The best fantasy books with protagonists I'd like to be friends with

Who am I?

Every time I read book I imagine being part of the world of the story. I like to open my mind to the experiences of the characters, which is helpful in my work as an actor, as well as my writing. I mean, studying and interpreting character is literally an actor's job! It's a huge part of a writer's job, too, and I have tried to create characters my own readers would like to be friends with! These are all some of my favourite books/series. A couple are serious, the others are funny, but they all have wonderful characters I hope you feel as drawn to as I do.


I wrote...

Griffin and the Spurious Correlations

By Krista Wallace,

Book cover of Griffin and the Spurious Correlations

What is my book about?

Fantasy RomCom with a Douglas Adams/Jasper Fforde flair

Griffin's rock band has their big break. But when her lead guitarist throws a drug- and alcohol-induced El Screamo Thrasher Solo Temper Tantrum, the band is kicked out. Enter Rickenbacker, a mysterious restaurant manager with a tempting offer: if Griffin works in his restaurant making desserts, she can play in the house band, the Spurious Correlations, alongside Matteo: a super-talented lead guitarist. Griffin doesn't know that Rickenbacker is a competitor in an Other Worldly LARPing tournament. He has two weeks to push her to the limit with dessert-making mayhem, enough to drive her to perform an unthinkable task, without letting her suspect she's a pawn in his scheme. Baking can be a nightmare, but Matteo is awfully dreamy...

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Book of Jhereg

Krista Wallace Why did I love this book?

Why do I want to be friends with Vlad? In this often LOL funny series, Vlad is an "Easterner" (a human) assassin who practices witchcraft and communicates psionically with his sarcastic familiar, Loiosh, (a miniature-dragon-like creature). Vlad's enemies—Dragaerans (elves, only don't try to tell them that) are sorcerers. That puts Vlad at a disadvantage. But Vlad's witchcraft often baffles his enemies. He also uses a rapier, which gives him a more flexible fighting style than his enemies' hack & slash methods. Not only that, he has an appreciation for good food, which is enormously attractive. As his friend I'm pretty sure Vlad would take me to his favourite restaurant, Valabar's, where I would drink excellent wine and eat amazing food, and would *probably* not be killed by Vlad's enemies.

By Steven Brust,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked The Book of Jhereg as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The first three fantastical adventures of assassin Vlad Taltos—now in one volume.

A welcome addition to any fantasy fan's library, The Book of Jhereg follows the antics of the wise-cracking Vlad Taltos and his dragon-like companion through their first three adventures—Jhereg, Yendi, and Teckla.

There are many ways for a young man with quick wits and a quick sword to advance in the world. Vlad Taltos chose the route of assassin. From his rookie days to his selfless feats of heroism, the dauntless Vlad will hold readers spellbound—and The Book of Jhereg will take its place among the classic compilations…


Book cover of The Eyre Affair

Krista Wallace Why did I love this book?

I love our heroine, Thursday Next, with her tragic past, kickass integrity, and pet-cloned dodo named Pickwick. She's fearless, (at least she hides it well), and I admire someone with excellent problem-solving skills, and a desire to do good in the world. I would provide Thursday with moral support when her love life crumbles, and when her mother is trapped inside a Wordsworth poem. Admittedly, I'd be terrified to have an evil genius on the loose, especially one who would kidnap Jane Eyre right out of her book for his own wicked ends. But if anyone can prevent catastrophe, it's Thursday. And you see... Thursday has been inside the book before. Wouldn't you like to go inside fiction with her? This whole series is exciting, suspenseful, and funny!

By Jasper Fforde,

Why should I read it?

8 authors picked The Eyre Affair as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Meet Thursday Next, literary detective without equal, fear or boyfriend

Jasper Fforde's beloved New York Times bestselling novel introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England-from the author of The Constant Rabbit

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it's a bibliophile's dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic…


Book cover of Judgment Daze

Krista Wallace Why did I love this book?

The main reason I'd like to be friends with Seth Brown is, well, he's a Messiah. He can heal me if I cut myself, he can resurrect me in the event of my untimely death—though by all accounts the afterlife is rather, ahem, pleasant, so I might fight him on thatand he can turn tap water into a perfect cup of coffee. His resurrected arctic fox friend is an excellent ally, but Seth could use another human to help track down the vile bishop who's killing off his half-brothers in an effort to eliminate all but the one-and-only True Messiah. Or, on second thought, maybe I'd stay out of the line of fire by getting a job at the local Ducky Mar....

By Jonathan Sean Lyster,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Judgment Daze as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR "ARMAGEDDON BOYS, BOOK ONE: JUDGMENT DAZE"!

