The best YA rom-com books to make you laugh

Why am I passionate about this?

Rom-coms have always been my favorite type of escapism. Give me all the witty banter, romantic tension, quirky characters, and – of course – the well-earned happily-ever-afters. Yes, humor is subjective, so there is a chance these YA books won’t have you roll-on-the-floor laughing like me, but I’m pretty sure they’ll inspire at least a chuckle from even the stoniest reader. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.


I wrote...

When the Vibe Is Right

By Sarah Dass,

Book cover of When the Vibe Is Right

What is my book about?

There are two things Tess Crawford knows for sure: she’s destined to be a great Trinidadian Carnival costume designer and her classmate, the popular social media influencer, Brandon Richards, is the bane of her existence. But when the future of her family’s Carnival costume band nears the brink of collapse in the face of band rivalry, Tess finds to her chagrin that she must team up with Brandon in a desperate attempt to revive the company. As Tess and Brandon spend more time together, Tess begins to wonder if everything she thought she knew might not be so certain after all...

Set in lush, gorgeous Trinidad, this is a novel about finding love in the most unexpected places.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Charming as a Verb

Sarah Dass Why did I love this book?

Henri “Halti” Haltiwanger is dealing with a lot of pressure as a college-bound star debater, popular student, and dutiful first-generation Haitian son.

He can charm everyone, except his “intense” neighbor, Corinne. After Corinne finds out that Henri has been lying about his dog-walking business, she blackmails him into helping her with her social life.

While it does tackle some tougher topics, this book has a ton of humor and fun banter.

By Ben Philippe,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Charming as a Verb as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han.

Henri "Halti" Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.

There is only one person who seems immune to Henri's charms: his "intense" classmate and neighbor Corinne Troy.…


Book cover of 10 Blind Dates

Sarah Dass Why did I love this book?

As someone who understands the joys and pains of growing up with a big extended family, I adored this book.

Sophie’s meddlesome but well-meaning relatives set her up on ten blind dates that take place over the holiday season. Hilarity ensues.

Some of the situations were absolutely ridiculous but in the best way.

By Ashley Elston,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked 10 Blind Dates as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Would you let your family play matchmaker to help you get over a broken heart?

Ashley Elston's 10 Blind Dates is the perfect Christmas treat: delicious, warm, funny, escapist YA romance.

Sophie wants one thing for Christmas - time with her boyfriend Griffin. So when her parents plan a trip to visit her sister over the holiday, Sophie begs to be left behind with her grandparents and her boisterous extended family. But she and Griffin break up and she's devastated.

Sophie's grandmother, hating to see her so upset, devises a (not so) brilliant plan - to distract her from heartbreak.…


Book cover of Well, That Was Unexpected

Sarah Dass Why did I love this book?

Speaking of meddlesome families, this book has another set-up.

This time we have Sharlot and George Clooney (no, not that George Clooney) whose parents decide to trick them into dating. There’s a little bit of catfishing, a few misunderstandings, and fake dating in Indonesia.

It’s a side-splitting rom-com told through Jesse Q. Sutanto’s signature brand of outlandish humor.

By Jesse Q. Sutanto,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Well, That Was Unexpected as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

"A delightful, hilarious, captivating love letter to Indonesia, and coming of age in a large meddlesome family, and the thrill of finding your person where you least expect it!"--Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis

A laugh-out-loud YA rom-com about a girl who's whisked from LA to her mother's native Indonesia to get back to her roots and finds herself fake-dating the son of one of the wealthiest families there, from the bestselling author of Dial A for Aunties and The Obsession

After Sharlot Citra's mother catches her in a compromising position, she finds herself whisked…


Book cover of You Should See Me in a Crown

Sarah Dass Why did I love this book?

When Liz Lighty’s financial aid for college falls through, she agrees to compete for her school’s scholarship prize.

It’s awarded to the prom king and queen. I think calling this a rom-com might be a bit of a stretch since the love story is more of a subplot to the competition, but Liz and Mack’s cute moments together were a highlight of the book.

Not to mention, there were more than a few laugh-out-loud moments.

By Leah Johnson,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked You Should See Me in a Crown as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed mid-western town. But it's okay-Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever: attend the uber-elite Pennington College, play in their world-famous orchestra, and become a doctor.But when the financial aid she was counting on unexpectedly falls through, Liz's plans come crashing down... until she's reminded of her school's scholarship for prom King and Queen. There's nothing Liz wants to do less than endure a gauntlet of social media trolls, catty competitors, and humiliating public events, but…


Book cover of Better Than the Movies

Sarah Dass Why did I love this book?

The banter in this one is next-level fantastic.

Liz Buxbaum – a fellow rom-com fan – is trying to get the attention of her crush who recently moved back to town. She enlists the help of her annoying neighbor Wes Bennett to get her crush’s attention, but things don’t go according to plan.

Liz and Wes have amazing chemistry. Really enjoyed this one.

By Lynn Painter,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked Better Than the Movies as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Perfect for fans of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, this "sweet and funny" (Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks) teen rom-com follows a hopelessly romantic teen girl and her cute yet obnoxious neighbor as they scheme to get her noticed by her untouchable crush.

Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he's back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radar-and maybe snag him as a prom date-even befriend Wes Bennet.…


You might also like...

Melody and the Pier to Forever: Parts Five and Six

By Shawn Michel De Montaigne,

Book cover of Melody and the Pier to Forever: Parts Five and Six

Shawn Michel De Montaigne

New book alert!

What is my book about?

A young adult and epic fantasy novel that begins an entire series, as yet unfinished, about a young girl named Melody who discovers that the pier she lives near goes on forever—a pier that was destroyed by a hurricane that appeared out of blue skies in mere moments in 1983.

Melody doesn't know it, but a king has been searching for her for more than twenty years—longer than she's been alive. His kingdom is readying for the day when they may return to the world found beyond the end of that very pier, a world cast into darkness by an…

Melody and the Pier to Forever: Parts Five and Six

By Shawn Michel De Montaigne,

What is this book about?

Melody Singleton is a bright 13-year-old girl who loves math, classical music, her mom, her best friend Yaeko, and her dog. To her classmates that makes her a nerd, and they cruelly treat her as such. After being expelled from the advanced algebra class for not paying attention, she meets her new teacher, Mr. Conor, who gives her a very strange homework assignment. You see, she got kicked out because she was distracted by a symbol that the rest of us can't see, a beautiful sigil that, incredibly, Mr. Conor can see too, because it's on the assignment he gave…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Christmas, presidential biography, and lesbian topics and characters?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Christmas, presidential biography, and lesbian topics and characters.

Christmas Explore 251 books about Christmas
Presidential Biography Explore 19 books about presidential biography
Lesbian Topics And Characters Explore 127 books about lesbian topics and characters