The best feel good mystery books

Who am I?

As a former school psychologist and author of over 45 books, I love reading about characters that are likable, plots that are believable, and settings that I want to visit. My years as a psychologist make it easy to spot poorly written characters that don’t ring true. It is also my years as a psychologist that makes me enjoy a light, humorous read with a guaranteed happy ending.


I wrote...

Murder of a Smart Cookie

By Denise Swanson,

Book cover of Murder of a Smart Cookie

What is my book about?

Yard sales bring out the worst in people. Nobody knows this better than Scumble River school psychologist Skye Denison, organizer of the First Annual Route 66 Yard Sale. Neighborly folk gets downright nasty fighting over plastic knickknacks. But the worst is yet to come... Skye's former summer-job boss, Cookie Caldwell, has just been found murdered - and the sheriff suspects Skye.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Death on Demand

Denise Swanson Why did I love this book?

Carolyn Hart is the master of cozy feel-good mysteries. Her writing pulls you into the story. I love how she uses both big names from the mystery world and rising stars in her sleuth’s bookstore. The two main characters, Annie and Max, are an endearing pair of sleuths.

By Carolyn G. Hart,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Death on Demand as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The prime suspect in the murder of author Elliot Morgan, Annie Laurance Darling, owner of the Death on Demand mystery bookstore, embarks on an investigation in an attempt to clear her name.


Book cover of The Cupcake Caper

Denise Swanson Why did I love this book?

This first book in Kelle Riley’s new series has it all—a plot full of twists and turns, a super-smart sleuth, and just a smidge of romance. I love that the sleuth doesn't act impulsively and instead observes and deduces. In addition, there are yummy recipes, a cranky rescue cat, and several quirky secondary characters. I especially like the couple who own a dog bakery and their trained dog that discourages the goose population.

By Kelle Z. Riley,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Cupcake Caper as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Science is about solving puzzles. Why should solving a murder be any different?Dr. Bree Watson (aka Gabriella Catherine Mayfield-Watson) is comfortable solving chemistry problems. She isn’t comfortable finding her boss dead and being a suspect in his poisoning. Now she’s juggling: •A sexy marketing manager—who may, or may not—be a contract killer. •A handsome lead detective whose interest goes beyond the case. •The dead man’s cranky cat. •A goose-chasing dog in hot water with an animal rights group. •The search for the perfect cupcake recipe. •And, of course, someone who wants her out of the picture.And she thought getting a…


Book cover of It Takes a Witch

Denise Swanson Why did I love this book?

Heather Blake’s first Wishcraft mystery is a captivating story that delightfully blends crime, magic, romance, and self-discovery. The suspense remains high throughout the book and is not an easy mystery to solve. The characters and plot are spellbinding and full of charm, enchantment, and humor. I especially love the animals who speak and help provide the clues.

By Heather Blake,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked It Takes a Witch as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

FIRST IN THE NATIONAL BESTSELLING WISHCRAFT MYSTERY SERIES!

Darcy Merriweather and her sister, Harper, hail from a long line of witches who have the power to grant wishes using spells. They’ve come to Enchanted Village in Salem, Massachusetts, to join the family business, but soon find themselves knee-deep in murder…
 
Until three weeks ago, Darcy and her sister, Harper, were working dead-end jobs and trying to put their troubles behind them. Then their Aunt Velma delivered a bombshell: they’re actually Wishcrafters—witches with the power to grant wishes with a mere spell. Wanting a fresh start, they head to their aunt’s…


Book cover of Murder at the Lakeside Library

Denise Swanson Why did I love this book?

Holly Danver’s first book in the Lakeside Library series is fast-paced and an easy read that skillfully evokes both the charm and the quirks of a small town. The setting is fun and the characters are likable. It has delightful touches and twists with a nimble plot that will keep you turning the pages until the very end. It provides a fictional vacation at a rustic Wisconsin cabin that includes a private lending library

By Holly Danvers,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Murder at the Lakeside Library as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmot must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Rain Wilmot has just returned to her family's waterfront log cabin in Lofty Pines, Wisconsin after the untimely death of her husband. The cabin is peaceful compared to Rain's corporate job and comes with an informal library that Rain's mother, Willow, used to run. But as Rain prepares for the re-opening of the library, all hopes for a peaceful life are shattered when she discovers the body of Thornton Hughes, a real estate buyer,…


Book cover of Killer Transaction

Denise Swanson Why did I love this book?

Catherine Bruns’ first book in her new series features a refreshingly new kind of sleuth. Cindy York is an ordinary woman in her 40s with a supportive husband, twin sons, and a typical teenage daughter. There are several wonderful laugh-aloud moments. The violence is off-page, the plot is well done with the reason for murder revealed at the right time. I loved the animals in the story.

By Catherine Bruns,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Killer Transaction as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Real estate deals can be murder.

All struggling real estate agent Cindy York wants is the home listing that was promised to her. Her deceitful co-worker, Tiffany Roberts, has other ideas, and she always manages to get what she wants. Tired of being manipulated, Cindy tells her to back off - or else! But when Cindy stumbles upon Tiffany’s lifeless body, she suddenly finds herself front and center in a deadly investigation. Now everyone from her kids' classmates to her monstrous mother-in-law is sold on the idea that Cindy's guilty. Determined to find out who's trying to frame her, Cindy…


You might also like...

The River of Eternity

By Bruce Balfour,

Book cover of The River of Eternity

Bruce Balfour

New book alert!

What is my book about?

1184 BCE. Ramesses III, who will become the last of the great pharaohs, is returning home from battle. He will one day assume the throne of the Egyptian empire, and the plots against him and his children have already started. Even a god can die.

Ray was raised with the teenage children of Ramesses as their friend, but his own mysterious past exposes him to threats inside and outside of the Egyptian court. When a prince is killed, Ray is framed for the murder and must run to protect Bull, the oldest son of Ramesses. So begins Ray’s dangerous journey from the snake pit of royal palace intrigue into a violent world of treachery and enemies that will take years to conquer if he can survive.

The River of Eternity

By Bruce Balfour,

What is this book about?

From the national bestselling author of The Forge of Mars and The Digital Dead, an Ancient Egyptian epic adventure thriller series, based on real events, for fans of Wilbur Smith, Steven Saylor, and Paul Doherty.

This is the first book of a series leading up to the event known as The Harem Conspiracy, the assassination of Pharaoh Ramesses III in New Kingdom Egypt (1184 BCE), which was led by members of his own family. Details were drawn from the first recorded judicial trial transcript ever recovered (Judicial Papyrus of Turin plus other fragments of the original papyrus).


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in murder, murder mystery, and animal rights?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about murder, murder mystery, and animal rights.

Murder Explore 893 books about murder
Murder Mystery Explore 470 books about murder mystery
Animal Rights Explore 14 books about animal rights