The best books on sales, marketing, neuromarketing, and persuasion

Why am I passionate about this?

Patrick Renvoise is an award-winning author, international speaker, trainer, and C-level coach. He pioneered the field of NeuroMarketing which is based on a scientific understanding of how humans use their brains to make buying decisions. Over the last two decades and by teaching how to reach the Primal Brain of their customers, Patrick has been helping over 2,000 companies to achieve more growth, including many fortune 500 companies – Airbus, Microsoft, Prudential, Volvo, GE, Epson, Siemens, Hitachi and many more. Since March 2020, and because of Covid19, Patrick has created new neuromarketing programs optimizing how executives can deliver convincing presentations using virtual platforms.


I wrote...

The Persuasion Code

By Patrick Renvoise, Christophe Morin,

Book cover of The Persuasion Code

What is my book about?

Based on the seminal work of Daniel Kahneman, the book presents the ONLY scientific yet simple, step-by-step approach to persuasion. First, the book demonstrates the dominance of the primal brain (system 1) and how this brain can only be triggered by six stimuli -Personal, Contrastable, Tangible, Memorable, Visual, Emotional. The book explains how the stimuli require that companies follow four steps to achieve persuasion: Diagnose the Pain, Differentiate their Claims, Demonstrate the Gain, and Deliver to the Primal Brain. The entire model called NeuroMap® is presented visually. The book also includes 32 real-world business cases.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Thinking, Fast and Slow

Patrick Renvoise Why did I love this book?

Warning: This is a great book but not an easy read! Professor Kahneman taught psychology to Ph.D students at Princeton. His research work got him the Economic Nobel prize in 2002 to discover that the brain of homo sapiens contains two brains: the fast (but limited if not stupid) system 1 or the primal brain, the slow (but smart) system 2 or the rational brain.

His research states that “System 1 still rules today”. According to Kahneman, "Probably Approximately Correct" is the driving norm of human decision-making. His work lead to the development of a new scientific branch called “behavioral economics” or “neuro-economics. His book teaches profound lessons for anybody in business, sales, marketing, parenting, education, etc. It is a fascinating but complex (at times very complex if not irritating) book you will love or hate. You’ve been warned!

By Daniel Kahneman,

Why should I read it?

42 authors picked Thinking, Fast and Slow as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The phenomenal international bestseller - 2 million copies sold - that will change the way you make decisions

'A lifetime's worth of wisdom' Steven D. Levitt, co-author of Freakonomics
'There have been many good books on human rationality and irrationality, but only one masterpiece. That masterpiece is Thinking, Fast and Slow' Financial Times

Why is there more chance we'll believe something if it's in a bold type face? Why are judges more likely to deny parole before lunch? Why do we assume a good-looking person will be more competent? The answer lies in the two ways we make choices: fast,…


Book cover of Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion

Patrick Renvoise Why did I love this book?

In this easy to read book Cialdini-- who taught at Arizona State U.-- unveils 6 laws of influence or persuasion: reciprocity, scarcity, authority, consistency, liking, and social proof. In a clear and to-the-point format, Cialdini explains his findings using scientific but always accessible explanations. A great book that contains many nuggets for marketing and sales professionals.

By Robert B. Cialdini,

Why should I read it?

24 authors picked Influence as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The foundational and wildly popular go-to resource for influence and persuasion-a renowned international bestseller, with over 5 million copies sold-now revised adding: new research, new insights, new examples, and online applications.

In the new edition of this highly acclaimed bestseller, Robert Cialdini-New York Times bestselling author of Pre-Suasion and the seminal expert in the fields of influence and persuasion-explains the psychology of why people say yes and how to apply these insights ethically in business and everyday settings. Using memorable stories and relatable examples, Cialdini makes this crucially important subject surprisingly easy. With Cialdini as a guide, you don't have…


Book cover of Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Patrick Renvoise Why did I love this book?

