The most empowering books for kids

Who am I?

As a children's book writer, I want my books to be infused with S.T.E.A.M (science, technology, engineering, art, and science), imaginative adventure, and empowering words. These 3 elements are important for cultivating their minds. Great inventions and discoveries have come from people who were curious. I believe that it's our responsibility as parents to expose them to new interests and speak empowering words to their developing minds. Parents play a key role in how their children see themselves. I hope that my books encourage unity, spark the imagination, build strong parent-child relationships, initiate dialogue, and promote learning.


I wrote...

Bryla's Amazing Imagination: Bryla Visits the Moon

By LaTasha Reynolds, Mo Raad (illustrator),

Book cover of Bryla's Amazing Imagination: Bryla Visits the Moon

What is my book about?

Bryla Visits the Moon is centered on a 6-year-old little girl named Bryla who has a natural fascination for astronomy. Each night, Bryla's fascination grows stronger for the Moon and playing games of hide-and-seek just isn't enough. Bryla desires to visit the Moon but doesn't know how to reach the galaxy from her suburban home. After explaining her desires to her mother, she teaches Bryla the importance of using her imagination to make dreams come true.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of I Like Myself!

LaTasha Reynolds Why did I love this book?

"I like my eyes, my ears, my nose. I like my fingers and my toes. I like me wild. I like me tame. I like me different and the same."

Saying "I like" something about myself is self-affirmation. This book is special to me because this is the first book I read to my daughter during my pregnancy. I remember receiving this book from a dear friend at my baby shower. I always knew that words are powerful, especially words from parents or guardians. Our words promote cognitive functioning. I used this book as the foundation to start incorporating positive reinforcement into my daughter through self-esteem, self-acceptance, and self-love. Besides the message, I love the wild and colorful illustrations.

By Karen Beaumont, David Catrow (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked I Like Myself! as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?



High on energy and imagination, this ode to self-esteem encourages kids to appreciate everything about themselves—inside and out. Messy hair? Beaver breath? So what! Here's a little girl who knows what really matters.      At once silly and serious, Karen Beaumont's joyous rhyming text and David Catrow's wild illustrations unite in a book that is sassy, soulful . . . and straight from the heart. The sturdy board book is just right for little hands.


Book cover of The Night Is Yours

LaTasha Reynolds Why did I love this book?

"This is your night, my Amani!" The dark skies are still full of your laughter and joy, even though they get quieter as your friends go inside one by one." 

Do you love observing the night? It's something about the night that's peaceful and beautiful. I enjoy reading this story from the perspective of a father watching his daughter gain her independence and using melodic metaphors to empower her existence. Personally, I love reading literature that compares nature's beauty to something we adore...our child. I believe this is why I connected to this story and I know other parents will too. This is a delightful read-aloud to share with your child for many nights.

By Abdul-Razak Zachariah, Keturah A. Bobo (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Night Is Yours as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 3, 4, 5, and 6.

What is this book about?

Little one, so calm and so happy, the darkness of the night is yours like the darkness of your skin.

This lyrical text, narrated to a young girl named Amani by her father, follows her as she plays an evening game of hide-and-seek with friends at her apartment complex. The moon's glow helps Amani find the last hidden child, and seems almost like a partner to her in her game, as well as a spotlight pointing out her beauty and strength.

This is a gorgeous bedtime read-aloud about joy and family love and community, and most of all about feeling…


Book cover of All Because You Matter

LaTasha Reynolds Why did I love this book?

"Long before you took your place in this world, you were dreamed of, like a knapsack full of wishes, carried on the backs of your ancestors as they created empires, pyramids, legacies."

The lyrical reading gives appreciation and celebrates the importance of being acknowledged. Despite the challenges a child may face, they need to know that they matter. As a parent, we are our child's #1 fan and cheerleader. How do you let your child know that they matter? This book embodies this message and delivers it with grace. Plant these powerful words in the mind of your child.

By Bryan Collier, Tami Charles (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked All Because You Matter as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 4, 5, 6, and 7.

What is this book about?

A lyrical, heart-lifting love letter to black and brown
children everywhere.
Discover this poignant, timely
and emotionally stirring picture book, an ode
to black and brown children everywhere that is full of hope,
assurance and love.

Tami Charles pens a poetic, lyrical text that is part love letter,
part anthem, assuring readers that they always have,
and always will, matter.

Accompanied by illustrations by renowned artist Bryan Collier,
All Because You Matter empowers readers
with pride, joy and comfort,
reminding them of their roots and strengthening
them for the days to come.

