The best books for a romantic beach read

Why am I passionate about this?

I love writing my steamy, happily ever after romance novels. Billionaires are my Prince Charmings and they have a lot to offer the heroines I write. However, none of my heroines are weak. They are strong and they love the billionaires for who they are, not what they offer. I want a world full of romance, steam, and happily ever afters, so that’s what I love to write. My books are perfect for a relaxing day on the beach that will leave you feeling good.


I wrote...

Saltwater Kisses

By Krista Lakes,

Book cover of Saltwater Kisses

What is my book about?

When small-town girl Emma LaRue won a vacation to an exclusive tropical island, she never meant to get pretend married to the handsome man she met there. She certainly never meant to fall in love.

But she did. And the man was none other than New York's most eligible billionaire bachelor Jack Saunders. When the press finds out about their pretend marriage, it suddenly becomes real and Emma must choose between her dreams and the man that she met on the beach.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Simply Irresistible

Krista Lakes Why did I love this book?

The Lucky Harbor series was one of my first forays into reading romance, and they are a huge inspiration for my own writing. The heat level, the spicy scenes, the relationships, the friendships, and the settings are all something I try to write as well. I love the small-town setting and how the next book’s characters are woven in so that I feel like I’m really a part of this world. Plus, Maddy and Jax’s relationship is so sweet. Throw in that this book isn’t angsty or dark, it’s perfect for reading on the beach. I finished this book with a happy sigh... and then read the next one in the series!

I love this whole small-town romance series. The heat level is awesome and Jill Shalvis does an amazing job on her characters and romance. I always feel content after finishing one of her books. These were some of my first inspirations to write romance novels myself, and I love everything she writes!

By Jill Shalvis,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Simply Irresistible as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The first enchanting novel in the Lucky Harbor series from New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis, laced with her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Fans of Susan Andersen, Bella Andre, Rachel Gibson, Carly Phillips, and Susan Mallery will fall head over heels for the Lucky Harbor series.

Maddie Moore's whole life needs a makeover. In one fell swoop, Maddie loses her boyfriend (her decision) and her job (so not her decision). But rather than drowning her sorrows in bags of potato chips, Maddie leaves L.A. to claim the inheritance left by her free-spirited mother - a ramshackle…


Book cover of Dare to Love

Krista Lakes Why did I love this book?

A perfect beach-read billionaire book with lots of sizzle! (Seriously, this book should come with fire warnings because you will need a cold shower after it!)

Riley is fiercely independent and Ian is incredibly protective. This makes for a difficult start to their relationship, but once they learn to trust one another, it’s all sparks and steam. The chemistry between these two characters is off the charts and the book holds nothing back. We get to see it all.

This is the first book in the series which makes it even better. I loved getting to meet the characters for the next books and get a feel for them while falling in love with Ian and Riley.

By Carly Phillips,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Dare to Love as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

She arouses his dominant and protective instincts
And he will do anything to possess her …
And does.

When billionaire Ian Dare gets one glimpse of the sensual and irresistible Riley Taylor, he knows that he must have her. But any future he might have with Riley means he’ll have to confront his past—a past he’d rather forget. And that’s something this NFL team owner won’t dare to do—not even for love.


Book cover of Mating Theory

Krista Lakes Why did I love this book?

Skye Warren is a queen of romance and feelings, and this book is one I’ve read multiple times. I love that this billionaire romance has Pretty Woman vibes, but it’s own story. Sutton, our hero, has a tortured past and dark demons inside of him, but the love he feels for Ashleigh is so sweet and heartfelt that it breaks my heart every time I read it. They struggle so hard for their love, and the two of them together make for an emotional and powerful read. This is a story of two broken people finding one another and finding a powerful love.

By Skye Warren,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Mating Theory as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Billionaire Sutton Mayfair has nothing left to lose...

My best friend is getting married to the woman I love. They say the nice guy finishes last. So what's the point of being a goddamn gentleman?

