The best graphic novel with hilarious animal characters

Why am I passionate about this?

I am a big fan of two things… one is graphic novels and the other is funny stuff! When those two things come together I am in my zone. I read lots of graphic novels when I was a kid and I've never really stopped. They are a great part of anyone’s reading diet. Now I write funny graphic novels for kids with my writing partner Jol. We’ve written 20 books to date including The Underdogs series, but there’s more to come!


I wrote...

The Underdogs Serve It Up

By Kate Temple, Jol Temple, Shiloh Gordon (illustrator)

Book cover of The Underdogs Serve It Up

What is my book about?

It’s time for the biggest event in Dogtown’s sporting calendar! The Dogtown tennis Grand Slam! But wait, someone has stolen all the balls in Dogtown. This is a case for The Underdogs!

The Underdog Detective Agency has a proud tradition of sniffing out trouble… (and sniffing each other’s butts!) These dog detectives have a secret weapon… a cat! And in a down that’s gone to the dogs, you need a cat!

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Real Pigeons Fight Crime

Kate Temple Why did I love this book?

Have you even noticed how pigeons are everywhere and we don’t really notice them?

Wouldn’t they make the best spies and the best crime fighters? Well the authors of this book think so and so do I.

This is a funny, funny graphic novel. Super easy for young readers who are looking to move out of picture books and want something more substantial but also safe and hilarious.

By Andrew McDonald, Ben Wood (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Real Pigeons Fight Crime as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

It's a bird! It's a plane! It's-wait, it really IS a bird! Take another look, because what looks like an ordinary pigeon might just be a hero saving your butt! Meet the crime-fighting pigeons secretly flying around chasing bad guys in this hilarious illustrated series perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN.

What do REAL PIGEONS do? They fight crime, of course! Wait, what? You didn't know your town is protected by a secret squad of crime-fighting feathered friends? Well, you are about to get schooled. REAL PIGEONS solve mysteries! REAL PIGEONS fight bad guys! And REAL PIGEONS…


Book cover of The Bad Guys

Kate Temple Why did I love this book?

This is the first book in the series and what a series it is!

Super funny and I love the illustration style. This one is easy to read not too many words on the page but that doesn’t stop it from having a big personality and lots of action!

By Aaron Blabey,

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked The Bad Guys as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 7, 8, 9, and 10.

What is this book about?

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!

"I wish I'd had these books as a kid. Hilarious!" -- Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants and Dog ManThis New York Times bestselling illustrated series is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants.They sound like bad guys, they look like bad guys . . . and they even smell like bad guys. But Mr. Wolf, Mr. Piranha, Mr. Snake, and Mr. Shark are about to change all of that...Mr. Wolf has a daring plan for the Bad Guys' first good mission. They are going to break two hundred dogs out of the…


Book cover of Cat Kid Comic Club

Kate Temple Why did I love this book?

The follow up from the smash hit Dogman.

Like Dogman this is a really fun read. What I really like about this one thought is all the mini comics inside the book.

I also love how they are shot photographically and that makes the look of this book feel really different from Dogman too. 

By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Cat Kid Comic Club as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 7, 8, 9, and 10.

What is this book about?

The perfect present for DOG MAN fans - starring some
of your favourite characters from the series!
Welcome to the Cat Kid Comic Club, where Li'l
Petey (LP), Flippy, and Molly introduce twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented
baby frogs to the art of comic making.

As the story unwinds with mishaps and hilarity, readers get to
see the progress, mistakes, and improvements that come with practice
and persistence.

Squid Kid and Katydid, Baby
Frog Squad, Gorilla Cheese Sandwich,
and Birds Flowers Tree: A Haiku Photo Comic
are just some of the mini-comics that are included as stories-within-the-story,
each done in…


Book cover of Otto: A Palindrama

Kate Temple Why did I love this book?

This graphic novel isn't just funny and odd it's pure genius.

The entire story is written in palindrome I guess that's why they call it a 'palin-drama'! It's all about this boy called Otto who goes looking for his lost pet Pip.

The places he goes and the weird folks he meets are very absurd and delightful. This book is gold.

By Jon Agee, Jon Agee (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Otto as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 9, 10, 11, and 12.

What is this book about?

This absurdly clever and funny graphic novel, told entirely in palindromes, is created by World Palindrome Champion Jon Agee, author of Go Hang a Salami! I'm a Lasagna Hog!

Otto is having a very palindramatic day. His pet, Pip, has gone missing, and his search for the dog leads him deeper and deeper into a strange and perplexing world--full of talking owls, stacks of cats, storms and mazes, boats and trains and automobiles . . . oh my! Everything seems to be the same backward and forward, and Pip isn't sure he'll ever find his way home to Mom and…


Book cover of Pawcasso

Kate Temple Why did I love this book?

This one has a human in it but also a dog – the world’s cutest and sweetest dog Pawcasso.

So it’s not as side-splitting as my other recommendation but after all that laughing you’ll need to settle down with this heart-warming tale or should I say tail!

This is a story all about friendship and belonging and it will make you feel terrific! 

By Remy Lai,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Pawcasso as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

Remy Lai, the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky makes her middle-grade graphic novel debut, Pawcasso, about the unexpected friendship between the loneliest girl in class and the coolest canine in town.

A Booklist Editors' Choice Winner for 2021, Amazon Best Book of the Month, New York Public Library Best Book of the Year, and Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" ―Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping list, and cash in paw to buy groceries for his family. One…


You might also like...

Funny Folk Tales for Children

By Allison Galbraith,

Book cover of Funny Folk Tales for Children

Allison Galbraith Author Of Funny Folk Tales for Children

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

I'm a storyteller and folktale collector. All my jobs have involved telling stories – as a community librarian, in theatre, in education, and since 2006 as a professional storyteller and writer. I work in schools, festivals, and outdoor education with all sorts of people and their animals. I have honed my skills to find the most enjoyable traditional tales that can be shared widely. I live in Scotland, where I encourage families to read and tell their favourite stories together. Storytelling is a living art form that belongs to everyone. More than anything, I love the natural world, and I bring the magnificence of nature into all my work.

Allison's book list on world folktales for reading to everyone over six

What is my book about?

These are the funniest folktales in the world. You will be amazed at the intelligent animals and LOL at the ridiculous scrapes the humans get themselves into in these short stories. Discover why dogs are our best friends, learn how to change a cow into a zombie, and meet a shape-shifting, cartwheeling raccoon dog.

Suitable for reading age 7+. This book is perfect for storytime & reading together at bedtime and holidays. These stories will cheer even the grumpiest grandparent up :).

Funny Folk Tales for Children

By Allison Galbraith,

What is this book about?

'It's the best present you can give. It never breaks and doesn't need batteries. What is it?'

The answer is inside THIS BOOK!

Eleven of the funniest traditional tales from around the world. Laugh your socks off as you discover why dogs are our best friends, learn how to flummox fairies, and meet a shape-shifting, cartwheeling badger.


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in dogs, heroes, and Anthrozoology?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about dogs, heroes, and Anthrozoology.

Dogs Explore 402 books about dogs
Heroes Explore 105 books about heroes
Anthrozoology Explore 132 books about Anthrozoology