The best paranormal romances with shapeshifting warriors, wings, or wolves

Who am I?

I have always loved fairy tales, myths, and fantasy, having developed a vivid imagination during childhood because we lived far from friends. When I began studying French, I discovered a love for medieval legends such as Tristan et Yseult.  During trips to France, I explored troglodyte caves of the Loire Valley and prehistoric grottos, such as La Grotte de Lascaux. The more I researched legends and myths, the more my fantasy world of paranormal romance and shapeshifting warriors evolved.


I wrote...

The Lady of the Mirrored Lake

By Jennifer Ivy Walker,

Book cover of The Lady of the Mirrored Lake

What is my book about?

In this paranormal romance adaptation of the medieval legend of Tristan and Isolde, the fated mates use Druidic magic, sea ravens, and a white-winged dove to obtain otherworldly allies as they fight to save their Celtic kingdoms. Aided by a triad of shapeshifting warrior tribes—wolves, bears, and sea dragon mermaids—Tristan and Issylte battle the wicked Black Widow Queen whose evil threatens the entire realm.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

A Court of Wings and Ruin

By Sarah J. Maas,

Book cover of A Court of Wings and Ruin

Why this book?

I loved how otherworldly mates Rhys and Feyre formed a fierce alliance with the winged Illyrian warriors of the Night Court. A fiery novel of passion, power, politics, and pain—all wrapped up in a sizzling, steamy, paranormal romance filled with fantasy and Fae!

To me, the passion between Rhys and Feyre is very much like The Phantom of the Opera, which I adored. Rhys is dark, mysterious, and dangerously seductive, like the Phantom. And Feyre, like Christine Daaé, is irresistibly drawn to the fiercely loyal man within the terrifying beast.

A Court of Wings and Ruin

By Sarah J. Maas,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked A Court of Wings and Ruin as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The epic third novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's actions and learn what she can about the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit. One slip could bring doom not only for Feyre, but for everything-and everyone-she holds dear.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre endeavors to take her place amongst the High Fae of the land, balancing…


King of Scars

By Leigh Bardugo,

Book cover of King of Scars

Why this book?

In this dark fantasy, King Nikolai Lantsov harbors a demon that transforms him into a winged monster. The female general Zoya Nazyalensky—the woman he passionately loves but resists because of the evil which lurks inside him—helps the stricken monarch control the destructive beast and hide his ugly secret from the unsuspecting kingdom.

I loved how King Nikolai struggled with the monster within, finally accepting it as the darker half of his own soul and a source of immense strength for him as king. I also loved how the monster--a most unlikely romantic hero—knew Zoya and protected her, like Nikolai himself.

King of Scars

By Leigh Bardugo,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked King of Scars as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A 2020 LOCUS AWARD FINALIST!

See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with Shadow and Bone, now a Netflix series.

Enter the Grishaverse with the instant #1 New York Times-bestseller King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo, the first book in the King of Scars Duology.

"[Bardugo] touches on religion, class, family, love — all organically, all effortlessly, all cloaked in the weight of a post-war reckoning with the cost (literal and figurative) of surviving the events that shape both people and nations." —NPR

"The story exists at an intersection of past and future selves, and in the dawning understanding…


Daughter of the Forest

By Juliet Marillier,

Book cover of Daughter of the Forest

Why this book?

This story is a retelling of a fairy tale of six brothers who transform into swans due to an evil enchantment. Their sister Sorcha, the Daughter of the Forest, painfully weaves shirts from starwort nettle to break the spell and save them. Filled with romance, otherworldly elements of medieval Celtic legends such as fairy folk and magic spells, this novel is a powerful testament to love and loyalty.

I have always loved legends and fairy tales and felt totally immersed in this magic world of Marillier’s Celtic forest.

Daughter of the Forest

By Juliet Marillier,

Why should I read it?

6 authors picked Daughter of the Forest as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Sorcha, the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum, faces the difficult task of having to save her family from its enemies, who have bewitched her father and six older brothers while forcing her to choose between the life she has always known and a special love.


Magnar

By Mary Morgan,

Book cover of Magnar

Why this book?

Magnar is the Leader of the Wolves of Clan Sutherland, a band of shapeshifting warriors who fight to defend their kingdom in the Orkney Isles of medieval Scotland. This tale of the sizzling paranormal romance between Magnar and Elspeth is filled with Fae magic, Celtic legend, and men who transform into fierce, savage wolves.

I love chivalrous tales of knights defending their Lady, and shapeshifting warriors who struggle to tame the beast within. A fiery, passionate, and intense romance with an unlikely hero, just like the French Romanticism that I adore! 

Magnar

By Mary Morgan,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Magnar as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Known as the Barbarian, Magnar MacAlpin is a fierce ruler for those under his command. As leader of the Wolves of Clan Sutherland, his loyalty and obedience lies with Scotland. However, the king's last demand is not something Magnar will tolerate. After Elspeth Gunn's brother the Chieftain of Castle Steinn is murdered, she flees with her nephew, and finds safety amongst a band of men who are rumored to be part wolf. When the king forces her to wed a heathen Northman, she fears losing her heart and soul not only to the man, but the beast as well. In…


Blood & Honey

By Shelby Mahurin,

Book cover of Blood & Honey

Why this book?

A passionate, paranormal romance between a witch and the chasseur who hunts her, Blood & Honey is filled with shapeshifting warriors, werewolves, and mermaids. As a French teacher, I loved the fantasy setting reminiscent of medieval France, the places like La Forêt des Yeux, and the two opposing families of witches—les Dames Blanches and les Dames Rouges—the French names of the colors depicting the distinction in the magic practiced.

Blood & Honey

By Shelby Mahurin,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Blood & Honey as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and Indiebound bestseller Serpent & Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and is an instant New York Times bestseller!

Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church-fugitives with nowhere to hide.

To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can't bear to lose.…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in war, Celtic mythology, and romantic love?

7,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about war, Celtic mythology, and romantic love.

War Explore 247 books about war
Celtic Mythology Explore 16 books about Celtic mythology
Romantic Love Explore 506 books about romantic love

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Magician, Uprooted, and Ship of Magic if you like this list.