Maybe I should take what I want.

Even that sexy little thing on the street corner.

She needs a hot meal and a place to sleep. Instead I'm taking her home to soothe the savage beast inside me. I was born a bastard, and for the first time in my life I act like one.

Except the more I use her, the more I need…


Book cover of No Ordinary Billionaire

Krista Lakes Why did I love this book?

JS Scott writes the best billionaires. Every time she releases a new book or series, I gobble them up. This series is no different.

First, Dante is a tortured romance hero that is easy to love. His guilt over the death of his partner and his injury make me want to hug him close – which is exactly what Sarah Baxter wants to do! Except she can’t because she’s his doctor and she lives by her ethics. I love the connection the two of them have and how they have to help one another in their love. This book is sizzling and steamy with romance and intrigue to keep the pages turning!

By J.S. Scott,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked No Ordinary Billionaire as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From Wall Street Journal bestselling author J. S. Scott.

Dante Sinclair never cared about his family's money. All the young billionaire ever wanted was to be a cop; and now that he's a homicide detective in Los Angeles, he's a damn good one. But when he is injured and loses his partner in the line of duty, he returns to his vacation home in Amesport, Maine, to recover.

Sarah Baxter, a brilliant young doctor still struggling with her stifled upbringing, has recently moved from Chicago to sleepy Amesport to escape her past, hoping to find peace. When Sarah is assigned…


Book cover of Hideaway

Krista Lakes Why did I love this book?

Nora Roberts is the absolute queen of romance. She is often the first author anyone recommends in the genre, and as such, I am a huge fan. Hideaway has a scrappy heroine, but the real reason I love this book is Dillon. He’s hard-working and protective and just right for Cate.

I also really enjoyed the other background characters and relationships. So many times romance novels focus only on the two leads (with good reason!) but it’s always nice when the characters have outside relationships, especially good ones. Dillon’s relationships made me smile and love him all the more as a romance hero.

By Nora Roberts,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Hideaway as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A powerful new novel from global bestseller Nora Roberts about finding what matters most in the least expected places.

If you're after the perfect pick-me-up, take-me-away-from-the-world read, then she's your woman'

The Guardian

One day, she thought, one moment, one innocent game. How was it that day, that moment, that game never seemed to end?

Caitlyn Sullivan is just nine years old when a game of Hide and Seek at a family party will change her life forever.

The betrayal she experienced that night will shape Caitlyn's life, and for years she runs and runs, hiding from the aftermath of…


You might also like...

A Cursed Son

By Day Leitao,

Book cover of A Cursed Son

Day Leitao

New book alert!

What is my book about?

Romantic & sexy dreams link a false princess to a dangerous, disgraced fae prince in this fun, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantasy. As a royal decoy, trained to replace the Krastel princess even in a political marriage, Astra’s life is not her own. With a duty like that, how can she dream about love?

And yet she knows she has a kindred soul. She can feel his presence every night, surrounding her with his warmth. But ice-cold reality crashes in when Astra’s carriage is attacked by the Crystal Court’s disgraced prince. It turns out that he is the man in her dreams.…

A Cursed Son

By Day Leitao,

What is this book about?

Romantic & sexy dreams link a false princess to a dangerous, disgraced fae prince in this fun, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantasy.

In her dreams, he envelops her in love. In real life, he imprisons her in ice.

Assassin, liar, impersonator-dreamer.

As a royal decoy, trained to replace the Krastel princess even in a political marriage, Astra's life is not her own. With a duty like that, how can she dream about love?

And yet she knows she has a kindred soul. She can feel his presence every night, holding her in his arms, surrounding her with his warmth.

But ice-cold reality…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in romantic love, billionaires, and actresses?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about romantic love, billionaires, and actresses.

Romantic Love Explore 889 books about romantic love
Billionaires Explore 46 books about billionaires
Actresses Explore 26 books about actresses