The best crime novels featuring flawed detectives

Who am I?

I’ve always read and loved crime fiction – so much so I did a doctorate in it. I believe good crime fiction has the capacity to explore particular societies, places, and times in interesting and enjoyable ways. I also like crime fiction’s focus on character, and particularly in crime series which show a character evolving over time. That’s why I chose the theme of ‘flawed detective’ and that’s what I’m trying to do in my Schalk Lourens series, of which Present Tense is the first. I hope you enjoy it, and also the other books I’ve recommended here.


I wrote...

Present Tense: A Schalk Lourens Mystery

By Natalie Conyer,

Book cover of Present Tense: A Schalk Lourens Mystery

What is my book about?

Present Tense is a police procedural set in present-day South Africa, in Cape Town. Schalk Lourens, a cop with a past he’s ashamed of, must investigate the murder of his ex-boss, an execution that recalls the bad old days of apartheid. His investigation is made more difficult by the tensions of post-apartheid society. Schalk must tread a line between the new regime and the old, between personal and professional, between justice and revenge.

Present Tense won the 2020 Ned Kelly Award for a debut novel and was shortlisted for the Davitt Awards. The Sydney Morning Herald called it "superbly structured" and with a "cast of engaging characters."

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

Christine Falls

By Benjamin Black,

Book cover of Christine Falls

Why this book?

Christine Falls is the first in a series of crime novels by Booker-winning author John Banville, writing as Benjamin Black. The novels are set in Ireland in the 1950s and they feature Quirke, a misanthropic, hard-drinking, depressive pathologist. All the novels in the series are master classes in how to manage setting, character, and language. All of them are great reads. I’ve chosen Christine Falls because it’s the first in the series. It starts with a presumed suicide and widens to feature corruption and betrayal by family, church, and state.

Christine Falls

By Benjamin Black,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Christine Falls as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Police at the Station and They Don't Look Friendly: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel

By Adrian McKinty,

Book cover of Police at the Station and They Don't Look Friendly: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel

Why this book?

Ireland again, this time in the 80s, and right in the middle of the Troubles. Adrian McKinty’s cop, Sean Duffy, is an outsider, a Catholic in a Protestant police force. He’s irreverent, sarcastic, bitter, and a more than occasional drug user. In Police at the Station (6th in the series) Duffy investigates the murder of a small-time heroin dealer, who’s been shot by a crossbow. Meanwhile his posh girlfriend wants to move…the Sean Duffy novels are tough, funny, exciting, and extremely well done. Enjoy!

Police at the Station and They Don't Look Friendly: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel

By Adrian McKinty,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Police at the Station and They Don't Look Friendly as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Thirteen Hours: A Benny Griessel Novel

By Deon Meyer, K.L. Seegers (translator),

Book cover of Thirteen Hours: A Benny Griessel Novel

Why this book?

Deon Meyer is one of South Africa’s best crime writers, and this novel is the second in a series featuring policeman Benny Griessel. Benny is a good cop and an ordinary guy. He’s also an alcoholic and his drinking has destroyed his family. Thirteen Hours is set in Cape Town and the action, as the title suggests, spans thirteen hours. A backpacker goes missing and the cops must find her before the bad guys do. It’s an edge-of-the-seat ride and I promise you’ll be cheering Benny on.

Thirteen Hours: A Benny Griessel Novel

By Deon Meyer, K.L. Seegers (translator),

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked Thirteen Hours as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A Sunday Times '100 best crime novels and thrillers since 1945' pick!

Shortlisted for the CWA International Dagger Award 2010

They killed her best friend. Now they are chasing Rachel Anderson through the streets of Cape Town. The young tourist doesn't dare trust anyone - except her father, back home in America. When he puts pressure on the politicians, they know that to protect their country's image, they must find Rachel's hiding place before the killers.

So Benny Griessel - detective, maverick and father of teenagers himself - has just 13 hours to crack open a conspiracy which threatens the…


Bad Debts

By Peter Temple,

Book cover of Bad Debts

Why this book?

Peter Temple wasn’t just a good crime writer; he was a master storyteller. He’s my crime writing hero and I strongly recommend all his books, but as a ‘flawed detective’ it’s hard to go past his series starring Jack Irish and set in Melbourne, Australia. A former attorney, Irish went to pieces after the murder of his wife and now makes a living doing odd jobs like recovering debts. 

In Bad Debts, the first in the series, one of Irish’s clients calls him for help and by the time he answers, the client’s been murdered. Irish is emotionally damaged, an outsider. It’s hard-boiled crime, full of black humour, and featuring a wonderful array of Australian characters.

Bad Debts

By Peter Temple,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Bad Debts as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

THE AWARD-WINNING DEBUT NOVEL, AND FIRST JACK IRISH THRILLER, FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BROKEN SHORE AND TRUTH.

'Put simply, Temple is a master' John Harvey

'Great locations, hard-nosed dialogue and a twisting plot . . . super entertainment' Evening Standard

Jack Irish doesn't spook too easy. He's had guns pointed at him too many times - more often since he started hiring himself out as a debt collector - and he saves his nerves for the racetrack. So when he receives a phone message from an ex-client begging for help, he's inclined to ignore it. It's not an acquaintance…


Gaudy Night

By Dorothy L. Sayers,

Book cover of Gaudy Night

Why this book?

Finally, a female flawed detective! Gaudy Night was published in 1935. It’s the tenth in the series featuring Lord Peter Wimsey and the third featuring the woman he loves, Harriet Vane. It’s set in a women’s college at Oxford University. The dons have called Harriet in to help find out who’s sending poison pen letters and vandalizing the college. Harriet, who was charged and acquitted of her lover’s murder (Strong Poison) feels unable to return Wimsey’s love. Nevertheless she seeks his help and together they solve the case. 

Yes, the society depicted here is outdated, and Sayers’ reverence for Wimsey overdone; but this feminist story is a must-read for any crime fiction fan. It’s very, very good.  

Gaudy Night

By Dorothy L. Sayers,

Why should I read it?

6 authors picked Gaudy Night as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .

At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in private investigators, murder, and criminal investigations?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about private investigators, murder, and criminal investigations.

Private Investigators Explore 160 books about private investigators
Murder Explore 434 books about murder
Criminal Investigations Explore 237 books about criminal investigations

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like My Sister, the Serial Killer, The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, and Pure if you like this list.