Lyrical, personal and full of love, All Because…


Book cover of Sulwe

LaTasha Reynolds Why did I love this book?

"Sulwe felt beautiful inside and out."

As kids become socially involved with other kids, it's natural for them to notice similarities and differences. Navigating our kid's feelings and curiosity are critical through communication. As a parent, I am adamant about establishing a parent-child relationship built on positive words. Journey with Sulwe as she learns the importance of self-love and appreciating differences. Lessons such as these are invaluable.

By Lupita Nyong'o, Vashti Harrison (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked Sulwe as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 4, 5, 6, and 7.

What is this book about?

From Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong'o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colourism, self-esteem and learning that true beauty comes from within.

Sulwe's skin is the colour of midnight. She's darker than everyone in her family, and everyone at school.

All she wants is to be beautiful and bright, like her mother and sister.

Then a magical journey through the night sky opens her eyes and changes everything.

In this stunning debut picture book, Lupita Nyong'o creates a whimsical and heartwarming story to inspire children to see their own unique beauty.


Book cover of I Am Enough

LaTasha Reynolds Why did I love this book?

I wish I could shield my daughter from all the rejections that the world has to offer, but I can't. Her father and I must teach her that she is enough and that it is critical to find value in knowing that. That's why I love the message in this book. You don't have to change or be something that you aren't...all you need is to be unapologetically you. Encourage your child to shine bright because they are wonderfully made.

By Grace Byers, Keturah A. Bobo (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

4 authors picked I Am Enough as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 4, 5, 6, and 7.

What is this book about?

A #1 New York Times bestseller and Goodreads Choice Awards picture book winner! This is the perfect gift for mothers and daughters, baby showers, and graduation.

This gorgeous, lyrical ode to loving who you are, respecting others, and being kind to one another comes from Empire actor and activist Grace Byers and talented newcomer artist Keturah A. Bobo.

We are all here for a purpose. We are more than enough. We just need to believe it.

Plus don't miss I Believe I Can-the next beautiful picture celebrating self-esteem from Grace Byers and Keturah A. Bobo!


You might also like...

The City Sings Green & Other Poems About Welcoming Wildlife

By Erica Silverman, Ginnie Hsu (illustrator),

Book cover of The City Sings Green & Other Poems About Welcoming Wildlife

Erica Silverman Author Of Wake Up, City!

New book alert!

Who am I?

I am an award-winning author of picture books and early readers. I have set my stories in many kinds of locations, including a haunted house, an Eastern European shtetl, an English Renaissance village, and a working cattle ranch. For Wake Up, City, I turned to the setting I know best, the city. I drew on memories of walking to kindergarten in early morning Brooklyn. This book is my love song to cities everywhere. As a lifelong city dweller, I worry about the impact of urban spread on the planet, but I feel hopeful, too, because many cities are becoming more nature and wildlife-friendly. The books I'm excited to share celebrate city wildlife. 

Erica's book list on celebrating cities

What is my book about?

A unique and artful blend of poetry, science, and activism, this picture book shows how city dwellers can intervene so that nature can work her magic.

In Oslo, Norway: citizens create a honeybee highway that stretches from one side of the city to the other, offering flowerpots, resting spots, bee boxes, and beehives—even water fountains—every eight hundred feet.

In the Bronx, New York: a community rallies to clean their river and cheers at the return of the long-lost beaver population.

In Busselton, Australia: people make a rope bridge that swings high above speeding cars, creating a safe path for tree-hopping possums and squirrels alike.

Through a mix of lyrical poems, real-life success stories, and bouquet-bright artwork, The City Sings Green explores the environmental impact of humans and showcases the many ways that we can rewild cities across the globe. Together, we can welcome nature back!

The City Sings Green & Other Poems About Welcoming Wildlife

By Erica Silverman, Ginnie Hsu (illustrator),

What is this book about?

A unique and artful blend of poetry, science, and activism, this picture book shows how city dwellers can intervene so that nature can work her magic. Perfect for fans of The Curious Garden and Harlem Grown.

In Oslo, Norway: citizens create a honey-bee highway that stretches from one side of the city to the other, offering flowerpots, resting spots, bee boxes and beehives-even water fountains-every 800 feet.

In the Bronx, New York: a community rallies to clean their river and cheers at the return of the long-lost beaver population.

In Busselton, Australia: people make a rope bridge that swings high…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in self esteem, black people, and Kenya?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about self esteem, black people, and Kenya.

Self Esteem Explore 94 books about self esteem
Black People Explore 68 books about black people
Kenya Explore 51 books about Kenya