The best books to hear your kids laugh out loud

Who am I?

I’m a stay-at-home working dad, and have handed my boys countless books to keep them entertained so I could get some work done. There’s something magical about giving your kid a book that sparks their love of reading. In my own experience, adventure books that made my boys laugh out loud would captivate my kids for hours…and keep them out of my hair.


I wrote...

Star Scouts

By Mike Lawrence,

Book cover of Star Scouts

What is my book about?

Avani is the new kid in town, and she’s not happy about it. Everyone in school thinks she’s weird, especially the girls in her Flower Scouts troop. Is it so weird to think scouting should be about fun and adventure, not about makeovers and boys, boys, boys?

But everything changes when Avani is “accidentally” abducted by a spunky alien named Mabel. Mabel is a scout too—a Star Scout. Collecting alien specimens (like Avani) goes with the territory, along with teleportation and jetpack racing. Avani might be weird, but in the Star Scouts she fits right in. If she can just survive Camp Andromeda, and keep her dad from discovering that she’s left planet Earth, she’s in for the adventure of a lifetime.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Dungeon Critters

Mike Lawrence Why did I love this book?

Dungeon Critters might be one of the funniest comics I’ve read in years. On top of all the great jokes and gags, there is so much heart in this book. Riess and Goetter have created a cast of characters that are so lovable and have such great chemistry that it makes me want to be a better writer. It’s truly a delight from beginning to end. Bonus: as a D&D nerd who runs a campaign for his kids and their friends, the Dungeon Critters band of adventurers fits right at home in my geeky little heart.

By Natalie Riess, Sara Goetter,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Dungeon Critters as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

Quests! Plots! Evil Plants! Magic and mayhem!

Join a tight-knit squad of animal companions on a wild adventure investigating a sinister botanical conspiracy among the furry nobility. Motivated by rivalries, a strong moral compass, and a lust for adventure, the critters navigate not only perils and dangers of the natural world, but also perils and dangers . . . of the heart! Their journey takes them through haunted dungeons, swamps, and high society balls, and brings them closer together as friends.


Book cover of Bird & Squirrel on the Run!

Mike Lawrence Why did I love this book?

Jame’s Bird & Squirrel series taught me a lot about comedic timing in comics. When I sold my own book and realized I actually had to write a book I had a slight panic attack. My agent recommended I look at Bird & Squirrel as a guide to writing and illustrating a graphic novel. James also works in animation and those skills are on display with how his characters move and interact in his books. Reading Bird and Squirrel is like watching a beloved Saturday morning cartoon. 

By James Burks,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Bird & Squirrel on the Run! as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 7, 8, and 9.

What is this book about?

Squirrel is afraid of his own shadow. Bird doesn't have a care in
the world. And Cat wants to eat Bird and Squirrel. Of course, he'll
have to catch them first, and that's not going to be easy.
Join this trio as they head south for the winter in a hilarious road
trip. But watch out! Cat is waiting around every bend, and he's
one pesky feline.


Book cover of Giants Beware!

Mike Lawrence Why did I love this book?

Jorge and Rafael have created a lovable trio of heroes with Claudette, Marie, and (personal favorite) Gaston. These three friends go on an adventure to fight a dangerous giant while their entire town tries to stop them. The kids encounter all manner of magical foes who are more than meets the eye, adding up to an adventure that’s as surprising as it is hilarious. 

By Jorge Aguirre, Rafael Rosado (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Giants Beware! as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 7, 8, 9, and 10.

What is this book about?

Claudette's fondest wish is to slay a giant. But her village is so safe and quiet! What's a future giant slayer to do?

With her best friend Marie (an aspiring princess), and her brother Gaston (a pastry-chef-to-be), Claudette embarks on a super-secret quest to find a giant-without parental permission. Can they find and defeat the giant before their parents find them and drag them back home?

Giants Beware! offers up a wondrous, self-contained world in the tradition of the very best of Pixar. Claudette and her friends will have you laughing out loud from page one.


Book cover of The Glorkian Warrior Delivers a Pizza

Mike Lawrence Why did I love this book?

The Glorkian Warriors Delivers a Pizza is a great book for early readers. There isn’t a complicated plot, instead, it’s so jam-packed with wonderful nonsense and silly jokes that it’s as fun to read to your kids as it is to see them read it themselves. I also love buddy comedies, and the Glorkian Warrior’s banter with his backpack is a delight. 

