The best fantasy novels from a series to feed your addiction

Ellen Mae Franklin Author Of The Unseen Promise
By Ellen Mae Franklin

Who am I?

It has always been a tough question to answer because I'm many things and have a diverse range of loves. I live in Adelaide, South Australia and believe that we are all capable of great things. My grandchildren are important to me. I'm passionate about unleashing my imagination and translating the many stories in my mind into narratives. I paint, read, sing, garden, and cook and I hope, much more. My passion for fantasy began in the womb. I'm certain of this. I began reading this genre at 5 and for over 55 years; it has been a passion. Epic, dark fantasy enthralls me and I'm in a constant search for the next best read.

I wrote...

The Unseen Promise

By Ellen Mae Franklin,

Book cover of The Unseen Promise

What is my book about?

Roedanth wants Peetra back. It doesn’t matter the boy is dead. Tainted by dark magic, tragedy and pain follow Roedanth from Crow’s Nest to Coowic where the Magi live. Tarkeenia is awash with life—man and beast live side by side. Monsters hunt the shadows, looking for a bite to eat. The tip of balance between dark and light, good and evil, is tenuous.

Flesh-eating Specks turn the living into dust, and the world is no longer safe. Strangers become friends, betrayal and self-gain taint uneasy alliances, and unlikely heroes emerge to salvage what they can from a world on the brink of chaos. All strive to make do in a world bubbling with wild magic, as the lives of man and monster hang in the balance.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

Best Served Cold

By Joe Abercrombie,

Book cover of Best Served Cold

Why this book?

The author is a heavy hitter in dark fantasy and the title says it all, Best Served Cold. Glancing at the title, I immediately thought of revenge and this story takes the cake. Joe takes you on an adventure that you wish would not end, cold-hearted characters willing to go to any length to fulfil his story and their personal agendas. His eye for detail leads you to feel as if you are walking with each of them on their journey. Don’t expect the expected because he has an imagination to conjure the most extraordinary villains and surprising heroes. Plots that don’t always have happy endings. The UK author translates his storyline into a brilliant narrative that will make you put his book on the shelf as it waits for the second. For once you have read a Joe Abercrombie book, you will want to read more.

The Eye of the World: The Wheel of Time Book One

By Robert Jordan,

Book cover of The Eye of the World: The Wheel of Time Book One

Why this book?

The series is for a dedicated fantasy reader who enjoys an epic, in-depth story full of characters who sit on the side of either the dark or the light, which leads to good versus evil. It contains a multitude of characters who will catch your emotions and carry you through 14 books. The layers of storylines are incredible and the imagination of this author to capture such depth is well worth the time to read his works. Unfortunately, Robert passed unable to complete this series, but with the contribution of another fantasy writer (Brandon Sanderson), chosen by him to end this fabulous narrative.

Lord Foul's Bane

By Stephen R. Donaldson,

Book cover of Lord Foul's Bane

Why this book?

These works are a masterpiece and hard reading at times, but worth every word if you love epic fantasy, as I do. The protagonist Thomas Covenant is a sour and bitter person, but I found myself drawn to his humanity as he struggles to come to terms with his plight. Stephen’s courage in exploring human emotions and humanity itself is inspiring. The storyline is like an onion and as I peeled back the layers; I was hooked. I have been reading the fantasy genre for over 55 years and this series was the first to leave an everlasting impression.

Odalisque: Book One of The Percheron Saga

By Fiona McIntosh,

Book cover of Odalisque: Book One of The Percheron Saga

Why this book?

Odalisque blew me away. I did not expect this author to produce such a raw and dark series. Set in a time where brutality was the norm, I loved exploring Ana’s journey as she fought to regain not only her freedom from slavery, but the epic lengths she went toto gain power in a world ruled by strength and deception. Fiona draws out the reader’s emotions and will cast you into a scene right out of history. Revenge and honour, sex and murder all take place in the desert, so keep your eye out for this book.

The Summer Tree

By Guy Gavriel Kay,

Book cover of The Summer Tree

Why this book?

Imagine yourself going about your day to find that you, as an individual, have a crucial part to play in an alternative world. Five characters in this story will become a part of Fionavar’s history, there is little they can do to avoid their fate. The writer will take you down a path of sorrow and then he turns to lead you to a different place, one that will captivate you. I have worn down the pages of my personal books in this series, reading them often, for I connect to each character and their personal journeys. The series is a refreshing storyline that is original and relatable.

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in wizards, revenge, and leprosy?

5,809 authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about wizards, revenge, and leprosy.

Wizards Explore 68 books about wizards
Revenge Explore 56 books about revenge
Leprosy Explore 7 books about leprosy

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like The Lord of the Rings, Artemis Fowl, and Neverwhere if you like this list.