The best books to bring magic into your daily life

Who am I?

I have a Walter Mitty view of the world. If I were a movie character, I would be Edward Bloom, in Big Fish. I have been a lawyer in the entertainment industry for almost four decades. As a result of my personality and profession, my books mix fantasy, science fiction, and the mystical into our everyday world, and I do it in a way that makes you wonder if what I’m telling you is true, causes you to hope it is true and compels you to wish you could join in the adventures.    


I wrote...

The Wise Ass

By Tom McCaffrey,

Book cover of The Wise Ass

What is my book about?

After his brothers are murdered, a New York mob lawyer testifies against his associates and is forced to enter WITSEC (the Witness Protection Program). He and his wife are relocated to a small town in Colorado where they remain under the continuing threat of mafia reprisal. Reflexively resisting all things country, this life-long city boy meets and adopts a loquacious mule and befriends his closest neighbors, who have even greater secrets to conceal.

A renegade US Marshall, a lesbian couple that includes a powerful psychic-medium-witch and an ex-army ranger completes his new circle of friends. When the mob associates are released due to the lawyer's intentionally prejudicial testimony at trial, they come gunning for him before the retrial can occur.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Managed Care

Tom McCaffrey Why did I love this book?

The Celt in me loves Dark Humor. Managed Care is one of the funniest Dark Humor books I have ever read. 

The dialogue is amazing, the characters fully developed and the story unique. Incredibly fast read. There is a poignancy to the story, and you cannot help but root for everything to work itself out for the characters.  

By Joe Barrett,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Managed Care as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

"Funniest book I've ever read." –Tom McCaffrey, bestselling author of The Wise Ass

Is it too much to ask that a managed care facility refund a year's advance payment when your grandfather dies before he can move in?

Frank Johnson doesn't think so, which is why the thirty-three-year-old now lives in a nursing home, locked in a chess match feud with management that doesn't occupy nearly enough of his time.

When foster kid Elroy is thrust into his life, Frank decides to turn this forced relationship to his advantage - launching a string of absurd decisions, inappropriate behaviors and unexpected…


Book cover of The Memories of Eskar Wilde

Tom McCaffrey Why did I love this book?

This is one of the best books I have ever read. 

The writing is superb, the story clever and interesting and the settings diverse and beautiful. I love the characters and their inter and intra-family dynamics. And then there is a magical cat named Brie. 

The writing draws you into each scene and you feel like you are another person in the room as the story unfolds.     

By E H Wilde,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Memories of Eskar Wilde as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Perfect for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafón's The Shadow of the Wind and Ocean Vuong's On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous, E.H Wilde's memoir-styled literary fiction debut, The Memories of Eskar Wilde, is a coming-of-age tale of secrets and discovery, love and loss, and guilt and penance. 

I'm no author. I don't know how to structure my "story" in a conventional way, though I am now inclined to tell it. If you possess sufficient patience and a willingness to forgive my amateurish storytelling, I'll explain to you how I came to be in a small Paris apartment on my eighteenth birthday,…


Book cover of Passport to Terror: A Time Travel Adventure

Tom McCaffrey Why did I love this book?

A time travel book that is clever and fast paced. Spoiled Hollywood types.

A trip back to Victorian London and a fateful meeting with Jack The Ripper. What’s not to love? As a matter of fact, I loved the female lead, Madison Taylor, so much that I included her (with permission) as a cross-over character in my latest novel, Finding Jimmy Moran.

Enough said.  

By Christy Cooper-Burnett,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Passport to Terror as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

What really happened to Jack the Ripper?

They always say, "Be careful what you wish for."

I wish I had been careful.

I could've easily sold my time travel machine for billions and walked away. Instead, I opened The Taylor Travel Group where I take the elite on vacations into history, to a time and place of their choice.

But when a big-time movie studio hired my company, I sold my soul.

What was supposed to be a few days of method-actor immersion in nineteenth-century London went horribly awry. Now America's hottest starlet is dead, and Jack the Ripper is…


Book cover of Woodstock Goes to Hollywood

Tom McCaffrey Why did I love this book?

Woodstock Goes To Hollywood is a charming and wonderful book.

It can be read by any age group and shared among generations of readers. It is Winnie the Pooh for this generation. The main character is adorable and has that good-hearted naivete that causes you to instantly bond with him and root for his success. 

The story has lots of funny twists and turns and lots of interesting characters. It will most likely become one of those literary legacies that are handed down from one generation to another and is primed to be a successful series. 

Book cover of License to Die

Tom McCaffrey Why did I love this book?

This is the latest in a series that is a clever parody of the James Bond series of books by Ian Fleming. 

Haris Orkin is an excellent writer who has built this series around his charming protagonist, James Flynn, who you cannot tell if he is crazy or has the deepest and most brilliant cover story imaginable – a patient in a psychiatric hospital.

While it is told with a tongue firmly planted in cheek, there is plenty of real action and adventure. It is a great escape from the mundane everyday life.     

By Haris Orkin,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked License to Die as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Hornitos State Mental Hospital houses the worst of the worst. Those convicted of violent criminal behavior and judged not guilty by reason of insanity. Mass murderers, serial killers, mad bombers, arsonists, terrorists, and now... James Flynn. Still convinced he's an international super spy, Flynn finds himself in the most dangerous predicament of his life.

He faces off with old enemies, new enemies, and psycho killers who just want to watch the world burn. He also meets a fierce and beautiful woman who might be even more dangerous and delusional than he is.

Together they walk a tightrope between objective reality…


You might also like...

The River of Eternity

By Bruce Balfour,

Book cover of The River of Eternity

Bruce Balfour

New book alert!

What is my book about?

1184 BCE. Ramesses III, who will become the last of the great pharaohs, is returning home from battle. He will one day assume the throne of the Egyptian empire, and the plots against him and his children have already started. Even a god can die.

Ray was raised with the teenage children of Ramesses as their friend, but his own mysterious past exposes him to threats inside and outside of the Egyptian court. When a prince is killed, Ray is framed for the murder and must run to protect Bull, the oldest son of Ramesses. So begins Ray’s dangerous journey from the snake pit of royal palace intrigue into a violent world of treachery and enemies that will take years to conquer if he can survive.

The River of Eternity

By Bruce Balfour,

What is this book about?

From the national bestselling author of The Forge of Mars and The Digital Dead, an Ancient Egyptian epic adventure thriller series, based on real events, for fans of Wilbur Smith, Steven Saylor, and Paul Doherty.

This is the first book of a series leading up to the event known as The Harem Conspiracy, the assassination of Pharaoh Ramesses III in New Kingdom Egypt (1184 BCE), which was led by members of his own family. Details were drawn from the first recorded judicial trial transcript ever recovered (Judicial Papyrus of Turin plus other fragments of the original papyrus).


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Hollywood, Jack the Ripper, and James Bond?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Hollywood, Jack the Ripper, and James Bond.

Hollywood Explore 119 books about Hollywood
Jack The Ripper Explore 20 books about Jack the Ripper
James Bond Explore 28 books about James Bond