My favorite books for people who had a crush on Disney’s Robin Hood

Why am I passionate about this?

I’m a lifelong fantasy reader who sometimes gets tired of dark, brooding heroes. I love fast-talkers and troublemakers, who can be charming and funny while performing their daring deeds. Think: Antonio Banderas as Zorro or Disney’s fox version of Robin Hood. These characters throw themselves into danger to protect the people they love—often with a wink and a smile. In Curse Painter, a girl with a dark power gets recruited by an outlaw leader, Archer, who brings humor and light into her world when she needs it most. Together, they set out to do good by any means necessary. These five books feature more Robin Hood-like characters to love!


I wrote...

Curse Painter

By Jordan Rivet,

Book cover of Curse Painter

What is my book about?

Briar is a curse painter who can wreak havoc with the flick of a paintbrush—but she doesn't want to hurt people anymore. She flees her family's deadly curse business to sell nonlethal jinxes and petty revenge. Her powers catch the eye of a charismatic young thief, Archer, who hires her to help him save a kidnapped friend. Briar joins his ragtag outlaw band, hoping to make amends for her crimes, but the family business won’t let her go so easily. When her past jeopardizes Archer’s rescue mission, Briar must confront the dark arts she left behind—and decide what she’s willing to destroy in order to be good.

A YA fantasy reimagining of Robin Hood with art magic, romance, and fast-paced adventure!

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Emperor's Edge

Jordan Rivet Why did I love this book?

The Emperor’s Edge series is one of my all-time favorites. It features a ragtag band of outlaws, exciting steampunk action sequences, and characters that are real, loveable, and hilarious. The band’s unconventional leader, Amaranthe, dreams up unlikely schemes to protect her homeland from nefarious forces, and her team ends up blowing stuff up as often as they save it. This is a genuine page-turner that will keep you fully invested in the team’s goals and lost in their world. Bonus: the series includes the best slow-burn romance I’ve ever read!

By Lindsay Buroker,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked The Emperor's Edge as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Imperial law enforcer Amaranthe Lokdon is good at her job: she can deter thieves and pacify thugs, if not with a blade, then by toppling an eight-foot pile of coffee canisters onto their heads. But when ravaged bodies show up on the waterfront, an arson covers up human sacrifices, and a powerful business coalition plots to kill the emperor, she feels a tad overwhelmed.

Worse, Sicarius, the empire's most notorious assassin, is in town. He's tied in with the chaos somehow, but Amaranthe would be a fool to cross his path. Unfortunately, her superiors order her to hunt him down.…


Book cover of The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure

Jordan Rivet Why did I love this book?

This is a double recommendation because The Princess Bride is also one of my favorite movies. The book is special because the author pretends to be abridging a much longer fantasy adventure novel by the fictional S. Morgenstern. The story skips the boring bits (which don’t actually exist) and crams in all the good stuff we love about the genre. There’s a daring rescue, a mysterious pirate, quirky magic, an evil lord, strange creatures, and lots of excellent sword fighting. The hero, Westley, is full of sassy quips, which makes him a fun counterpoint to the brooding heroes you’ll find in other corners of the genre. Whether you’ve seen the movie or not, you won’t regret giving this unusual novel a try!

By William Goldman,

Why should I read it?

18 authors picked The Princess Bride as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

William Goldman’s beloved story of Buttercup, Westley, and their fellow adventurers.

This tale of true love, high adventure, pirates, princesses, giants, miracles, fencing, and a frightening assortment of wild beasts was unforgettably depicted in the 1987 film directed by Rob Reiner and starring Fred Savage, Robin Wright, and others. But, rich in character and satire, the novel boasts even more layers of ingenious storytelling. Set in 1941 and framed cleverly as an “abridged” retelling of a centuries-old tale set in the fabled country of Florin, home to “Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest…


Book cover of Six of Crows

Jordan Rivet Why did I love this book?

This is a slightly darker book. Be warned that you might find yourself contemplating a crow tattoo and a love affair with an emotionally damaged crime boss by the end of this novel. Six of Crows is a heist story in a vivid fantasy setting, and it features top-notch character development. You get to know each member of the crew intimately, so you understand the nuances of their personalities and why they decide to use illegal methods to accomplish their goals. The Crows are clever, ruthless, often funny, and exactly the sort of people you’d want on your side if the law failed you.

