The best novels with journeys of faith

Who am I?

I am a Christian and my writing is influenced by my belief in a loving God who is very aware and involved in our lives. I directly address these ideas in my novel, The King's Trial, which many readers compare to the writings of CS Lewis. Readers who rarely care for religious themes have commented that the balance is right and the novel can be read as straight fantasy. Some of my favorite books with journeys of faith portray religions very different from mine, a few of which I include in the novels recommended below.


I wrote...

The King's Trial

By M. L. Farb,

Book cover of The King's Trial

What is my book about?

A mute radical. A brutal queen. A quest through a deadly maze.

Posing as a mute tavern hand, Yosyph gathers information on his bigoted queen and silently seeks to raise a rebellion. But when he discovers the monarch’s scheme to enslave thousands, he fears leading a revolt now would only end in a massacre. Desperate for allies in the coming war, Yosyph travels through a deadly desert in search of his kin. But he’s shocked to discover his only option to defeat the queen’s vast military is an ancient power that will consume him–unless he opens himself to the voice of his god. Will Yosyph’s unexpected answers to his prayers stop his realm from descending into bloody darkness? Whitney Award nominee for 2019.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Lord of the Rings

M. L. Farb Why did I love this book?

I love how this book, though in a fantasy setting, represents many deep truths both about us as humans and our relationship with God. For instance, one of the most poignant moments for me is when Sam tells Frodo, “I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you.” I’ve experienced that on both ends—many times. We are here both to lift others and to be lifted. And though God doesn’t take away my burdens, He helps me bear them. This is just one of many beautiful truths represented in The Lord of the Rings.

By J.R.R. Tolkien,

Why should I read it?

52 authors picked The Lord of the Rings as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell by chance into the hands of the hobbit Bilbo Baggins.

From Sauron's fastness in the Dark Tower of…


Book cover of The Thief

M. L. Farb Why did I love this book?

I appreciate that Gen’s journey of faith is a rather begrudging one. He certainly doesn’t want the gods involved in his life. Yet he is honorable (despite many appearances to the contrary) and he accomplishes, at great cost to himself, the vital task he sets out to do. His courage, despite his complaining, is still courage (and I wonder if his complaining was a mask for his fear). Sometimes faith feels like that—doing what is right even when you would rather do anything else. And sometimes that is the hardest journey of all.

By Megan Whalen Turner,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked The Thief as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. Eugenides, the queen's thief, can steal anything-or so he says. When his boasting lands him in…


Book cover of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

M. L. Farb Why did I love this book?

I have visited Narnia often as a child and as a parent. Each time I learn more about forgiveness, mercy, and healing. Edmund’s journey of faith didn’t start as a hero, but as a selfish child. Aslan’s mercy demanded nothing and everything from him. Edmund could have remained a selfish child, but instead he allowed Aslan’s undeserved and freely given sacrifice to change his whole life. This story helps me realize the great love God has for me, and how I can better follow Him and be changed by Him.

By C. S. Lewis, Pauline Baynes (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

29 authors picked The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 9, 10, 11, and 12.

What is this book about?

Lucy steps into the Professor's wardrobe - but steps out again into a snowy forest. She's stumbled upon the magical world of Narnia, land of unicorns, centaurs, fauns... and the wicked White Witch, who terrorises all. Lucy soon realises that Narnia, and in particular Aslan, the great Lion, needs her help if the country's creatures are ever going to be free again...


Book cover of The Curse of Chalion

M. L. Farb Why did I love this book?

I love the slow, deep delving into the mind and heart of Cazaril. Despite all the abuse and injustice in his life, he faithfully fulfills his duties. Even as he patiently abides by the actions of the gods in his life, he isn’t passively waiting, but instead using his wit and wisdom to do all he can. His example of balancing patient humility and courageous action inspires me.   

By Lois McMaster Bujold,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked The Curse of Chalion as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A man broken in body and spirit, Cazaril returns to the noble household he once served as page and is named secretary-tutor to the beautiful, strong-willed sister of the impetuous boy who is next in line to rule. It is an assignment Cazaril dreads, for it must ultimately lead him to the place he most fears: the royal court of Cardegoss, where the powerful enemies who once placed him in chains now occupy lofty positions.

But it is more than the traitorous intrigues of villains that threaten Cazaril and the Royesse Iselle here, for a sinister curse hangs like a…


Book cover of Moonscript

M. L. Farb Why did I love this book?

If JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis were to write a fantasy together, I think it would be something like Moonscript. This story is deep with long-term pain, beautiful with patient love, and full of excitement and surprises. I appreciate it shows that healing takes time and that God’s grace comes, but not always when we want it.

By H.S.J. Williams,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Moonscript as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 13, 14, 15, and 16.

What is this book about?

"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes into its depths is lost forever. I know this better than anyone. For I have suffered here in the shadows, and there are none who might find me.”

Seventy years. Seventy years the elven prince has been lost to the darkness, assumed dead by his people and endlessly broken for a book that connects to the hidden realm of his ancestors, a land untouched by evil.

And now a light in the shadows. A chance for freedom. But those willing to help him come from the unlikeliest of worlds.

The…


You might also like...

Book cover of Wand

Landra Jennings Author Of Wand

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Overthinker Chocolate eater Mom Cautious adventurer

Landra's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val—who she still won’t call mom and still won’t forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can’t refuse: she will grant Mira three wishes. What if magic isn’t just pretend after all? What if these wishes could fix everything? But in the quiet town of Between, Georgia, where secrets lurk and rumors swirl of strange creatures, nothing is as it seems, and everything comes at a price

Wand

By Landra Jennings,

What is this book about?


A dazzling story of grief and found family wrapped in a spellbinding fairy tale, perfect for fans of Anne Ursu and Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val-who she still won't call mom and still won't forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears out of the woods wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can't refuse:…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in good and evil, curses, and lions?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about good and evil, curses, and lions.

Good And Evil Explore 129 books about good and evil
Curses Explore 77 books about curses
Lions Explore 24 books about lions