The best humorous books about adult female friendships

Why am I passionate about this?

When writing about friendships, it was important for me to highlight the highs and the lows of friendships. This approach takes the reader on a journey with the main character as she remembers the good times while she navigates through the tough times. By sprinkling in humor, a story that could sway to the serious side and stay there is suddenly entertaining and balanced, giving the main character’s plight depth and the reader an engrossing experience.  


I wrote...

The Friendship Breakup

By Annie Cathryn,

Book cover of The Friendship Breakup

What is my book about?

Fallon Monroe, mother of one, self-help book junkie, and budding chocolatier, has always relied on her mom friends in the Chicago suburbs to get her through the trials of adulthood. So when her bestie Beatrice inexplicably starts ghosting her and takes all their mutual friends with her, Fallon’s left wondering how everything went so wrong. Pushing down a lifetime of insecurities, Fallon doubles down and decides to win them back. 

Just when she’s about to throw in the towel on the whole friendship mess, Fallon reads a recently unearthed letter she’d refused to deal with decades earlier—and reading it forces her to finally face the deep-seated fears she’d desperately tried to bury. Now, looking at her friendships through fresh eyes, she must decide between hanging on and letting go.
Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Welcome to the Neighborhood

Annie Cathryn Why did I love this book?

Welcome to the Neighborhood explores the complexities of forming adult friendships after moving into a new neighborhood and encountering an already established circle of friends.

I’ve felt like a fish out of water in a similar situation, and this story is eerily relatable.

I laughed and teared up too. This book gave me all the feels.

It’s an amazing debut about standing up for yourself, finding your tribe, and living a life that feels right to you. 

By Lisa Roe,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Welcome to the Neighborhood as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A heartwarming and life-affirming story of family dynamics, mother/daughter relationships, and second chances-perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Abbi Waxman.
After years of struggling to make ends meet, Brooklyn single mom Ginny falls for sweet, divorced Jeff, and relishes the idea of moving with her quirky eleven-year-old daughter Harri to his home in an upscale New Jersey suburb. Though she's never been impressed by material things, she is thrilled that getting a second chance at love comes with the added bonus of finally giving Harri everything she never could before.
And then she meets the neighbors.
Ginny is quickly…


Book cover of For the Love of Friends

Annie Cathryn Why did I love this book?

For the Love of Friends is a fun and humorous book that delves into friendships and how the dynamics shift when friends become bridesmaids.

Throughout the years, I’ve been a bridesmaid in numerous weddings and this story rang true for me, especially trying not to get caught up in any drama. I remember some friends of the brides taking strides to prove who is the better friend.

I couldn’t put this book down with all the jaw-dropping scenes, snark, and the lengths friends will go for love

By Sara Goodman Confino,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked For the Love of Friends as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A sharp and hilariously relatable novel about the business of weddings, the toll they can take, and the lengths one exasperated bridesmaid will go to for the love of friends.

Lily Weiss is her mother's worst nightmare: thirty-two and single-the horror! She's also a talented writer but hides behind a boring job at a science foundation. To her friends, she's reliable and selfless, which is how she winds up a bridesmaid in five weddings in six weeks. Anything for her three best friends and two (younger) siblings, right? Even if her own love life is...well, she'd rather not talk about…


Book cover of Firefly Lane

Annie Cathryn Why did I love this book?

Firefly Lane is a beautiful story of a friendship that spans three decades.

Tully and Kate have been through so much together—a wild roller coaster ride of a friendship. It’s a touching look at the promises, secrets, and sacrifices that bond the two.

A powerful story of treasured friends that made me think of my best friend who I’ve been friends with for thirty years as well.

We’ve had our ups and downs too, but we have always found our way back to each other.

By Kristin Hannah,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Firefly Lane as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From the New York Times bestselling author Kristin Hannah comes a powerful novel of love, loss, and the magic of friendship. . . . now a #1 Netflix series!