By Leigh Bardugo,

Why should I read it?

17 authors picked Six of Crows as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

*See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with Shadow and Bone, now a Netflix original series.*

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017, this fantasy epic from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy is gripping, sweeping and memorable - perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Laini Taylor and Kristin Cashore.

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can't walk…


Book cover of A Deadly Education

Jordan Rivet Why did I love this book?

I’m obsessed with Naomi Novik’s books, and it was tough to choose which one to recommend for this topic. A Deadly Education fits the bill because its heroine, El, has the potential to become a terrifying dark sorceress, but she puts tremendous effort into resisting her destiny. She finds ways to use her knack for destruction to save the world instead of annihilating it. A prickly, difficult person, El speaks in an honest and often hilarious voice as she grapples with the complications and inequalities of her world. Bonus: the book is set in a magic school that’s literally trying to eat the students. It doesn’t get better than that!

By Naomi Novik,

Why should I read it?

13 authors picked A Deadly Education as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Enter a school of magic unlike any you have ever encountered.

There are no teachers, no holidays, friendships are purely strategic, and the odds of survival are never equal. Once you're inside, there are only two ways out: you graduate or you die.

El Higgins is uniquely prepared for the school's many dangers. She may be without allies, but she possesses a dark power strong enough to level mountains and wipe out untold millions - never mind easily destroy the countless monsters that prowl the school.

Except, she might accidentally kill all the other students, too. So El is trying…


Book cover of The Fires of Heaven

Jordan Rivet Why did I love this book?

This is the fifth book in the epic Wheel of Time series. You should start with the first book, The Eye of the World, but I’m recommending this one because it’s when Mat Cauthon starts to come into his own as a character. Mat is incorrigible, a gambler and a rascal with a secret heart of bravery and self-sacrifice—not that he’d ever admit it! Mat makes mistakes and puts his foot in his mouth, but you can’t help loving him for it. His growth as a character throughout the series is unmatched, and he’s one of my favorite examples of the charming, flawed ne’er-do-well who ends up saving the day.

By Robert Jordan,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Fires of Heaven as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

The Wheel of Time is now an original series on Prime Video, starring Rosamund Pike as Moiraine!

In The Fires of Heaven, the fifth novel in Robert Jordan’s #1 New York Times bestselling epic fantasy series, The Wheel of Time®, four of the most powerful Forsaken band together against the Champion of Light, Rand al’Thor.

Prophesized to defeat the Dark One, Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, has upset the balance of power across the land. Shaido Aiel are on the march, ravaging everything in their path. The White Tower's Amyrlin has been deposed, turning the Aes Sedai against one another.…


You might also like...

The Last Bird of Paradise

By Clifford Garstang,

Book cover of The Last Bird of Paradise

Clifford Garstang Author Of Oliver's Travels

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

Author Fiction writer Globalist Lawyer Philosopher Seeker

Clifford's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Two women, a century apart, seek to rebuild their lives after leaving their homelands. Arriving in tropical Singapore, they find romance, but also find they haven’t left behind the dangers that caused them to flee.

Haunted by the specter of terrorism after 9/11, Aislinn Givens leaves her New York career and joins her husband in Southeast Asia when he takes a job there. She acquires several paintings by a colonial-era British artist that she believes are a warning.

The artist, Elizabeth Pennington, tells her own tumultuous story through diary entries that end when World War I reaches the colony with catastrophic results. In the present, Aislinn and her husband learn that terrorism takes many shapes when they are ensnared by local political upheaval and corruption.

The Last Bird of Paradise

By Clifford Garstang,

What is this book about?

"Aislinn Givens leaves a settled life in Manhattan for an unsettled life in Singapore. That painting radiates mystery and longing. So does Clifford Garstang's vivid and simmering novel, The Last Bird of Paradise." –John Dalton, author of Heaven Lake and The Inverted Forest

Two women, nearly a century apart, seek to rebuild their lives when they reluctantly leave their homelands. Arriving in Singapore, they find romance in a tropical paradise, but also find they haven't left behind the dangers that caused them to flee.

In the aftermath of 9/11 and haunted by the specter of terrorism, Aislinn Givens leaves her…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Robin Hood, Pirates, and medications?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Robin Hood, Pirates, and medications.

Robin Hood Explore 18 books about Robin Hood
Pirates Explore 85 books about Pirates
Medications Explore 26 books about medications