The best novels grab your interest and keep you riveted until the very end

Who am I?

I have SB degrees in physics and electrical engineering from M.I.T. and a JD degree from the Georgetown University Law Center. I’m interested in how things work and how people think. I’ve written four novels, published countless articles, as well as many children’s stories. A few of them may be found on my author’s website


I wrote...

The Road Ranger

By Karl Milde,

Book cover of The Road Ranger

What is my book about?

The Lone Ranger radio program was broadcast twice a week from 1933 to 1949. It relates the story of John Reid, a wealthy silver mine owner and Texas Ranger. While on a mission to capture the famed bandit, Butch Cassidy, John and his group of fellow Rangers were ambushed by Cassidy's gang and left for dead. A Native American called "Tonto" discovered the massacre and found John Reid still alive. Together they buried the dead and made a grave for John, to fake his demise. Wearing a mask to hide his identity, John rode into history, on his white horse "Silver" and with his faithful companion Tonto, to fight for Law and Order in the early Western United States.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

The Dark Hours

By Michael Connelly,

Book cover of The Dark Hours

Why this book?

Michael Connelly continues to hit it out of the park when it comes to police procedurals. The Dark Hours is the fourth of his five novels about a young LAPD detective, Renee Ballard, who works “the late show” (the nighttime hours) and catches a midnight murder. She seeks assistance from a friend—the semi-retired detective, Harry Bosch—in working the case. I’ve read every one of Connelly’s Bosch Series books and have loved them all. Once you become involved and engrossed—usually by the third page—you cannot stop reading! Connelly’s novels are that good

The Dark Hours

By Michael Connelly,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Dark Hours as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A Wall Street Journal and South Florida Sun-Sentinel Best Book of the Year

“A masterpiece”—LAPD detective Renée Ballard must join forces with Harry Bosch to find justice in a city scarred by fear and social unrest after a methodical killer strikes on New Year’s Eve (Publishers Weekly).

There’s chaos in Hollywood at the end of the New Year’s Eve countdown. Working her graveyard shift, LAPD detective Renée Ballard waits out the traditional rain of lead as hundreds of revelers shoot their guns into the air. Only minutes after midnight, Ballard is called to a scene where a hardworking auto shop…


The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

By Walter Isaacson,

Book cover of The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

Why this book?

The Code Breaker is the latest masterwork by the master book builder, Walter Isaacson. Isaacson’s books are long and rich with detail, but every detail is fascinating and necessary for understanding the main characters: what they do, and why they do it. I’ve read Isaacson’s books on Albert Einstein and Steve Jobs. This book is about Jennifer Doudna (pronounced “Dowd-nuh”), a biotech scientist. In collaboration with a French scientist, Emmanuelle Charpentier, Doudna discovered a way (called “CRISPR”) to edit DNA, the so-called “code of life,” and they jointly won the Nobel Prize. If you are at all interested in science and how scientists do their thing, you cannot find a better read than this latest Isaacson blockbuster. Although the subjects are complex, Isaacson writes in our layman’s language. 

The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

By Walter Isaacson,

Why should I read it?

5 authors picked The Code Breaker as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The best-selling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns.

In 2012, Nobel Prize winning scientist Jennifer Doudna hit upon an invention that will transform the future of the human race: an easy-to-use tool that can edit DNA.

Known as CRISPR, it opened a brave new world of medical miracles and moral questions. It has already been deployed to cure deadly diseases, fight the coronavirus pandemic of 2020, and make inheritable changes in the genes of babies.

But what does that mean for humanity? Should we be hacking our own DNA to make us less susceptible to disease? Should…


The Hidden One: A Novel of Suspense

By Linda Castillo,

Book cover of The Hidden One: A Novel of Suspense

Why this book?

Linda Castillo is a master of the Amish whodunnit, having written fifteen books in a series staged in Amish country and culture. I’ve read five of them. Her characters are vivid and come alive on the page. The Hidden One, this latest “novel of suspense,” is written in the first person by her protagonist, Kate Burkholder, Chief of Police in Painters Mill, Ohio. Before you realize it, you are in Kate’s mind, trying to make sense of the many clues—bits and pieces of information—that make up a mosaic. All this is delivered up in what I would venture to say is a “woman writer’s touch”—with sensitivity and a warm heart.

The Hidden One: A Novel of Suspense

By Linda Castillo,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Hidden One as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The discovery of an Amish bishop's remains leads chief of police Kate Burkholder to unearth a chilling secret in The Hidden One, a new thriller from bestselling author Linda Castillo.

Over a decade ago, beloved Amish bishop Ananias Stoltzfus disappeared without a trace. When skeletal remains showing evidence of foul play are unearthed, his disappearance becomes even more sinister.

The town’s elders arrive in Painters Mill to ask chief of police Kate Burkholder for help, but she quickly realizes she has a personal connection to the crime. The handsome Amish man who stands accused of the murder, Jonas Bowman, was…


The Cold Dish

By Craig Johnson,

Book cover of The Cold Dish

Why this book?

The Cold Dish is the first in a mystery series by Craig Johnson about Walter Longmire, sheriff of the fictitious Absaroka County in the northeast corner of Wyoming. Walt’s character is so real he jumps off the page. I read four of the fourteen-book series after binging on the sixty-episode Netflix TV series, Longmire. Walt is a quiet, yet assertive John Wayne-type western hero who is smart as a whip and gets his man, though the odds are often deeply against him. The stories—murder mysteries mostly—are fascinating and include, in addition to his daughter and the three other members of the Sheriff’s Department, a modern interaction with American Indians on the “rez”—the local Indian Reservation.

The Cold Dish

By Craig Johnson,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Cold Dish as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author, the first in the Longmire mystery series

Craig Johnson's new novel, LAND OF WOLVES, is forthcoming from Viking

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's…


Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens,

Book cover of Where the Crawdads Sing

Why this book?

I read this book before seeing the movie and I’m glad I did. In this, her debut novel, Delia Owens paints an astonishingly real word picture of the marshlands along the North Carolina coast, where her main character, the unschooled, preteen Kya, hides away from Social Services. Kya says to her only friend, a teenage boy Tate, ”I’m scared they’ll pull me in like a trout, put me in a foster home or sump’n.” Smiling, Tate replies, “Well, we better hide away out there where the crawdads sing. I pity any foster parents who take you on.” The story revolves around the accusation of murder by this lonely girl, who is marsh-smart and has taught herself to read and write with a bit of Tate’s help. One can’t help but silently cheer for her every step of her way.

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens,

Why should I read it?

26 authors picked Where the Crawdads Sing as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

OVER 12 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDE
NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE
A NUMBER ONE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For years, rumours of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Amish, romantic love, and Wyoming?

7,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Amish, romantic love, and Wyoming.

Amish Explore 12 books about Amish
Romantic Love Explore 510 books about romantic love
Wyoming Explore 29 books about Wyoming

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Alan Turing, The Glass Castle, and Anne of Green Gables if you like this list.