The best fantasy novels to take you away

Who am I?

Picking up a fantasy novel and getting away from real-world problems is an escape for me. Even though many of these issues don’t exist in our lives, we can still learn from the way the characters deal with their struggles. We can find compassion and empathy and maybe see that there are two sides to every story. Along the way, we also get to see stunning vistas and amazing, mythical creatures.


I wrote...

Dacia Wolf & the Prophecy

By Mandi Oyster,

Book cover of Dacia Wolf & the Prophecy

What is my book about?

Dacia doesn't believe in prophecies, but when she starts living her nightmares, she can't help but wonder if she's wrong. Strange things have always happened in her presence. People in the small town of Bittersweet avoid her, and in her own home, her parents fear her. The only person who doesn't make her feel like an outcast is her best friend, Cody Hawks. Around him, she is free to be herself.

Dacia is excited to go to college, leaving everyone but Cody behind. When her powers surface in class, she finds herself a pawn in a demon's plot to take over the planet. Plunged into a world where magic exists and monsters are real, Dacia must learn to control her powers and find a way to return the demon to the Abyss.
Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Crow King

Mandi Oyster Why did I love this book?

M.H. Woodscourt is amazing an amazing storyteller. One of her biggest strengths is bringing her characters to life. If you love character-driven fantasy stories, I highly recommend The Crow King. The settings are all places that I would love to visit in real life. 

Gwyn's journey is filled with struggle and reward and exciting twists and turns.

By M. H. Woodscourt,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Crow King as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Magic is against the law. Will Gwyn risk execution to save his brother?
The Crow King has outlawed magic. Despite the kingdom's edict, Gwyn plunges into the ancient and deadly True Wood to find a magical cure for his dying brother. Within the shadowed realm, he must fend off more than violent and fallen fae-like Ilidreth when he learns the king is out to stop him at whatever cost.
On his desperate quest, he is joined by a unicorn, a quirky girl, and the maddest of the fallen fae. Together they must outrun enchanted crows and enemy armies, and face…


Book cover of The Girl of Dorcha Wood

Mandi Oyster Why did I love this book?

In The Girl of Dorcha Wood Ward leads her readers on an emotional journey of love and loss that is filled with innocence, betrayal, love, pain, bitterness, and revenge.

Her characters are incredibly realistic. She has a way of making you feel like you’ve known them all your life. The setting is well-written and almost feels like home.

By Kristin Ward,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Girl of Dorcha Wood as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Treacherous.
Evil.
Dark.
Dorcha Wood is all of these.

And none of them.

The people of Felmore talk of Dorcha Wood in whispers, if they speak of it at all. There is danger in the dark forest. Monstrous things, remnants of the Aos Sí, lurk in the shadows, hunting the unwary should one be careless enough to cross those borders.

But to seventeen-year-old Fiadh, Dorcha Wood is home. A haven. It speaks to her in the rustle of the wind through the leaves, in the wild things that come to her hand. It is a forest whose secrets become known…


Book cover of The Assassin's Odyssey

Mandi Oyster Why did I love this book?

Assassin's Odyssey makes you rethink everything. Which is more important: loyalty or justice? Is being loyal to someone who is evil right, or is it right to betray that? As you read Caleb’s book, you find yourself being swayed a little toward each side.

Answers are never black and white. This book makes you realize the truth lies in the middle. And in my humble opinion, a book that makes you think is a good thing.

By Caleb Ortega, Mandi Oyster,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Assassin's Odyssey as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Ancient Greece, a country filled with rulers vying to keep their power as democracy grows. With a thirst for domination, King Aeneas sends his two best assassins, Adonis and Selene, to the neighboring region of Arcadia in the hope of expanding his reign.

They must kill King Argus.

Adonis, a well-respected captain in the assassin company is loyal to only three things; King Aeneas, his land, and Selene.

His fellow captain, Selene is as cunning as she is beautiful. Her passion for Adonis is only matched by her pursuit of Greek justice.

Both are challenged by their King’s request. Will…


Book cover of Wolf Under Your Skin

Mandi Oyster Why did I love this book?

Hunt gives us a different type of werewolf. One who is just trying to find his place in the world. His journey gave me all the feels. I loved being a part of Josh’s journey and seeing him find a life instead of just going through the motions of day-to-day life.

By Ellen Hunter,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Wolf Under Your Skin as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Discover an exciting YA supernatural romance series about vengeful werewolves, a desperate love, and the darkness in everyone’s heart. Perfect for fans of "Twilight" and the "Shiver" series!

Blue eyes, raven hair—and a terrible secret.

Life in Shatterlake is pretty laid back. I go to high school, live on a farm, and lead a normal, quite life. When I meet Josh, however, there is something intriguing about this young man. He’s gentle and kind, but always cautious and distant. As my feelings for him grow, I make a horrifying discovery.

Josh is a werewolf.

One day, he suddenly turns into…


Book cover of The Seventh Year Trials

Mandi Oyster Why did I love this book?

Alexis is an incredible storyteller. She takes her readers on an amazing journey filled with fantastic descriptions that use all of the senses. Her characters are real, well-developed, believable people with problems, insecurities, and the hope to make things better. Her settings are stunning. And the plot is amazing!

By Alexis D. Johnson,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Seventh Year Trials as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 13, 14, 15, and 16.

What is this book about?

If my father finds out I’m secretly raising an orphaned dragon, he’ll kill it. Thank the gods for my brother’s help. In the same breath, curse him for sticking by me as I likely dig our graves deeper with each desperate decision.

My name is Mirren, and until now, my greatest ambition has been to stay clear of our father’s temper as best I can. But all that’s changed with my dragon’s life on the line. I only have one option to keep her from starving to death...

Compete.

Desperate choices must be made with the approaching Seventh Year Trials…


You might also like...

At What Cost, Silence?

By Karen Lynne Klink,

Book cover of At What Cost, Silence?

Karen Lynne Klink Author Of At What Cost, Silence?

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Child abuse survivor Reader Adventure traveler Animal lover

Karen's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Secrets, misunderstandings, and a plethora of family conflicts abound in this historical novel set along the Brazos River in antebellum Washington County, East Texas.

It is a compelling story of two neighboring plantation families and a few of the enslaved people who serve them. These two plantations are a microcosm of a country on the brink of war, encompassing a variety of issues: love and friendship between men, relationships between fathers and sons, sibling rivalry, slavery, and the position of women in society.

At What Cost, Silence?

By Karen Lynne Klink,

What is this book about?

Adrien Villere suspects he is not like other boys. For years, he desperately locks away his feelings and fears-but eventually, tragedy and loss drive him to seeking solace from his mentor, a young neighbor Jacob Hart. Jacob's betrayal of Adrien's trust, however, results in secret abuse, setting off a chain of actions from which neither Adrien's wise sister, Bernadette, nor his closest friend, Isaac, can turn him.

At What Cost, Silence presents two contrasting plantation families in a society where strict rules of belief and behavior are clear, and public opinion can shape an entire life. Centerstage are the Villeres,…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Celtic mythology, dragons, and werewolves?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Celtic mythology, dragons, and werewolves.

Celtic Mythology Explore 24 books about Celtic mythology
Dragons Explore 175 books about dragons
Werewolves Explore 126 books about werewolves