The best books based on Norse mythology for fans of Thor

Tiana Warner Author Of The Valkyrie's Daughter
By Tiana Warner

Who am I?

While writing my YA series based on Norse mythology, I did a ton of reading and research, and fell more in love with the mythology each day. I’ve been a huge fan of the Thor movies since the beginning, and between that and my Icelandic heritage, I find that I always gravitate to books about Norse mythology. There are a lot of viking books and TV series, but it’s a little harder to find books and shows specifically about the mythology, so I hope you find this list interesting as you dive into the nine Norse worlds and all of their gods and creatures!


I wrote...

The Valkyrie's Daughter

By Tiana Warner,

Book cover of The Valkyrie's Daughter

What is my book about?

Sigrid, a stable hand who dreams of becoming a valkyrie, crosses the nine worlds in search of the mythical eight-legged stallion, Sleipnir.

The Valkyrie’s Daughter is a YA LGBTQ+ Fantasy featured on BuzzFeed, Goodreads Most Anticipated YA Books for July, Gizmodo, Paste Magazine, Tor, Book Riot, and more.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

Norse Mythology

By Neil Gaiman,

Book cover of Norse Mythology

Why this book?

This has to be the best modern adaptation of the original Norse myths. Neil Gaiman has adapted them into something fun, easy to read, and super entertaining. The Thor and Loki tales were easy to get into, and at times hilarious! I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about the original Norse myths. This is more entertaining than reading the source material, and I think Neil Gaiman did a great job captivating the original spirit.

Norse Mythology

By Neil Gaiman,

Why should I read it?

7 authors picked Norse Mythology as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Neil Gaiman, long inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction, presents a bravura rendition of the Norse gods and their world from their origin though their upheaval in Ragnarok.

In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin's son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki-son of a giant-blood brother to Odin and a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator.

Gaiman fashions these primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the…


The Poetic Edda: The Heroic Poems

By Henry Adams Bellows,

Book cover of The Poetic Edda: The Heroic Poems

Why this book?

When it comes to learning about Norse mythology, you can’t beat the original source material. If you are a bit of a history nerd like me, it’s fascinating to read a translation of the original Old Norse poems. These poems can be found in a text called the Poetic Edda, which has several different translations. I like the Henry Adams Bellows translation, as well as Dr. Jackson Crawford’s. Crawford has YouTube videos that taught me a lot while I was writing my book, so that’s worth checking out, if you’re interested.

The Poetic Edda: The Heroic Poems

By Henry Adams Bellows,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Poetic Edda as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

By Rick Riordan,

Book cover of Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

Why this book?

Rick Riordan is a master of writing books based on mythology! His Magnus Chase series is excellent for fans of Norse mythology. It is a Middle Grade series, so it is directed at kids, but that doesn’t mean adults can’t enjoy it. I love a good Middle Grade book! This series is fun, snappy, entertaining, and has great, well-rounded characters.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

By Rick Riordan,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


Eight Days of Luke

By Diana Wynne Jones,

Book cover of Eight Days of Luke

Why this book?

This is a classic Middle Grade book that was first published in 1975 and still holds strong. Neil Gaiman himself endorsed it, so you know it’s going to be a fantastic mythology-based book! This is one of those stories that drops so many clues and hints that when you get to the end, you’ll want to read it again to catch everything you missed.

Eight Days of Luke

By Diana Wynne Jones,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Eight Days of Luke as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

There seemed nothing odd about Luke to begin with - except perhaps the snakes. If they were snakes, that is... David wasn't sure.

"Just kindle a flame and I'll be with you," says Luke. David thinks he's joking, but certainly, whenever he strikes a match, Luke appears immediately.

But David's new friend seems to have some extraordinary friends and relations, and some very dark secrets. And when David enters into a bargain with the mysterious one-eyed Mr Wedding, life gets very hot indeed!


Loki's Wolves

By K. L. Armstrong, Melissa Marr,

Book cover of Loki's Wolves

Why this book?

Yes, this is the third Middle Grade book on the list, but you can’t beat kids’ books when it comes to adventures based on mythology! Loki’s Wolves is action-packed, entertaining, and full of Norse gods and monsters. It’s an imaginative, entertaining read for Norse mythology nerds of all ages.

Loki's Wolves

By K. L. Armstrong, Melissa Marr,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Loki's Wolves as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Norse mythology, the Poetic Edda, and Thor?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Norse mythology, the Poetic Edda, and Thor.

Norse Mythology Explore 52 books about Norse mythology
The Poetic Edda Explore 9 books about the Poetic Edda
Thor Explore 8 books about Thor

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Beowulf, Norse Mythology, and Norse Mythology for Kids if you like this list.