In the turbulent summer of 1974, Kate Mularkey has accepted her place at the bottom of the eighth-grade social food chain. Then, to her amazement, the "coolest girl in the world" moves in across the street and wants to be her friend. Tully Hart seems to have it all---beauty, brains, ambition. On the surface they are as opposite as two people can be: Kate, doomed to be forever uncool, with a…


Book cover of The Restoration of Celia Fairchild

Annie Cathryn Why did I love this book?

I loved every minute of this book.

This is the type of book you read with tabbies and attach them to all the amazing lines that strike a chord with you.

Set in charming Charleston, this story is about community, friendship, and self-discovery. It’s heartwarming, endearing, and packs an emotional punch.

By Marie Bostwick,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Restoration of Celia Fairchild as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

"The Restoration of Celia Fairchild is wise, witty, and utterly compelling." -Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of The Friends We Keep

Evvie Drake Starts Over meets The Friday Night Knitting Club in this wise and witty novel about a fired advice columnist who discovers lost and found family members in Charleston, by the New York Times bestselling author of The Second Sister.

Celia Fairchild, known as advice columnist 'Dear Calpurnia', has insight into everybody's problems - except her own. Still bruised by the end of a marriage she thought was her last chance to create a family, Celia…


Book cover of Brunch and Other Obligations

Annie Cathryn Why did I love this book?

This book has such an intriguing and powerful premise.

Molly is best friends with three women who are seemingly different. These three frenemies have only one thing in common and that is their mutual friend Molly.

When Molly passes away, her last wish is for these women to meet for brunch once a month for a year.

It’s the mysterious gifts Molly leaves each of them that leads them on a journey of self-discovery and exhibits how much Molly understood each of her friends.

And a standing brunch date may be more beneficial than they think.

By Suzanne Nugent,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Brunch and Other Obligations as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

"Poignant, funny, and smart, Brunch and Other Obligations is a must-have for contemporary women's fiction shelves. Readers will want to watch for what Nugent does next."
-Booklist

"A thoroughly upbeat and fully entertaining novel from cover to cover."
-Midwest Book Review

"Brunch and Other Obligations is women's fiction at its finest! A tender, witty, heartfelt novel that had me laughing out loud in one chapter and reaching for tissues in the next. With humor, heart, and hope, Nugent reminds us that, once in a lifetime, if we're very, very lucky, we just might find a friend who knows us better…


You might also like...

The Woman at the Wheel

By Penny Haw,

Book cover of The Woman at the Wheel

Penny Haw Author Of The Invincible Miss Cust

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

Author Storyteller Dog walker Dreamer Runner Reader

Penny's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Inspiring historical fiction based on the real life of Bertha Benz, whose husband built the first prototype automobile, which eventually evolved into the Mercedes-Benz marque.

"Unfortunately, only a girl again."

From a young age, Cäcilie Bertha Ringer is fascinated by her father's work as a master builder in Pforzheim, Germany. But those five words, which he wrote next to her name in the family Bible, haunt Bertha.

Years later, Bertha meets Carl Benz and falls in love—with him and his extraordinary dream of building a horseless carriage. Bertha has such faith in him that she invests her dowry in his…

The Woman at the Wheel

By Penny Haw,

What is this book about?

Inspiring historical fiction based on the real life of Bertha Benz, whose husband built the first prototype automobile, which eventually evolved into the Mercedes-Benz marque.

"Unfortunately, only a girl again."

From a young age, Cacilie Bertha Ringer is fascinated by her father's work as a master builder in Pforzheim, Germany. But those five words, which he wrote next to her name in the family Bible, haunt Bertha.

Years later, Bertha meets Carl Benz and falls in love-with him and his extraordinary dream of building a horseless carriage. Bertha has such faith in him that she invests her dowry in his…


Topics
  • Coming soon!

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in female friendship, best friends, and New Jersey?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about female friendship, best friends, and New Jersey.

Female Friendship Explore 125 books about female friendship
Best Friends Explore 82 books about best friends
New Jersey Explore 74 books about New Jersey