"A brilliant launch to a hilarious new series!"
~ Some guy

"Wonderful!"
~ The author's mom

"Burn in hell, a**hole!"~ The Westboro Baptist Church

FROM BOOKSTORE CLERK TO BADASS
Someone is killing off Seth Brown's half-brothers and he's not going to put up with it. Even when he forgets to load his gun, he has something going for him: he is the Messiah. One of them, anyway.
Seth has all the talents you'd expect in a Son of God: he can turn water into a cup of coffee to die for…


Book cover of Dime Store Magic

Krista Wallace Why did I love this book?

I have so much admiration for witch Paige Winterbourne, who has had a teenage ward named Savannah thrust upon her, when Paige herself is barely out of teenagerhood. Paige's coven disowns her, even as evil forces are trying to woo Savannah, and get Paige out of the way by framing her for murder. I have zero patience for their lack of support. It's no wonder Paige is forced to accept the help of the terribly persistent young lawyer who ought to be her archenemy. He's a sorcerer, and sorcerers never have the best interests of witches in mind. Especially the heir of one of the most powerful cabals. I would help Paige communicate with a teenager. Moreover, I would take Savannah out for lunch so Paige can... communicate with her lawyer.

By Kelley Armstrong,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Dime Store Magic as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

'Paranormal and show-business power struggles make for hard-to-put-down entertainment.' - Booklist

'The Women of the Otherworld universe has expanded and gained further definition with this latest entry. . . . If Kelly Armstrong writes it, then you should add it to your reading list if you want a darn good tale.' - HuntressReviews.com

Paige Winterbourne is a witch. Not that you'd notice - no warts, no green skin, no cute little wiggle of the nose whenever she casts a spell.

No, most of the time she's just a normal 23-year-old girl; works too hard, worries about her weight, wonders if…


Book cover of A Wrinkle in Time

Krista Wallace Why did I love this book?

I would love to be friends with Meg because she's smart and passionate. And wow, could she ever use some friends who believe in her! I also think we'd get along because we're both nerdy: she's into math and science, and I'm nerdy because I'm into theatre and music. I didn't wear braces like she does, but I did wear glasses and always felt awkward, because I was tiny and quiet. I wouldn't be able to relate to her father having vanished off the face of the earth, but I could certainly listen and support her. And I would love to hang out in her funky old house and have sleepovers, and eat spaghetti cooked by her mom over a Bunsen burner. 

By Madeleine L'Engle,

Why should I read it?

14 authors picked A Wrinkle in Time as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 10, 11, 12, and 13.

What is this book about?

Puffin Classics: the definitive collection of timeless stories, for every child.

We can't take any credit for our talents. It's how we use them that counts.

When Charles and Meg Murry go searching through a 'wrinkle in time' for their lost father, they find themselves on an evil planet where all life is enslaved by a huge pulsating brain known as 'It'.

Meg, Charles and their friend Calvin embark on a cosmic journey helped by the funny and mysterious trio of guardian angels, Mrs Whatsit, Mrs Who and Mrs Which. Together they must find the weapon that will defeat It.…


You might also like...

Flashes of Insight

By Lynda Allen,

Book cover of Flashes of Insight

Lynda Allen

New book alert!

What is my book about?

Mood swings and insomnia are one thing, hot flash-induced psychic visions are quite another. When Olivia Wilde realizes the visions she’s experiencing in the midst of hot flashes are actually premonitions, she must learn to understand and trust what she sees in order to help a friend, preserve a piece of history, and save a life.

When Liv’s friend’s antique store in Fredericksburg, Virginia is robbed, she finds herself in the midst of a quest to find a secret cache of priceless letters written by President James Monroe and his wife Elizabeth. With the encouragement of her "Monthly" dinner party girlfriends, Liv begins to learn how to harness her newfound abilities, along with her smarts, to help catch the thief.

Flashes of Insight

By Lynda Allen,

What is this book about?

Mood swings and insomnia are one thing, hot flash-induced psychic visions are quite another. When Olivia Wilde realizes the visions she's been experiencing in the midst of hot flashes are actually premonitions, she has to learn to understand and trust what she sees in order to help a friend, preserve a piece of history, and save a life.

Deftly weaving together elements of history, mystery, menopause, humor, some Jersey girl attitude, a bit of salty language, and a healthy dose of female friendship, Flashes of Insight marks the start of a new "Jersey Cozy"* series sure to deliver laughter, intelligence,…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in witchcraft, Wales, and magic-supernatural?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about witchcraft, Wales, and magic-supernatural.

Witchcraft Explore 299 books about witchcraft
Wales Explore 48 books about Wales
Magic-Supernatural Explore 578 books about magic-supernatural