The best explore the world books for children

Who am I?

I’m a Canadian children’s author who is curious about people, places, and history. There is always something new to discover. I am an introvert by nature but I love travelling the world through the pages of books. By exploring the world (in real life or through reading) we learn about survival, struggle, and overcoming obstacles. We might just get inspired to make a greater contribution to our world. 


I wrote...

The Adventures of Grandmasaurus at the Aquarium Rescue Centre

By Caroline Fernandez, Shannon O'Toole (illustrator),

Book cover of The Adventures of Grandmasaurus at the Aquarium Rescue Centre

What is my book about?

Half Grandma Half Dinosaur All Mischief!!

“Grandma keeps running off doing funny business. On a field trip! And if she doesn't stop, we'll miss the school bus.” All we want to do is have a simple, no shenanigans, fun day at the museum. But when magic museum dust makes Grandma start sneezing, we know we're in for a wild time. With each sneeze, Grandma turns into a different dinosaur and takes off. It's up to me and Moonie to track her down and keep her from making a mess of the museum – before we miss the bus home!"

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Magic School Bus in the Time of the Dinosaurs

Caroline Fernandez Why did I love this book?

The Magic School Bus series is the perfect blend of entertaining and educational. I love how Cole delves into dinosaurs & prehistoric creatures in this book. The characters all work together so well. And who doesn’t love spontaneous Ms. Frizzle?! This whole series contains classic reads for children and I highly recommend it.

By Joanna Cole, Bruce Degen (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Magic School Bus in the Time of the Dinosaurs as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 6, 7, 8, and 9.

What is this book about?

To celebrate its 20th anniversary, Scholastic is re-releasing the ten original Magic School Bus titles in paperback. With updated scientific information, the bestselling science series ever is back!

The classroom is decorated as Dinosaur Land, but Ms. Frizzle-inspired by an archeological dig-craves a more authentic experience. The Magic School Bus turns into a time machine and transports the class back millions of years to an adventure where they learn about dinosaurs, their habitats and diets, and even a Maiasaura nesting ground.

Book cover of A Long Walk to Water

Caroline Fernandez Why did I love this book?

I bought this book for my daughter who is a biography and non-fiction fan. It did not disappoint. This best-selling novel, set in Africa, tells the story of two children who overcome many challenges to improve their lives (and the lives of others). It is a short novel that inspires child empowerment and exploring the world. 

By Linda Sue Park,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked A Long Walk to Water as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 10, 11, 12, and 13.

What is this book about?

Cherished by millions of readers, this #1 New York Times bestselling novel is a powerful tale of perseverance and hope. Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park interweaves the stories of two Sudanese children who overcome mortal dangers to improve their lives and the lives of others.

A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours’ walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day. The boy,…


Book cover of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Caroline Fernandez Why did I love this book?

Perhaps strange to be on an Explore the World list, I add Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone here because Harry explores his wizarding world with amazing curiosity. His investigating his magical world can inspire kids to be curious about different countries and cultures. Different doesn’t have to be scary. And belonging to a place isn’t necessarily where you currently reside.

By J.K. Rowling,

Why should I read it?

36 authors picked Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

Galloping gargoyles ... 2022 is the silver anniversary of J.K. Rowling's magical classic Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone!

The boy wizard Harry Potter has been casting a spell over young readers and their families ever since 1997. Now the first book in this unmissable series celebrates 25 years in print! The paperback edition of the tale that introduced us to Harry, Ron and Hermione has been updated and dressed in silver to mark the occasion. It's time to take the magical journey of a lifetime ...

Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping…


Book cover of History Year by Year: The History of the World, from the Stone Age to the Digital Age

Caroline Fernandez Why did I love this book?

Bite-sized bits of world knowledge are a great way to explore the world from the comfort of your own living room (or car or classroom). Visuals and a timeline help kids navigate history, discoveries, wars, revolutions, and inventions. This is the type of book kids can pick up and put down anytime. It also adds to general knowledge and builds great ideas for family trivia night!

By DK Smithsonian,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked History Year by Year as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 9, 10, 11, and 12.

What is this book about?

Get to grips with history like never before as you travel through the ages in this history encyclopedia for children that stretches from prehistoric times to modern day.

Introducing an updated volume of History Year by Year - a timeline of world history that joins the dots of history by putting key historic events across the world on one timeline for children, including everything from prehistoric people, to world wars, humans on the moon, and so much more! Every page is jam-packed pictures and original artefacts, to give children an accurate insight into each era. Including features that explain major…


Book cover of How to Become an Accidental Genius

Caroline Fernandez Why did I love this book?

I love, love, love how MacLeod and Wishinsky create their “accidental” books. It’s the perfect blend of entertaining and educational facts about people from around the world making great discoveries. It also shows the most ordinary people can make the most extraordinary discoveries.  

By Elizabeth MacLeod, Frieda Wishinsky, Jenn Playford (illustrator)

Why should I read it?

1 author picked How to Become an Accidental Genius as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 9, 10, 11, and 12.

What is this book about?

Don't be afraid to try! Make connections! Be persistent! Ask questions and never take no for an answer! Learn the secrets and amazing stories of successful inventors!


How to Become an Accidental Genius is full of inspiring tales of famous and lesser-known inventors who have changed the world, from George Washington Carver, Mary Anderson (inventor of the windshield wiper) and inventor and actress Hedy Lamarr to Frank Epperson (of Popsicle fame) and Mary Sherman Morgan (The Woman Who Saved the U.S. Space Race). Readers will be amazed at the inventiveness of these geniuses. The book focuses on inventors from North…


You might also like...

Book cover of Wand

Landra Jennings Author Of Wand

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Overthinker Chocolate eater Mom Cautious adventurer

Landra's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val—who she still won’t call mom and still won’t forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can’t refuse: she will grant Mira three wishes. What if magic isn’t just pretend after all? What if these wishes could fix everything? But in the quiet town of Between, Georgia, where secrets lurk and rumors swirl of strange creatures, nothing is as it seems, and everything comes at a price

Wand

By Landra Jennings,

What is this book about?


A dazzling story of grief and found family wrapped in a spellbinding fairy tale, perfect for fans of Anne Ursu and Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val-who she still won't call mom and still won't forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears out of the woods wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can't refuse:…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in survival, wizards, and inventors?

9,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about survival, wizards, and inventors.

Survival Explore 186 books about survival
Wizards Explore 94 books about wizards
Inventors Explore 21 books about inventors