The best books to bring on an airplane/vacation

Carl Michaelsen Author Of The Last of a Dying Breed
By Carl Michaelsen

Who am I?

If you’re at all like me, then finding time to sit down and read a book is incredibly challenging given how busy our everyday lives are. It seems like the only time I truly can dive into a book is on vacation. And so, all of the books I recommended I have either read on vacation or on an airplane. In my opinion, a good vacation book needs to be two things. It needs to be a quick read and it needs to be impossible to put down. When I sit down to write a book, I try to keep both of these in mind!


I wrote...

The Last of a Dying Breed

By Carl Michaelsen,

Book cover of The Last of a Dying Breed

What is my book about?

Noah Riordan's life has been nothing but an unforgiving downward spiral, and every choice he makes just speeds up his decline. Justin Carter's life is the envy of many men, his successful and praised life as a sheriff is only rivaled by his life as a husband. Both men stop being strangers on a very bad day, with Noah and his union brothers making a poor choice of friends, and Justin making a poor choice to pull the trigger. Now, Noah's downward spiral just accelerated to dangerous speeds, and Justin just fell off of his cloud-nine life, and started his new path, where the line between redemption and vengeance increasingly blur. Both men race on a very dark trajectory that can only end in edge-of-your-seat panic.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

The Terminal List

By Jack Carr,

Book cover of The Terminal List

Why this book?

The ultimate thrill ride from start to finish, Jack Carr’s first novel following Navy Seal Commander James Reece is one to remember. I bought this book at the airport in Anaheim, California, and started reading while waiting for my flight. A few delays and a five-hour flight later I had finished the entire book. It is a fantastically written book, laced with complex characters, government, and corporate conspiracies, and reminds us all why you must always be wary of those closest to us.

The Terminal List

By Jack Carr,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked The Terminal List as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

**SOON TO BE A TV SERIES STARRING CHRIS PRATT**

'With a particular line in authentic tradecraft, this fabulously unrelenting thrill-ride was a struggle to put down' Mark Dawson, bestselling author of The Cleaner

James Reece has nothing to live for and everything to kill for in the debut thriller from former Navy SEAL Jack Carr, perfect for fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci.

On deployment in Afghanistan, Lieutenant Commander James Reece's entire team is killed in a catastrophic ambush. But the deaths don't stop there, and Reece soon discovers that this was not an act of war by a…


Die Softly

By Christopher Pike,

Book cover of Die Softly

Why this book?

In terms of pulse-pounding mysteries, they don’t get much better than this. Following a high school student in a rural town, Die Softly is a dark and twisted story that keeps you guessing until the very end. Even though I read this book for the first time many, many years ago, I still enjoy picking it up and bringing it on vacation with me. It is a quick read, perfect for a long-ish flight, and never gets old.

Die Softly

By Christopher Pike,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Die Softly as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Herb just wanted to photograph the cheerleaders in the school showers. He planted his camera high in the corner where no one could see it, and rigged it to a special homemade timer. He did this Thursday night, and he hoped by Friday night to have an exciting roll of film to develop. But a girl dies Friday afternoon. On the surface it appears to be nothing more than a tragic car accident. But when Herb finally does collect his roll of film, he develops a picture that shows a shadowy figure sneaking up on the girl who dies-sneaking up…


The Outsider

By Stephen King,

Book cover of The Outsider

Why this book?

Fans of Stephen King’s horror will be happy. Fans of Stephen King’s suspense will be even happier. This book is undeniably long, but is absolutely impossible to put down. Another purchase I made in an airport, I found it completely riveting. This is one of those books that you will think about long after you put it down. Stephen King is masterful and his writing in this story is as close to perfect as any book I’ve ever read. 

The Outsider

By Stephen King,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Outsider as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

When an eleven-year-old boy is found murdered in a town park, reliable eyewitnesses undeniably point to the town's popular Little League coach, Terry Maitland, as the culprit. DNA evidence and fingerprints confirm the crime was committed by this well-loved family man.

Horrified by the brutal killing, Detective Ralph Anderson, whose own son was once coached by Maitland, orders the suspect to be arrested in a public spectacle. But Maitland has an alibi. And further research confirms he was indeed out of town that day.

As Anderson and the District Attorney trace the clues, the investigation expands from Ohio to Texas.…


Prince of Thieves

By Chuck Hogan,

Book cover of Prince of Thieves

Why this book?

I can’t think of a book that has had more of an impact on me as a writer than this book. I read this book over a weekend spent in Maine a few years ago and it has been at the top of my list of favorites ever since. This book is filled with morally ambiguous characters that you just can’t help but love. To this day, I don’t think the character of ‘Jem’ will ever be topped. A truly great book for fans of complex romance, classic stories of cops and robbers, and the all-encompassing mission to better one’s situation.

Prince of Thieves

By Chuck Hogan,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Prince of Thieves as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From the author of The Strain comes a tense, psychologically gripping, Hammet award-winning thriller.

Four masked men—thieves, rivals, and friends from the tough streets of Charlestown—take on a Boston bank at gunpoint. Holding bank manager Claire Keesey hostage and cleaning out the vault were simple. But career criminal Doug MacRay didn't plan on one thing: falling hard for Claire. When he tracks her down without his mask and gun, their mutual attraction is undeniable. With a tenacious FBI agent following his every move, he imagines a life away from his gritty, dangerous work—a life centered around Claire. But before that…


Hard Contact: Star Wars Legends (Republic Commando)

By Karen Traviss,

Book cover of Hard Contact: Star Wars Legends (Republic Commando)

Why this book?

Obviously, this book is not going to be for everyone. Some might not be able to get past the fact that it is a Star Wars book based off of a video game from 2005. But, if you can get past that, then buckle up for a gripping tale of war and brotherhood. Set in the first weeks of the Clone Wars, Hard Contact feels more like a Tom Clancy war thriller than a space opera. This entire series is gritty, grueling, gut-wrenching, and impossible to put down. 

Hard Contact: Star Wars Legends (Republic Commando)

By Karen Traviss,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Hard Contact as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

As the Clone Wars rage, victory or defeat lies in the hands of elite squads who take on the toughest assignments in the galaxy ... On a mission to sabotage a chemical weapon research facility on a Separatist-held planet, four clone troopers operate under the very noses of their enemies. The commandos are outnumbered and outgunned, deep behind enemy lines with no backup - and working with strangers instead of trusted team-mates. Matters don't improve when Darman, the squad's demolitions expert, gets separated from the others during planetfall. Even Darman's apparent good luck in meeting an inexperienced Padawan vanishes once…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in good and evil, political corruption, and murder?

7,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about good and evil, political corruption, and murder.

Good And Evil Explore 90 books about good and evil
Political Corruption Explore 28 books about political corruption
Murder Explore 497 books about murder

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like The Road, World War Z, and Death's Merchant if you like this list.