The best young adult fiction sapphic romance novels

Why am I passionate about this?

I’m passionate about young adult sapphic romance books because this is something I wished I would have read in high school. If I had novels similar to these when I was growing up I might have realized that I identify as queer sooner and it could have helped me understand more about myself. Because of this, I’ve been an avid reader, and writer, of sapphic young adult romances. If it’s sapphic, send it my way. I hope you enjoy these sapphic novels as much as I have!


I wrote...

Book cover of Does Love Always Win?

What is my book about?

Sam "Shorty" Daniels has a plan for her senior year, but her romantic life being a hot mess was not on the agenda. Shorty quickly discovers she's not attracted to her newest boyfriend and fellow marching band member Zack. When Shorty's asked to show the snarky new girl around high school, Shorty's intrigued by Kristy's wit, and they bond over their love of writing. They quickly become inseparable, and Shorty realizes why none of her other relationships worked out. As Shorty is about to break up with Zack, her bitter ex-boyfriend Bryan threatens to out her to the school and her conservative parents. Will Shorty be able to overcome Bryan's ridiculous blackmail scheme and get her dream girl?

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Out of Character

Diane Billas Why did I love this book?

I recommend Out of Character because the book is very swoon-worthy but still being real. This was on my TBR for so long, especially because it talks about role-playing, something that I find really intriguing.

One aspect I really enjoy about this book is the characters have so many layers. The one love interest, Rowan was my favorite character but all the characters were great. I really enjoyed role-playing scenes interspersed between the chapters. I couldn’t wait to figure out what was going to happen. I honestly can’t wait to re-read this book and also read whatever the author writes next! 

By Jenna Miller,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Out of Character as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Dumplin' meets Geekerella in debut author Jenna Miller's queer, body-positive love story that explores online and offline relationships in all of their messiness.

If you asked seventeen-year-old Cass Williams to describe herself, she'd happily tell you she's fat, a lesbian, and obsessed with the Tide Wars books. What she won't tell you-or anyone in her life-is that she's part of an online Tide Wars roleplay community. Sure, it's nerdy as hell, but when she's behind the screen writing scenes as Captain Aresha, she doesn't have to think about her mother who walked out or how unexpectedly stressful it is dating…


Book cover of Imogen, Obviously

Diane Billas Why did I love this book?

Imogen, Obviously was such a fantastic read that I really could relate to.

Imogen was a lot like me in high school, a people pleaser who thought she was straight. She considered herself an ally, but then sometimes would have thoughts about girls, but passed them off as wanting to be their friend and looking back, I had the same thing happen to me. I really wished this book was available to me in high school because it would have helped me understand a lot more about myself.

This book has a memorable cast of characters including Imogen’s love interest Tessa and I’m going to be thinking about this book for a long time. 

By Becky Albertalli,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked Imogen, Obviously as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

A New York Times and Indie bestseller!

With humor and insight, #1 New York Times bestseller Becky Albertalli explores the nuances of sexuality, identity, and friendship in this timely new novel.

Imogen Scott may be hopelessly heterosexual, but she’s got the World’s Greatest Ally title locked down.

She's never missed a Pride Alliance meeting. She knows more about queer media discourse than her very queer little sister. She even has two queer best friends. There's Gretchen, a fellow high school senior, who helps keep Imogen's biases in check. And then there's Lili—newly out and newly thriving with a cool new…


Book cover of You Should See Me in a Crown

Diane Billas Why did I love this book?

You Should See Me in a Crown is such a cute sapphic romance story, set around the fact that both the main character, Liz, and her love interest/new girl, Mack, are both running for homecoming queen to win a scholarship.

This book was a breath of fresh air because there were also real problems and insecurities brought up that sometimes are overlooked, making it the characters seem so real. 

By Leah Johnson,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked You Should See Me in a Crown as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed mid-western town. But it's okay-Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever: attend the uber-elite Pennington College, play in their world-famous orchestra, and become a doctor.But when the financial aid she was counting on unexpectedly falls through, Liz's plans come crashing down... until she's reminded of her school's scholarship for prom King and Queen. There's nothing Liz wants to do less than endure a gauntlet of social media trolls, catty competitors, and humiliating public events, but…


Book cover of She Gets the Girl

Diane Billas Why did I love this book?

She Gets the Girl was such a cute sapphic romance, the kind of romance I wished I had experienced when I was younger.

I enjoyed that it was set freshman year of college, rather than high school like most young adult books, and the very distinct personalities of both main characters. It was a really fun read and I honestly wish it didn’t have to end. I also can totally see this being made into a movie.

By Rachael Lippincott, Alyson Derrick,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked She Gets the Girl as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

Read the instant New York Times bestseller and TikTok sensation -- THE new swoon-worthy hate-to-love rom com from #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Five Feet Apart Rachael Lippincott and debut writer Alyson Derrick. The perfect summer read for fans of Adam Silvera, Casey McQuiston, Becky Albertalli and Alice Oseman's HEARTSTOPPER series!

Alex and Molly are two girls who don't belong on the same planet, let alone the same college campus . . .

Alex Blackwood is a little bit headstrong, with a dash of chaos and a whole lot of flirt. She knows how to get the girl.…


Book cover of The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School

Diane Billas Why did I love this book?

I flew through The Lesiana’s Guide to Catholic School book.

It was set, as the title suggests at a Catholic School. There were a lot of themes that I really related to, such as growing up in a religious family and being scared to reveal yourself true identity to your family and friends. I thought the family dynamics were very realistic, as were the characters.

This book was a very enjoyable read!

By Sonora Reyes,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

No one knows Yami is gay, least of all her mum, and Yami intends to keep it that way . . . Until, uh oh, she's falling in love again.

Yami prefers to be known for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, rich Catholic school - or for being gay. So after being outed by her ex-best friend, before transferring to Slayton Catholic, Yami decides to lie low, make her mum proud and definitely NOT fall in love. The thing is, it's hard to fake being straight when Bo,…


You might also like...

The Cowboy's Lost Family

By Roxanne Snopek,

Book cover of The Cowboy's Lost Family

Roxanne Snopek

New book alert!

What is my book about?

He’s looking for the one thing she’s done with: family.

Brade Oliver arrives in Grand, Montana, looking for blood—and answers. Genetic tests reveal that his biological family may reside in the small, western town, and he’s on a mission to finally discover the one thing his adoptive family couldn’t give him: the truth.

Kendall McKinley craves a normal life, free of the demands, drama, and constraints of her dysfunctional family. Despite being focused on building her career and working on a restoration project, Kendall can’t help herself from noticing a handsome stranger the first night he arrives. But when Brade…

The Cowboy's Lost Family

By Roxanne Snopek,

What is this book about?

He’s looking for the one thing she’s done with: family.

Brade Oliver arrives in Grand, Montana, looking for blood—and answers. Genetic tests reveal that his biological family may reside in the small, western town, and he’s on a mission to finally discover the one thing his adoptive family couldn’t give him: the truth.

Kendall McKinley craves a normal life, free of the demands, drama, and constraints of her dysfunctional family. Despite being focused on building her career and working on a restoration project, Kendall can’t help herself from noticing a handsome stranger the first night he arrives. But when Brade…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in teenagers, the Catholic Church, and lesbian topics and characters?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about teenagers, the Catholic Church, and lesbian topics and characters.

Teenagers Explore 125 books about teenagers
The Catholic Church Explore 135 books about the Catholic Church
Lesbian Topics And Characters Explore 127 books about lesbian topics and characters