Simply Irresistible

By Jill Shalvis,

Book cover of Simply Irresistible

Book description

The first enchanting novel in the Lucky Harbor series from New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis, laced with her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Fans of Susan Andersen, Bella Andre, Rachel Gibson, Carly Phillips, and Susan Mallery will fall head over heels for the Lucky Harbor series.…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Simply Irresistible as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This was the first rom-com book I read and it made me giggle, sigh, and swoon. I was hooked on the series afterward and I could not consume the books fast enough. Jill Shalvis has a way of creating relatable characters which you end up cheering for at the end. In fact, the MC, Maddie, from the first chapter tugs at your heartstrings and you can’t help but hope she finishes her bag of potato chips before anything else happens. Well unless it happens to be Jax. Their meet-cute is comically on point. Not to mention the nosy busy bee…

From Gracie's list on sigh, giggle, blush and swoon.

The Lucky Harbor series was one of my first forays into reading romance, and they are a huge inspiration for my own writing. The heat level, the spicy scenes, the relationships, the friendships, and the settings are all something I try to write as well. I love the small-town setting and how the next book’s characters are woven in so that I feel like I’m really a part of this world. Plus, Maddy and Jax’s relationship is so sweet. Throw in that this book isn’t angsty or dark, it’s perfect for reading on the beach. I finished this book with…

From Krista's list on for a romantic beach read.

Return to Hope Creek

By Alyssa J. Montgomery,

Book cover of Return to Hope Creek

Alyssa J. Montgomery Author Of A Spanish Seduction

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

I’m an Australian USA Today bestselling romance author who writes contemporary romance and uses the pen name Alyssa James to write medieval romance. I think the makeover trope resonates with me because although I’m no beauty queen now, I was definitely an ugly duckling in my teens. For reasons best known to him, my father insisted on close-cropped hair, and financial circumstances dictated out-of-style hand-me-down clothing. After university, I found my own style, but it wasn’t until I was accepted as an international flight attendant that I believed that I couldn’t be all that ugly if Qantas employed me!

Alyssa's book list on makeover romances

What is my book about?

Return to Hope Creek is a second-chance rural romance set in Australia.

Stella Simpson's career and engagement are over. She returns to the rural community of Hope Creek to heal, unaware her high school and college sweetheart, Mitchell Scott, has also moved back to town to do some healing of his own.

Mitchell, a former NFL quarterback, doesn't need the complication of encountering Stella again so long after the messy end to their relationship, but as each tries to build a new life, they are drawn together and find their chemistry is just as strong as ever.

Will their love be stronger the second time around?

Return to Hope Creek

By Alyssa J. Montgomery,

What is this book about?

When two old flames come back to their home town, sparks are bound to ignite. A rural romance from USA Today bestselling author Alyssa J. Montgomery.


A horrific car accident ended former world number-one Stella Simpson’s tennis career, and a betrayal ended her relationship with her fiancé/coach. When a family friend offers to sell her half of a property in the rural community where she grew up, it seems like the perfect place to escape, heal and begin the next phase of her life. Until she discovers that the man who broke her heart ten years ago has bought the…


Want books like Simply Irresistible?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Simply Irresistible.

Browse books like Simply Irresistible

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in romantic love, Washington state, and inheritances?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about romantic love, Washington state, and inheritances.

Romantic Love Explore 864 books about romantic love
Washington State Explore 73 books about Washington state
Inheritances Explore 83 books about inheritances