The best books for fans of Gone Girl

The Books I Picked & Why

Jane Doe

By Victoria Helen Stone

Jane Doe

Why this book?

If you enjoyed Gone Girl, I’m guessing you have a soft spot for a well-written sociopath. Jane Doe will be right up your street and then some. Jane is the kind of sociopath you can’t help but love. She’s funny, she’s misanthropic and she doesn’t care about what anyone else thinks. But best of all, Jane is on a revenge mission and despite every horrible thing she does, you’ll still love her.


When you buy a book we may earn a small commission.

Our House

By Louise Candlish

Our House

Why this book?

Gone Girl started the domestic suspense trend and showed us that suspense can be driven by family/household dynamics. Louise Candlish takes this to another level in Our House when the main character comes home to find another family moving into her house. She soon discovers that her husband has sold the house from under her feet and disappeared. This is a fantastic, slow-burn literary thriller with a great ending.


When you buy a book we may earn a small commission.

The Wife Between Us

By Greer Hendricks

The Wife Between Us

Why this book?

There are many psychological thrillers out there about husbands and wives. If you search for the word ‘wife’ on Goodreads there must be hundreds of titles. But The Wife Between Us is one of my favourites. It’s clever, twisted, and plays on your expectations. From the first page, you’ll believe the book to be going one way, but then it twists in another direction altogether.


When you buy a book we may earn a small commission.

The Escape Room

By Megan Goldin

The Escape Room

Why this book?

While this book isn’t strictly a domestic noir thriller like Gone Girl, it has a similar tone. Four Wall Street bankers find themselves trapped in an elevator after being told they’d be taking part in an escape room. However, the book is more complicated than that. With ‘then’ and ‘now’ chapters, the story gradually unfurls to show you why these people were chosen. It’s about greed, Machiavellian personalities and, at its heart, female friendship. Don’t expect this one to be a locked-room thrill ride, but do expect to be drawn in.


When you buy a book we may earn a small commission.

Dead Girls

By Abigail Tarttelin

Dead Girls

Why this book?

This book is difficult to describe. One part crime, the other part literary fiction and narrated by a child, Dead Girls is unlike any other thriller I’ve read. I couldn’t put it down. When Thera’s best friend goes missing, despite being eleven years old, she decides the grown-ups are doing a bad job at finding Billie and begins investigating on her own. This is a super dark tearjerker about violence towards girls and women. But do check trigger warnings because this one is disturbing.


When you buy a book we may earn a small commission.

Random Book Lists