The best animal children’s books that teaches good morals and values

Who am I?

I’m a Filipino illustrator who draws children’s books for both publishers and for private commissions. I also have been reading children’s books as part of my job. My go-to children's stories are often about animals and nature. I hope you'll like the books on this list as much as I do!


I wrote...

The Puppy Who Lost His Woof

By Niccolo Alvendia, Mike Amante (illustrator),

Book cover of The Puppy Who Lost His Woof

What is my book about?

Pickle was always a happy and playful puppy. One day, he wakes up feeling unwell. He cannot bark. He has lost his woof. Join him on his adventure as he searches for his woof, greeting numerous animal friends along the way, including cheerful rhymes. This tale is not only entertaining but also educational, showing preschoolers different ways of greeting individuals as well as different animals and their sounds. The search for Pickle’s woof also displays the importance of family and friends.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners

Mike Amante Why did I love this book?

This is one of my favorite children’s books until today. It’s wonderfully illustrated and it teaches good manners in a fun way. I like how Brother Bear and Sister Bear pretended to observe good manners in compliance with Mama Bear’s Politeness Plan but as time passed, they eventually ended up practicing good manners out of habit. I also like that the book showed that not even the grown-ups (such as Papa Bear) are exempted from the house rules.

By Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 4, 5, 6, and 7.

What is this book about?

This classic Berenstain Bears story is a perfect way to teach children about the importance of good manners!

Come for a visit in Bear Country with this classic First Time Book® from Stan and Jan Berenstain. Mama has noticed that Papa, Brother, and Sister have not been using their good manners, so now it’s up to her to help get back on track. Includes over 50 bonus stickers!


Book cover of The Little Red Hen (Little Golden Book)

Mike Amante Why did I love this book?

I recommend this Little Golden book because it would be a great avenue for discussion with adults and kids about the importance of self-reliance, hard work, and sharing. I think that what is taught about sharing resources among those who only contributed is not correct in all cases though. Some people may not be able to contribute because of their own personal circumstances (like due to their financial status, and health condition) but that doesn’t mean that they don’t deserve to have the right to those resources. Aside from the morals being taught, this book has very pretty illustrations. I have the 1942 version but the 2001 version of the story looks great as well. 

By Diane Muldrow (editor), J.P. Miller (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Little Red Hen (Little Golden Book) as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 2, 3, 4, and 5.

What is this book about?

Beloved illustrator J. P. Miller’s graphic, colorful farm animals seem to jump right off the page—but they aren’t jumping to help the Little Red Hen plant her wheat! Young children will learn a valuable lesson about teamwork from this funny, favorite folktale.


Book cover of Porcupine Pirate Plans the Perfect Day

Mike Amante Why did I love this book?

This book teaches a fundamental lesson that kids should learn as they grow up, which is the importance of seeing the silver lining of things especially when things don’t go your way. I think this book would also be a great way to introduce kids to comics. It’s not a graphic novel but a children’s book with some aspects of comics in it. The illustrations are super fun to look at too! I like how there’s a variety of creatures in this book.

Book cover of Aesop's Fables for Little Children (Story Collections for Little Children): 1

Mike Amante Why did I love this book?

I like reading a lot of animal stories and Aesop’s Fables is definitely on top of my list. The Town Mouse and Country Mouse fable is my favorite. When I was young, I never got to appreciate it but reading it as a grown-up, I can totally relate to how Town Mouse and Country Mouse felt about their hometowns. For me, no matter what place I travel to, I will still always prefer to live in my hometown. I recommend this version in particular because it’s geared towards younger readers. The morals are indicated at the start of every story to guide the readers on what lesson is being taught. I love the aesthetic of this book as well. It has a beautiful painterly and cartoony style to it.

By Various,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Aesop's Fables for Little Children (Story Collections for Little Children) as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 3, 4, 5, and 6.

What is this book about?

A delightful collection of six stories, with lively retellings and colourful artwork by Columbian illustrator, John Joven. A perfect first introduction to Aesop for little children. Stories include well-known classics The Lion and the Mouse, The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse and The Ant and the Grasshopper.


Book cover of All by Myself

Mike Amante Why did I love this book?

I recommend this children's book because it empowers kids to do most of their daily tasks on their own. I wish I had read this book growing up. It would have motivated the young me to not see myself as incapable of doing big household tasks such as gardening.

By Mercer Mayer,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked All by Myself as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 4, 5, 6, and 7.

What is this book about?

Mercer Mayer’s Little Critter wants to show you all the things he can do for himself in this classic, funny, and heartwarming book. Whether he’s tying his shoes, coloring a picture, or riding his bike, both parents and children alike will relate to this beloved story. A perfect way to teach children about independence!


You might also like...

Book cover of Wand

Landra Jennings Author Of Wand

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Overthinker Chocolate eater Mom Cautious adventurer

Landra's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val—who she still won’t call mom and still won’t forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can’t refuse: she will grant Mira three wishes. What if magic isn’t just pretend after all? What if these wishes could fix everything? But in the quiet town of Between, Georgia, where secrets lurk and rumors swirl of strange creatures, nothing is as it seems, and everything comes at a price

Wand

By Landra Jennings,

What is this book about?


A dazzling story of grief and found family wrapped in a spellbinding fairy tale, perfect for fans of Anne Ursu and Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Eleven-year-old Mira wishes everything could go back to the way it was. Before she changed schools and had to quit gymnastics. Especially before Papa died. Now she spends her days cooking and cleaning for her stepsisters and Val-who she still won't call mom and still won't forgive for the terrible thing she did.

When a mysterious girl named Lyndame appears out of the woods wielding a powerful wand, she makes Mira an offer she can't refuse:…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in bears, folklore, and fables?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about bears, folklore, and fables.

Bears Explore 71 books about bears
Folklore Explore 330 books about folklore
Fables Explore 40 books about fables