Thaler (2017 Economy Nobel recipient) was a student of Kahneman. 15 years after his teacher he also received the Nobel prize. In this book about improving decisions about health, wealth, and happiness Thaler presents how to shape choices using the newly discovered laws of irrationality, or choice shaping. Although not as complete and detailed as Thinking fast and slow, the book is a lot easier to read. Similar to Stephen Hawkins who wrote A Brief History Of Time without a single equation, this is the book for people who want an introduction to the subject… without the headaches!

By Richard H. Thaler, Cass R. Sunstein,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked Nudge as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Now available: Nudge: The Final Edition

The original edition of the multimillion-copy New York Times bestseller by the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, James Clear’s Atomic Habits, and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking, Fast and Slow

Named a Best Book of the Year by TheEconomist and the Financial Times

Every day we make choices—about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children’s health and education, even about the causes we champion…


Book cover of Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions

Patrick Renvoise Why did I love this book?

When it comes to making decisions in our lives, we think we're making smart, rational choices. But after reading this book you may self-devaluate your own IQ by 50 points!

By Dan Ariely,

Why should I read it?

13 authors picked Predictably Irrational as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Why do smart people make irrational decisions every day? The answers will surprise you. Predictably Irrational is an intriguing, witty and utterly original look at why we all make illogical decisions.

Why can a 50p aspirin do what a 5p aspirin can't? If an item is "free" it must be a bargain, right? Why is everything relative, even when it shouldn't be? How do our expectations influence our actual opinions and decisions?

In this astounding book, behavioural economist Dan Ariely cuts to the heart of our strange behaviour, demonstrating how irrationality often supplants rational thought and that the reason for…


Book cover of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Patrick Renvoise Why did I love this book?

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Every page captivated me with simple, accurate yet entertaining explanations of why we ended up doing what we do and being who we are. Starting 70,000 years ago the book reconsiders through biology, psychology, and history all the milestones that brought our species to today. It even considers what we should do now for a better future. This book is to understanding Homo Sapiens what A Brief History Of Time is to understanding the universe!

By Yuval Noah Harari,

Why should I read it?

21 authors picked Sapiens as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

100,000 years ago, at least six human species inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations and human rights; to trust money, books and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come?

In Sapiens, Dr Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the…


You might also like...

Book cover of The Coaching Habit: Say Less, Ask More & Change the Way You Lead Forever

Michael Bungay Stanier Author Of The Coaching Habit: Say Less, Ask More & Change the Way You Lead Forever

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

Coaching is a wonderful technology that can help people be a force for change… and is often wrapped up in mystic and woo-woo and privilege that makes it inaccessible and/or unattractive to too many. I want being more coach-like—by which I mean staying curious a little longer, and rushing to action and advice-giving—to be an everyday way of being with one another. Driven by this, I’ve written the best-selling book on coaching this century (The Coaching Habit) and have created training that’s been used around the world by more than a quarter of a million people. I’m on a mission to unweird coaching.

Michael's book list on unexpectedly useful books about coaching

What is my book about?

The coaching book that's for all of us, not just coaches.

It's the best-selling book on coaching this century, with 15k+ online reviews. Brené Brown calls it "a classic". Dan Pink said it was "essential".

It is practical, funny, and short, and "unweirds" coaching. Whether you're a parent, a teacher, a leader, or even a coach, you can stay curious longer.

By Michael Bungay Stanier,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked The Coaching Habit as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Look for Michael's new book, The Advice Trap, which focuses on taming your Advice Monster so you can stay curious a little longer and change the way you lead forever.

In Michael Bungay Stanier's The Coaching Habit, coaching becomes a regular, informal part of your day so managers and their teams can work less hard and have more impact.

Drawing on years of experience training more than 10,000 busy managers from around the globe in practical, everyday coaching skills, Bungay Stanier reveals how to unlock your peoples' potential. He unpacks seven essential coaching questions to demonstrate how-by saying less and…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in decision making, evolution, and persuasion?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about decision making, evolution, and persuasion.

Decision Making Explore 85 books about decision making
Evolution Explore 145 books about evolution
Persuasion Explore 21 books about persuasion