The best lively adventure tales for all ages

Who am I?

I am a part-time professional pianist and full-time professional digital media designer who has recently turned my creative sensibilities toward writing vibrant, fun fiction. I am inspired by world-building adventures, bedtime stories, and being a parent. Stories that bring families together is something I have always enjoyed, and I’d like to put more of that out into the world. I like unpredictable twists, unnecessary footnotes, and breaking the fourth wall (as long as it isn’t load-bearing).


I wrote...

The Search for Reath: A Whimsically Long Short Story

By D.L. Crawford,

Book cover of The Search for Reath: A Whimsically Long Short Story

What is my book about?

The Search for Reath is a lively adventure tale for all ages (except 38). It features an endearing cast of characters searching for Reath—a legendary land of Untold Riches. Unfortunately, these characters don't know that an unforeseen evil is also searching for Reath. And it plans to ruin their day. Stupid evil. Perhaps you’ve always wondered what happens when you mix an archer squirrel, a scholarly badger, a really fast sloth, and a bunch of unnecessary footnotes together in one book. Well here’s an opportunity to find out! Whether you read it to yourself, or aloud with your kids, you’ll enjoy this whimsically long short story. 

Accolades for The Search for Reath: Bronze Award Winner; Feathered Quill Book Award; Red Ribbon Winner; Wishing Shelf Awards; Finalist, National Indie Excellence Awards.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

D.L. Crawford Why did I love this book?

I read this book in the 7th grade. I immediately took it to school and read favorite passages aloud to any of my friends that would listen. I just thought the use of language was so clever, as was the way Adams introduces characters and situations in surrealistic fashion. There is a lot of the humor that went way over my middle school-aged head, but what landed was hilarious. I would eventually come to crave books that had more plot and grounded stories; but I have always loved Adams’ writing style. 

By Douglas Adams,

Why should I read it?

30 authors picked The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

This box set contains all five parts of the' trilogy of five' so you can listen to the complete tales of Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect, Zaphod Bebblebrox and Marvin the Paranoid Android! Travel through space, time and parallel universes with the only guide you'll ever need, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

Read by Stephen Fry, actor, director, author and popular audiobook reader, and Martin Freeman, who played Arthur Dent in film version of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. He is well known as Tim in The Office.

The set also includes a bonus DVD Life, the Universe and…


Book cover of The Chronicles of Narnia

D.L. Crawford Why did I love this book?

I read this when I was young, and then read the whole series again aloud with my daughter. I love the warmth in the storytelling, and the way the author sometimes speaks directly to the reader. It’s a fairy-tale that draws you in, with the children from Earth in the book travelling to a different world and having aspects of that world revealed gradually, another great aspect of the Christian analogy featured throughout the series.

By C. S. Lewis, Pauline Baynes (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

12 authors picked The Chronicles of Narnia as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Don’t miss one of America’s top 100 most-loved novels, selected by PBS’s The Great American Read.

Experience all seven tales of C. S. Lewis's classic fantasy series, The Chronicles of Narnia, in one impressive paperback volume!

Epic battles between good and evil, fantastic creatures, betrayals, heroic deeds, and friendships won and lost all come together in this unforgettable world, which has been enchanting readers of all ages for over sixty years.

This edition presents the seven books—The Magician's Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The…


Book cover of The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure

D.L. Crawford Why did I love this book?

I like the way Goldman plays around with fairy-tale tropes without getting too snarky or satirical. The famous movie adaptation of the book includes the framing device of a grandparent reading to a child.  This may have subliminally affected me, as I imagine parents, grandparents, uncles, and aunts reading my books to kids while chuckling to themselves, or tearing up, doing it. There are a lot of books for both adults and kids that are great to read to yourself, but can be tiresome to read aloud. I strive to make mine good for both. 

By William Goldman,

Why should I read it?

17 authors picked The Princess Bride as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

William Goldman’s beloved story of Buttercup, Westley, and their fellow adventurers.

This tale of true love, high adventure, pirates, princesses, giants, miracles, fencing, and a frightening assortment of wild beasts was unforgettably depicted in the 1987 film directed by Rob Reiner and starring Fred Savage, Robin Wright, and others. But, rich in character and satire, the novel boasts even more layers of ingenious storytelling. Set in 1941 and framed cleverly as an “abridged” retelling of a centuries-old tale set in the fabled country of Florin, home to “Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest…


Book cover of The Lord of the Rings

D.L. Crawford Why did I love this book?

When writing anything fantasy or fairy-tale-like, it’s hard to avoid the influence of Tolkien. He’s certainly an influence on me in world-building (as is Dune, Star Wars, and a host of others), but the main thing I think I’ve retained from multiple read-throughs of The Trilogy is the focus on maps. I loved looking at the maps that came with the books and imagined where the characters were in relation to everything else. They are integral to the story; even the film/TV adaptations rely heavily on them. As I’ve written more books, the map/geographical aspect of where the different terrain and resident societies are in relation to each other in my world of Aponna has taken a larger part in the storytelling. I hope to publish future books with beautiful, illustrated maps that show trails and paths of the characters, etc.

By J.R.R. Tolkien,

Why should I read it?

52 authors picked The Lord of the Rings as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 14, 15, 16, and 17.

What is this book about?

One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell by chance into the hands of the hobbit Bilbo Baggins.

From Sauron's fastness in the Dark Tower of…


Book cover of Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator

D.L. Crawford Why did I love this book?

Many are familiar with the hugely popular Chocolate Factory book and the films made about it. But I remember reading this lesser-known sequel in 4th grade, and then dressing up like Willy Wonka to do a book report presentation about it for class. I even included a “magic trick” with the hat. I liked that it furthered the original character’s adventures and got even sillier with the Vermicious Knid aliens, aging pills, and taking elevators into space. It stretches kids’ brains imaginatively and takes the story in the least predictable directions, which is something I strive to achieve in my writing.  

By Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

A splendiferous new hardback of Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, part of a collection of truly delumptious classic Roald Dahl titles with stylish jackets over surprise printed colour cases, and exquisite endpaper designs.
WHOOSH! Inside the Great Glass Elevator, Willy Wonka, Charlie Bucket and his family are cruising a thousand feet above the chocolate factory.
They can see the whole world below them, but they're not alone. The American Space Hotel has just launched. Lurking inside are the Vernicious Knids - the most brutal, vindictive murderous beasts in the universe.
So grab your gizzard! Hold your hats! Only Charlie…


You might also like...

Book cover of Wand

Landra Jennings Author Of Wand

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Overthinker Chocolate eater Mom Cautious adventurer

Landra's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val—who she still won’t call mom and still won’t forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can’t refuse: she will grant Mira three wishes. What if magic isn’t just pretend after all? What if these wishes could fix everything? But in the quiet town of Between, Georgia, where secrets lurk and rumors swirl of strange creatures, nothing is as it seems, and everything comes at a price

Wand

By Landra Jennings,

What is this book about?


A dazzling story of grief and found family wrapped in a spellbinding fairy tale, perfect for fans of Anne Ursu and Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val-who she still won't call mom and still won't forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears out of the woods wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can't refuse:…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in good and evil, Pirates, and extraterrestrial life?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about good and evil, Pirates, and extraterrestrial life.

Good And Evil Explore 129 books about good and evil
Pirates Explore 80 books about Pirates
Extraterrestrial Life Explore 211 books about extraterrestrial life