The best sapphic superhero novels

Why am I passionate about this?

I’m a trans woman who writes sapphic science fiction, fantasy, superhero novels, and contemporary romance. I’m been a huge fan of superheroes my whole life, and Supergirl has been my favorite superhero since I saw the original Helen Slater movie back in the 80s. In addition to being a fan, I’m currently writing a series of sapphic superhero novels called Hearts of Heroes.


I wrote...

Scatter

By Molly J. Bragg,

Book cover of Scatter

What is my book about?

Deputy US Marshal Danny Martin has had a crush on the Superhero known as Focus since she was five years old. When she gets promoted, she’s surprised to find herself assigned to Focus’s support team. At first, she’s mostly worried about making a fool of herself in front of the woman of her dreams, but she’s shocked that Focus seems to return her feelings.

After Focus has a violent reaction to Danny getting hurt in the line of duty, she starts asking questions about why the Superhero might be so fixated on her. Questions that get answered when a mission leaves her stranded thirty years in the past.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Dreadnought

Molly J. Bragg Why did I love this book?

Dreadnought is a fantastic superhero origin story with some of the best superhero fight scenes I’ve ever read. It’s also a coming-out story, with the main character coming out both as a trans woman and a lesbian during the course of the story.

Danny, a closeted teenage trans girl, inherits the powers of the world’s strongest superhero. Powers that come with her ideal body, and she has to deal with her bigoted parents’ horror at her transformation and a superhero community that’s less than welcoming all while trying to stop the villain who killed the man she inherited her powers from.

By April Daniels,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked Dreadnought as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

"I didn't know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now."-Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world's greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she's transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to…


Book cover of Chasing Stars

Molly J. Bragg Why did I love this book?

This is a relatively lighthearted superhero romance about Ava, an alien who works as the personal assistant to a big Hollywood star named Gwen. When Gwen asks Ava to pretend to be her girlfriend because it will help Gwen with the custody battle with her ex-husband, all the predictable fake dating shenanigans ensue.

The book is a fun, comfortable read with a good bit of pining, a fun sister relationship, and an interesting superhero plot.

The focus on Ava’s and Gwen’s emotional journey through the story makes it an engaging read the first time through, and a nice, comfortable reread for those days when you just want to lose yourself in a comfy book.

By Alex K. Thorne,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Chasing Stars as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

For superhero Swiftwing, crime fighting isn’t her biggest battle. Nor is it having to meet the demanding whims of Hollywood screen goddess Gwen Knight as her mild-mannered assistant, Ava.It’s doing all that, while tracking a giant alien bug, being asked to fake date her world-famous boss, and realizing that she might be coming down with a pesky case of feelings.A fun, sweet, and sexy lesbian romance about the masks we all wear.


Book cover of The Private Life of Jane Maxwell

Molly J. Bragg Why did I love this book?

Years ago, Jane Maxwell created a comic book series about a group of superheroes, using herself and her friends as inspiration. Now, she’s pulled into a parallel universe to stand in for the missing Superhero version of herself from the comic. 

This is an amazing book with a nice, twisty plot that keeps you guessing. Jane starts the story still mourning the death of her wife, only to find herself confronted with the parallel universe version of her, and all of the emotions that stir up.

I love all the twists that come with this plot, and how real Jane’s emotions feel throughout the whole story.

By Jenn Gott,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The Private Life of Jane Maxwell as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Some people are born to greatness, others have greatness thrust upon them… and some are just drawn like that.

As the creator of a popular new comics franchise, Jane Maxwell knows a thing or two about heroes, but has no illusions of being one herself. All of that is shattered, however, when she finds herself swept into a parallel world—one where her characters are real, and her parallel self is their leader.

There’s just one problem: that Jane is missing.

Under the growing danger of a deadly new villain named UltraViolet, the team has no choice but to ask Jane…


Book cover of Ever The Hero

Molly J. Bragg Why did I love this book?

Kit is a scavenger in a city ruined by an alien spaceship that crashed decades ago, giving rise to superheroes. When a chance meeting leads to her starting a relationship with Valene Blackwood, one of the most powerful superheroes on the planet. A little too powerful. 

Valene’s powers are slowly driving her mad. Kit sets out to find a way to help Valene, but ends up getting superpowers of her own, and in a duel to the death with Valene’s father, who wants to take over the city. 

I love this book because it’s a unique take on the question of what makes someone a hero, while also looking at how people with privilege respond to marginalized people gaining power, and why some relationships are doomed to fail.

By Darby Harn,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Ever The Hero as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Superheroes are big business. Imagine not being able to afford them.



Kit Baldwin can't afford trouble, not in a city where superhuman Empowered only offer their help for a fee. But rent doesn't wait so she scavenges the ruins for valuable artifacts from a crashed alien ship. When Kit discovers a powerful alien object, it pays off more than she ever hoped.


The artifact draws the attention of Valene Blackwood, the one Empowered with a conscience. Valene's gifts come at a price; she hears everything, everywhere, always. Kit's ambition morphs into harnessing the object's cosmic potential to mitigate the trauma…


Book cover of Shattered

Molly J. Bragg Why did I love this book?

Lena Martin is given the job of tracking down Shattergirl, a black lesbian superhero who has dropped out of sight. I love this book because it’s not your usual superhero story. 

It takes a dive into how public perception affects who we are willing to accept as heroes, how other people’s preconceptions care wear down marginalized people, and how having to hide parts of yourself can distance you from those around you.

By Lee Winter,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Shattered as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


You might also like...

A Cursed Son

By Day Leitao,

Book cover of A Cursed Son

Day Leitao

New book alert!

What is my book about?

Romantic & sexy dreams link a false princess to a dangerous, disgraced fae prince in this fun, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantasy. As a royal decoy, trained to replace the Krastel princess even in a political marriage, Astra’s life is not her own. With a duty like that, how can she dream about love?

And yet she knows she has a kindred soul. She can feel his presence every night, surrounding her with his warmth. But ice-cold reality crashes in when Astra’s carriage is attacked by the Crystal Court’s disgraced prince. It turns out that he is the man in her dreams.…

A Cursed Son

By Day Leitao,

What is this book about?

Romantic & sexy dreams link a false princess to a dangerous, disgraced fae prince in this fun, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantasy.

In her dreams, he envelops her in love. In real life, he imprisons her in ice.

Assassin, liar, impersonator-dreamer.

As a royal decoy, trained to replace the Krastel princess even in a political marriage, Astra's life is not her own. With a duty like that, how can she dream about love?

And yet she knows she has a kindred soul. She can feel his presence every night, holding her in his arms, surrounding her with his warmth.

But ice-cold reality…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in superheros, lesbian topics and characters, and topics and characters?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about superheros, lesbian topics and characters, and topics and characters.

Superheros Explore 109 books about superheros
Lesbian Topics And Characters Explore 127 books about lesbian topics and characters
Topics And Characters Explore 123 books about topics and characters