The best books about the multiverse that dives through worlds beyond worlds

Why am I passionate about this?

The Multiverse had been my deepest passion of interest for a long time. Experiencing crossover stories in various mediums, both official and fan-made, especially fan-made. To see how two different worlds would meet. I spent hours reading fanfictions involving crossovers, as well as conjuring up my own. I considered the multiverse as a grand bedrock to create any story, hence why I wrote The Mariverse, followed by The Mariverse: Guardians, to create my own bedrock for my writing career.


I wrote...

The Mariverse: Guardians

By Jay Miles,

Book cover of The Mariverse: Guardians

What is my book about?

“One step out of the bus is all it takes to change fate.”

The tale of a boy named Mason who lost all hope of living after a tragic incident. Given a chance to live again by a mysterious man in a skull mask. To discover a world beyond his, an entire multiverse beyond his. In a condition to become a Guardian, warriors who protect the balance in each universe in existence. Meanwhile, the devious, powerful, not-a-mary-sue girl, The FWM, embarks on her own journey to prove that she isn’t a person or a bad character. She does this through death, destruction, decay, and a lot of other negative words starting with the letter D.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Midnight Library

Jay Miles Why did I love this book?

I chose this book because I do like the metaphorical meaning behind the library. That every book is a life, altered, changed. You could read into them. Discover what could have been, be stunned at what happened in an alternative life. I sure was when reading this. 

The protagonist goes through hardship and understanding, self-discover, regrets, and ultimately, acceptance. It reminded me so much of how I write my protagonist. 

The Multiverse is like a library, after all…

By Matt Haig,

Why should I read it?

35 authors picked The Midnight Library as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The #1 New York Times bestselling WORLDWIDE phenomenon

Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for Fiction | A Good Morning America Book Club Pick | Independent (London) Ten Best Books of the Year

"A feel-good book guaranteed to lift your spirits."-The Washington Post

The dazzling reader-favorite about the choices that go into a life well lived, from the acclaimed author of How To Stop Time and The Comfort Book.

Somewhere out beyond the edge of the universe there is a library that contains an infinite number of books, each one the story of another reality. One tells the story of…


Book cover of Doors of Sleep

Jay Miles Why did I love this book?

This book is an exciting, dimension-hopping adventure. It tells a unique concept of how one can travel between worlds beyond worlds, explore several worlds before going into the next, give an insight into the protagonist's constant struggle as he deals with this situation, he was in.

Even if each world is just a fragment of an entire universe, it still shows so many unique ideas and expansion of the multiverse in only a singular perspective. For that, I highly recommend this if you are looking for adventure and to explore several dozen worlds in the span of a novel.

By Tim Pratt,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Doors of Sleep as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Every time Zax Delatree falls asleep, he travels to a new reality. He has no control over his destination and never knows what he will see when he opens his eyes. Sometimes he wakes up in technological utopias, and other times in the bombed-out ruins of collapsed civilizations. All he has to live by are his wits and the small aides he has picked up along the way - technological advantages from techno-utopias, sedatives to escape dangerous worlds, and stimulants to extend his stay in pleasant ones.
Thankfully, Zax isn't always alone. He can take people with him, if they're…


Book cover of Coraline

Jay Miles Why did I love this book?

This book explores a parallel world, a familiar world like the protagonist’s but a mixture of a better and worse one, what could keep her there, and wanting to get out.

I watched the adapted film first then read the book, in a way, seeing them both is like looking at two different universes like I’ve been looking at the Other Coraline book. I recommend reading the book if you have seen the film, to spot differences but still enjoy a journey.

And it is a great journey even if the book is your first exploration in the story.

By Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

14 authors picked Coraline as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 10, 11, 12, and 13.

What is this book about?

"Sometimes funny, always creepy, genuinely moving, this marvellous spine-chiller will appeal to readers from nine to ninety." - "Books for Keeps". "I was looking forward to "Coraline", and I wasn't disappointed. In fact, I was enthralled. This is a marvellously strange and scary book." - Philip Pullman, "Guardian". "If any writer can get the guys to read about the girls, it should be Neil Gaiman. His new novel "Coraline" is a dreamlike adventure. For all its gripping nightmare imagery, this is actually a conventional fairy story with a moral." - "Daily Telegraph". Stephen King once called Neil Gaiman 'a treasure-house…


Book cover of Codey: Crossing the Multiverse

Jay Miles Why did I love this book?

For those who don’t want to read a novel length but want to experience worlds beyond worlds, this book I would recommend, a neat short story where the protagonist uses the multiverse as a form of self-discovery, experiences he would never have in his own life and considers to a change of character.

Might not be a full-blown adventure, but a calmer mundane life experience, relatable while simplifying the multiverse without any complexities. 

By Deivy Garrido,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Codey as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Book cover of The Nowhere Thief

Jay Miles Why did I love this book?

Though it never mentions the word ‘multiverse’, it has many aspects of a story about travelling through worlds beyond worlds, going somewhere from nowhere, taking things that don’t exist in another place.

I found this book interesting because it includes a mystery, as the protagonist goes through her journey, she uncovers mysteries and hidden truths about her abilities.

A different concept of multiverse travelling, as well as worlds that are aware of each other, it was still an interesting read that leaves a satisfying conclusion.

By Alice M. Ross,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Nowhere Thief as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 9, 10, 11, and 12.

What is this book about?

A mind-bending multiverse adventure about theft, family, and finding your home.


Twelve-year-old Elsbeth has an extraordinary power: she can travel to parallel worlds and bring objects back with her. But as freak weather events become more frequent and a strange boy, Idris, starts to turn up everywhere she travels, she has to ask herself: does her gift come with a price?


Fans of Christopher Edge, Ross Welford and Jessica Townsend will love this fast-paced story and mind-blowing plot! Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.


You might also like...

Transforming Pandora

By Carolyn Mathews,

Book cover of Transforming Pandora

Carolyn Mathews Author Of Transforming Pandora

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

Author Creator Meditator Messenger Shopaholic

Carolyn's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Transforming Pandora, women's fiction with a metaphysical undercurrent, is written with humour and a light touch. As the plot slips between two time frames, separated by more than thirty years, the reader explores her life and loves: her ups and downs.

In the opening chapter, Pandora is attempting to come to terms with her husband's death. At a friend's suggestion, she reluctantly attends an evening of clairvoyance, after which her life is transformed by a mysterious spirit who sets her on a new path.

Her romantic life is reignited when she encounters a new man, but complicated by the appearance of a significant figure from her past. At the same time her spiritual life is presented with a challenge when she's offered the chance of enlightenment via a heavenly correspondence course. Her quest in life to find her true purpose is within her reach. Will she grasp this opportunity? Or will she choose love over light?

Transforming Pandora

By Carolyn Mathews,

What is this book about?

Pandora, 51, childless, and still beautiful, is attempting to come to terms with her husband's death. Having a history of being drawn to the esoteric, yet remaining a healthy sceptic, she reluctantly attends an evening of clairvoyance and raises a spirit who sets her on a new path...


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in multiverse, decision making, and the supernatural?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about multiverse, decision making, and the supernatural.

Multiverse Explore 30 books about multiverse
Decision Making Explore 84 books about decision making
The Supernatural Explore 331 books about the supernatural