By James Kochalka,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Glorkian Warrior Delivers a Pizza as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 5, 6, 7, and 8.

What is this book about?

The Glorkian Warrior isn't the brightest bulb in the box, so it's good he's got his trusty talking backpack to advise him as they set out on a perilous journey to deliver a pizza. The pizza's got clams and peanut butter on it, so it's not clear who's going to want it, but deliver it they will. With bright, lively illustrations and classic prat-falls, this graphic novel for kids is 112 pages of super icky gross-out humour and ludicrously bad decisions- in other words, The Glorkian Warrior Delivers a Pizza is a winner.


Book cover of Nico Bravo and the Hound of Hades

Mike Lawrence Why did I love this book?

Usually I pick out books for my kids, not this one though. My youngest picked this up at the library and loved it so much he told me that I just had to read it, and I’m glad I did! I love mythology and Cavallaro did such a great job taking classic myths and monsters and turning them on their head. Plus, there’s a sword that teleports your enemy’s skeleton into outer space, how great is that?!

By Mike Cavallaro,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Nico Bravo and the Hound of Hades as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

Got a problem? At Vulcan's Celestial Supply Shop, you can find the magical merchandise to set things right. The seasoned staff-a kid named Nico Bravo, a sphynx named Lula, and a unicorn named Buck-pride themselves on providing "legendary service and expertise in all areas of the arcane."

But Nico's world is about to be turned upside down, and it's all thanks his latest customer: Eowulf, the pint-size descendant of the monster slayer Beowulf. Determined to carry on the family business, this would-be warrior plans to slay Cerberus, the terrifying, three-headed hound of Hades.

There's just one problem-Cerberus is the only…


You might also like...

The City Sings Green & Other Poems About Welcoming Wildlife

By Erica Silverman, Ginnie Hsu (illustrator),

Book cover of The City Sings Green & Other Poems About Welcoming Wildlife

Erica Silverman Author Of Wake Up, City!

New book alert!

Who am I?

I am an award-winning author of picture books and early readers. I have set my stories in many kinds of locations, including a haunted house, an Eastern European shtetl, an English Renaissance village, and a working cattle ranch. For Wake Up, City, I turned to the setting I know best, the city. I drew on memories of walking to kindergarten in early morning Brooklyn. This book is my love song to cities everywhere. As a lifelong city dweller, I worry about the impact of urban spread on the planet, but I feel hopeful, too, because many cities are becoming more nature and wildlife-friendly. The books I'm excited to share celebrate city wildlife. 

Erica's book list on celebrating cities

What is my book about?

A unique and artful blend of poetry, science, and activism, this picture book shows how city dwellers can intervene so that nature can work her magic.

In Oslo, Norway: citizens create a honeybee highway that stretches from one side of the city to the other, offering flowerpots, resting spots, bee boxes, and beehives—even water fountains—every eight hundred feet.

In the Bronx, New York: a community rallies to clean their river and cheers at the return of the long-lost beaver population.

In Busselton, Australia: people make a rope bridge that swings high above speeding cars, creating a safe path for tree-hopping possums and squirrels alike.

Through a mix of lyrical poems, real-life success stories, and bouquet-bright artwork, The City Sings Green explores the environmental impact of humans and showcases the many ways that we can rewild cities across the globe. Together, we can welcome nature back!

The City Sings Green & Other Poems About Welcoming Wildlife

By Erica Silverman, Ginnie Hsu (illustrator),

What is this book about?

A unique and artful blend of poetry, science, and activism, this picture book shows how city dwellers can intervene so that nature can work her magic. Perfect for fans of The Curious Garden and Harlem Grown.

In Oslo, Norway: citizens create a honey-bee highway that stretches from one side of the city to the other, offering flowerpots, resting spots, bee boxes and beehives-even water fountains-every 800 feet.

In the Bronx, New York: a community rallies to clean their river and cheers at the return of the long-lost beaver population.

In Busselton, Australia: people make a rope bridge that swings high…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in comics, giants, and cats?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about comics, giants, and cats.

Comics Explore 118 books about comics
Giants Explore 8 books about giants
Cats Explore 184 books about cats