the monarchy. Miles is the idealistic (and rash) hero, and Devlin, despite her independent spirit, finds herself swept along as he fights for what he believes in. Rich in history, adventure, and intensely romantic, I loved this book.

Crown of Dreams

By Kimberly Cates,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Crown of Dreams as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Sinful

By Susan Johnson,

Book cover of Sinful

If you wish to travel far afield, have a taste for erotic in your romance (done tastefully), and unconventional heroes and heroines, this is a great story. Sinjin is wounded and wary, and Chelsea is an unconventional young woman with a great deal of determination and resilience. Their reckless passion for each other is ill-advised and they both know it, yet neither one can resist. The exotic settings and careful attention to historical detail make this a very memorable read. Don’t forget also some really hot sex scenes.

Sinful

By Susan Johnson,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Sinful as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Louisianna Dawn

By Jennifer Blake,

Book cover of Louisianna Dawn

Set in a time when New Orleans was still very French, Rene is a unique hero because he serves a foreign régime and has a different mindset when it comes to the governing of a territory that is now a quintessential part of America. Blake does such a good job of putting you in the setting, and the heroine is absolutely resolute, independent, and courageous. Their love affair is so unlikely, yet made believable and there is a tantalizing mystery and plenty of action due to the unsettled and volatile time of this story.

Louisianna Dawn

By Jennifer Blake,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Louisianna Dawn as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


The Ivy Tree

By Mary Stewart,

Book cover of The Ivy Tree

The Ivy Tree is a classic by Mary Stewart, queen of the 20th-century gothic novel. I love all her novels, but I think this is her best. The first-person narrator is a savvy young woman who is persuaded to impersonate a heiress, and the twists and turns of the plot kept me guessing right to the end. The narrator is fascinating and filled with hidden depths. This is a book I re-read regularly because it’s a lesson in crafting the perfect psychological thriller, which is what a gothic novel is at its core.

The Ivy Tree

By Mary Stewart,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Ivy Tree as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

'Mary Stewart is magic.' New York Times

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress,…


Let It Be Love (Effington Family & Friends)

By Victoria Alexander,

Book cover of Let It Be Love (Effington Family & Friends)

Let It Be Love was the first historical romance novel I ever read. It was the one that sparked and inspired my own writing. This book is filled with good humor, grand sexual tension between the hero and heroine, and the desired ever-after you wish for yourself. It will make you fall in love with hot-blooded male characters who find their hearts melting for their ladies. It will have you appreciate the strong, clever, and stubborn female characters that strive for what they want. The best traditional HR! Would make the perfect start for anyone’s journey into Historical Romance.

Let It Be Love (Effington Family & Friends)

By Victoria Alexander,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Let It Be Love (Effington Family & Friends) as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Almost a Lady

By Jane Feather,

Book cover of Almost a Lady

Almost A Lady is filled with love, passion, and adventure for the restless soul. It has a fiery heroine who isn’t afraid to fight for her life, and the most ideal roguish pirate scoundrel one longs for in a Historical Romance. The perfect enemies-to-lovers tale that will have you staying up late for more. I loved this book because it revealed far more than what a traditional HR setting could be. It gave me love and peril and a hot slow-burn of fervor and intensity one needs in a great Historical Romance.

Almost a Lady

By Jane Feather,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Almost a Lady as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Passion

By Lisa Valdez,

Book cover of Passion

Passion is a highly intense and passionate novel that transports you away from the traditional HR to a whole new world of an exotic and steamy love affair. The characters flourish together from hot-blooded lovers to hopelessly in love. This book carries all that you would hope to find in a historical romance, from lust, obsession, longing, and love with a happy conclusion. If you’re looking for all the qualities, and then some, in a historical romance, then this book will get you there! Truly unforgettable! I read this over a decade ago, and I still remember it fondly! But honestly, because of all the sensual sex scenes!

Passion

By Lisa Valdez,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Passion as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Marrying Winterborne

By Lisa Kleypas,

Book cover of Marrying Winterborne

Okay, I’m cheating here a bit because Winterbourne isn’t a Scot. He’s Welsh!!!! I didn’t think a book boyfriend could get any sexier than a Scot until I discovered Rhys Winterbourne, a Welshman. Who knew? Imagine a dark hulk of a man, a commoner who clawed his way to unimaginable success. And then he meets Helen Ravenel, a delicate, retiring beauty, an aristocrat, the last person on earth he should want and yet he must have her. My heart breaks for this man. He can easily steamroll right over Helen, but she finds the strength within her to stand up for what she wants. The ending of this novel is so satisfying. I’ve read this book a dozen times and I’ll probably read it another dozen. I hope you do too! 

Marrying Winterborne

By Lisa Kleypas,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Marrying Winterborne as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A ruthless tycoon

Savage ambition has brought common-born Rhys Winterborne vast wealth and success. In business and beyond, Rhys gets exactly what he wants. And from the moment he meets the shy, aristocratic Lady Helen Ravenel, he is determined to possess her. If he must take her virtue to ensure she marries him, so much the better . . .

A sheltered beauty

Helen has had little contact with the glittering, cynical world of London society. Yet Rhys's determined seduction awakens an intense mutual passion. Helen's gentle upbringing belies a stubborn conviction that only she can tame her unruly husband.…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in romantic love, nobility, and Regency?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about romantic love, nobility, and Regency.

Romantic Love Explore 461 books about romantic love
Nobility Explore 66 books about nobility
Regency Explore 54 books about Regency