The best children’s books about grief and not facing it alone

Linda Oatman High Author Of One Amazing Elephant
By Linda Oatman High

Who am I?

I have passion for the topic of grief among middle-school-aged children, as I struggled with my grief when I was ten and my beloved grandmother died. My dad came from a very large family, and so other relatives passed during my childhood, with me always dealing with feelings of confusion after the loss. I think that children need to know that they are not alone when they are facing a loss, whether it be of a human or a pet.


I wrote...

One Amazing Elephant

By Linda Oatman High,

Book cover of One Amazing Elephant

What is my book about?

A poignant middle-grade animal story from talented author Linda Oatman High that will appeal to fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan. In this heartwarming novel, a girl and an elephant face the same devastating loss—and slowly realize that they share the same powerful love.

Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn’t love the circus—and the circus is their life. She’s perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather’s beloved elephant, Queenie Grace. Then Grandpa Bill dies, and both Lily and Queenie Grace are devastated. When Lily travels to Florida for the funeral, she keeps her distance from the elephant. But the two are mourning the same man—and form a bond born of loss. And when Queenie Grace faces danger, Lily must come up with a plan to help save her friend.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

Missing May

By Cynthia Rylant,

Book cover of Missing May

Why this book?

My all-time favorite middle-grade novel about grief. The recipient of the 1993 Newbery Medal, Missing May holds up for today’s readers. No matter how many times I read this beautiful little book, I sob at certain points in the story. Rylant takes the reader through every stage of grief, and the emotions are relatable to those of all ages. Whirligigs, gardens, and grief...they blend together gorgeously in this sparse and poetic novel. As someone who’s always looking for a sign after someone I love dies, I related with Rylant’s protagonist Summer and her desperate search for a sign from May.


The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

By Dan Gemeinhart,

Book cover of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

Why this book?

One of the best children’s books I’ve read in the past few years, this book takes the reader on a remarkable journey along with the finely-drawn characters. I’m a big fan of books that include misfit travelers who become family, and this novel has a great cast of them. The main character Coyote learns that going home can be a grueling journey after the grief of losing a loved one, but that it can be a worthwhile and healing trip.

In my own life experiences: my dad and stepmom Annette built a fairy-tale log cabin with their own hands, and the house is a symbol of family and love for me. Dad passed in 2015 and Annette just passed, 3 days before Christmas, 2021. Every time I drive past that log house they built, I weep. But now, after reading of Coyote Sunrise going home, I’ve decided that one day before too long, I will stop and ask to take a look inside the house, where a family with children now makes their home.


The Thing About Jellyfish

By Ali Benjamin,

Book cover of The Thing About Jellyfish

Why this book?

As someone who’s lost many friends through the years, I can totally relate to Benjamin’s main character Suzy and her search for meaning after losing her best friend. Questioning death and the “why” of it, Suzy believes that things don’t just happen for no reason. I love how the author incorporates the agony of grief with the wonder of the universe, and I think that readers of all ages will enjoy this beautiful and hopeful book.


Many Points of Me

By Caroline Gertler,

Book cover of Many Points of Me

Why this book?

Another middle-grade novel that includes a journey in a search for meaning after grief, Caroline Gertler’s book is also about the beauty of self-discovery. In a search for her father (and his artwork) the main character Georgia finally finds herself...as well as healing, hope, and family. In the end, Georgia learns that “home” is where she belongs, with the people who love her no matter what. A story not only about grief but about unconditional love, Gertler’s novel is a lovely one for those wondering about a lost parent.


Counting by 7s

By Holly Goldberg Sloan,

Book cover of Counting by 7s

Why this book?

This beautifully written book about Willow, an outsider who is dealing with the loss of her adoptive parents, is one of healing and hope. A diverse and multicultural cast of characters grace the pages of Sloan’s novel, with a resolution of renewal and found family for Willow. I love stories of found family with non-biological ties, and Counting by 7s is a good one for readers of all ages.


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in grief, gardening, and West Virginia?

5,888 authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about grief, gardening, and West Virginia.

Grief Explore 55 books about grief
Gardening Explore 68 books about gardening
West Virginia Explore 21 books about West Virginia

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Anne of Green Gables, Esperanza Rising, and This One Summer if you like this list.