The best fantasy books told from multiple perspectives

Who am I?

Storytelling has been a passion of mine since fifth grade. I’ve always loved the way authors can put you inside of a world and introduce you to a cast of characters who feel as real as the people around you. The characters you meet inside these books become a part of you, and the best way to connect a reader to these charming and brave characters is to let them tell their story. Tell it from all of their perspectives and let the reader come to know and love each of them. Why read a book and only love one character when you could find an entire found family within those pages?


I wrote...

Ending In Cadence

By Catherine Downen,

Book cover of Ending In Cadence

What is my book about?

Jumanji meets Narnia in a brand new YA Portal fantasy.

When Ash Bane follows his sister through one of their grandmother’s paintings, they discover a vast new world on the other side. But the portal home remains out of reach unless they play the enchanted card game filled with riddles, puzzles, and mystical creatures they’ll have to defeat. Emma Delaney, a fierce and spunky scrapyard worker native to this new land agrees to help them complete the game and return home. This life-threatening game may turn out to be the least of Ash’s concerns when his heart betrays him and Ash Bane and Emma Delaney find a love that spans worlds.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Catherine Downen Why did I love this book?

A Curse So Dark and Lonely is a fantastic YA portal fantasy novel told in dual POV. It is a Beauty and the Beast retelling where Harper, a girl from our world, must break the curse on the prince whom she meets when she’s taken to his world. The two-character POVs we get are Harper and Rhen, the cursed prince. I loved having a POV from each world; one from ours and one from the fantasy realm. That made for a very engaging read and kept the points of view unique. Rhen was my favorite to read from! The romance was five stars, and only made better by the fact that you could experience it from both characters’ perspectives. Reading this book actually inspired me to write my first dual POV novel as it was done so well here. Brigid has become one of my instant buy authors! I’ll read everything she writes.  

By Brigid Kemmerer,

Why should I read it?

7 authors picked A Curse So Dark and Lonely as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

A New York Times bestseller! "Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." - Jodi Picoult In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the…


Book cover of Legend

Catherine Downen Why did I love this book?

Legend is one of those books that feels nostalgic when you read it. It perfectly mixes all of the elements from the 2010 dystopian classics, with a wonderful dual narration. In Legend we read the story through Day and June’s eyes. Both are from completely opposite parts of society, which makes the story twice as interesting. It even has elements of enemies to lovers! What this book does so well with its dual narration, is it lets you see more of the world that the author has created, which we wouldn’t normally get had she chosen to tell the book from one of these characters. Personally, I preferred Day’s POV, and the arc his story took. 

By Marie Lu,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked Legend as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Legend is the much-anticipated dystopian thriller debut from US author, Marie Lu.

THE must-read dystopian thriller fiction for all teen fans of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Divergent by Veronica Roth. A brilliant re-imagining of Les Miserables, the series is set to be a global film sensation as CBS films have acquired rights to the trilogy. The Twilight Saga producers, Marty Bowen and Wyck Godfrey, will produce.

Los Angeles, California
Republic of America

He is Day.
The boy who walks in the light.

She is June.
The girl who seeks her brother's killer.

On the run and undercover,…


Book cover of On These Black Sands

Catherine Downen Why did I love this book?

Pirates! I absolutely love a good pirate book, and this one by Vanessa delivered. We follow the story of Declan, a broody and mysterious captain, and Aoife, an heir who flees her kingdom. This book fulfilled all my enemies to lovers wants and told a very engaging story with a plot full of twists that kept you turning the page. Not to mention the world building was fantastic! It’s a new release and I’ve already pre-ordered the sequel. The best part of this book was supporting Vanessa Rasanen who is also an indie author. 

By Vanessa Rasanen,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked On These Black Sands as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

He doesn't mind killing people... he just prefers to do it on his own terms.

But the pirates have no say in who they kill on this island.

The council orders. The pirates obey.

This arrangement has kept Declan from setting foot on these shores for years...until a bit of bad luck forces him to return.

But it may prove a lucrative stop, if the rebel's information is true.

Find the dagger. Escape this life.

But only if this damn stowaway doesn't ruin everything first.

=======
This high seas tale of deceit, legends, and love delivers a deliciously gray hero,…


Book cover of Six of Crows

Catherine Downen Why did I love this book?

I couldn’t possibly make a list about multi-POV books without mentioning one of the most popular choices currently on booktok. Six of Crows has an incredible cast of characters that weaves the story together in a way that keeps you in the dark just long enough to have the big reveal shock you. I enjoyed the dark and dangerous world Leigh created, and if you’ve read Shadow and Bone—her other trilogy—you’ll enjoy getting to revisit parts of that world, and seeing them in a new light. It’s an action-packed tale where romance takes a backseat, but I didn’t mind that too much. The best part is, you can watch the Shadow and Bone series on Netflix, and find these characters in the mix!

By Leigh Bardugo,

Why should I read it?

16 authors picked Six of Crows as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

*See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with Shadow and Bone, now a Netflix original series.*

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017, this fantasy epic from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy is gripping, sweeping and memorable - perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Laini Taylor and Kristin Cashore.

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can't walk…


Book cover of Red Queen

Catherine Downen Why did I love this book?

While Red Queen is only told from Mare’s perspective, the rest of the books in the series expand to include other character POVs. I found that to be a unique take by introducing us to the main character and letting her tell the story for the first book before introducing more points of view in the following books. Victoria does a phenomenal job of knowing which character in her expansive cast of characters to select for each chapter. The series is a perfect balance of unpredictable plot and romance. Pretty much any fun trope you can think of, you’ll find in this four book series (five if you count the bonus content she released after its completion). Red Queen mixed my two favorite genres, Fantasy and Dystopian, in a way that gives you a wonderful world you can lose yourself in. 

By Victoria Aveyard,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked Red Queen as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 13, 14, 15, and 16.

What is this book about?

The first novel in the #1 bestselling RED QUEEN series by Victoria Aveyard.

THIS IS A WORLD DIVIDED BY BLOOD - RED OR SILVER.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of…


You might also like...

Katie’s Gamble

By Kara O'Neal,

Book cover of Katie’s Gamble

Kara O'Neal Author Of The Princess's Knight

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Reader Teacher Writer Hopeless romantic Optimistic human

Kara's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Katie's Gamble is an unexpected, unique story about a young woman who's trying to support her younger siblings by keeping her family's confectionery shop open.

In order to do that, she has to take on her older brother, who's a notorious gambler in Louisiana. Additionally, she has to outsmart Rowdy Denton, her brother's hired gunslinger, who wants nothing more than to protect her and keep her from entering a dangerous gambling tournament.

Katie’s Gamble

By Kara O'Neal,

What is this book about?

Katie's Gamble is an unexpected, unique story about a young woman who's trying to support her younger siblings by keeping her family's confectionery shop open.

In order to do that, she has to take on her older brother, who's a notorious gambler in Louisiana. Additionally, she has to outsmart Rowdy Denton, her brother's hired gunslinger, who wants nothing more than to protect her and keep her from entering a dangerous gambling tournament.


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in curses, medications, and plagues?

9,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about curses, medications, and plagues.

Curses Explore 77 books about curses
Medications Explore 26 books about medications
Plagues Explore 45 books about plagues