The best books based on Norse mythology for fans of Thor

Who am I?

While writing my YA series based on Norse mythology, I did a ton of reading and research, and fell more in love with the mythology each day. I’ve been a huge fan of the Thor movies since the beginning, and between that and my Icelandic heritage, I find that I always gravitate to books about Norse mythology. There are a lot of viking books and TV series, but it’s a little harder to find books and shows specifically about the mythology, so I hope you find this list interesting as you dive into the nine Norse worlds and all of their gods and creatures!


I wrote...

The Valkyrie's Daughter

By Tiana Warner,

Book cover of The Valkyrie's Daughter

What is my book about?

Sigrid, a stable hand who dreams of becoming a valkyrie, crosses the nine worlds in search of the mythical eight-legged stallion, Sleipnir.

The Valkyrie’s Daughter is a YA LGBTQ+ Fantasy featured on BuzzFeed, Goodreads Most Anticipated YA Books for July, Gizmodo, Paste Magazine, Tor, Book Riot, and more.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Norse Mythology

Tiana Warner Why did I love this book?

This has to be the best modern adaptation of the original Norse myths. Neil Gaiman has adapted them into something fun, easy to read, and super entertaining. The Thor and Loki tales were easy to get into, and at times hilarious! I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about the original Norse myths. This is more entertaining than reading the source material, and I think Neil Gaiman did a great job captivating the original spirit.

By Neil Gaiman,

Why should I read it?

10 authors picked Norse Mythology as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Neil Gaiman, long inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction, presents a bravura rendition of the Norse gods and their world from their origin though their upheaval in Ragnarok.

In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin's son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki-son of a giant-blood brother to Odin and a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator.

Gaiman fashions these primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the…


Book cover of The Poetic Edda: The Heroic Poems

Tiana Warner Why did I love this book?

When it comes to learning about Norse mythology, you can’t beat the original source material. If you are a bit of a history nerd like me, it’s fascinating to read a translation of the original Old Norse poems. These poems can be found in a text called the Poetic Edda, which has several different translations. I like the Henry Adams Bellows translation, as well as Dr. Jackson Crawford’s. Crawford has YouTube videos that taught me a lot while I was writing my book, so that’s worth checking out, if you’re interested.

By Henry Adams Bellows,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Poetic Edda as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Passed down long ago from poet to poet and singer to singer in the great oral tradition of Scandinavia, this collection of heroic sagas explores a mythical world. Incorporating legends of Norse gods and heroes, great fires and floods, superhuman warriors and doomed lovers, these dramatic poems weave vivid portraits of powerful characters caught up in passion, ambition, and destiny. Filled with gripping conceptions of the world's creation and ultimate destruction, the verses chronicle the triumphs and tragedies of a lost mythological past, where words of wisdom and beauty echoed off the steel of waving swords.
The hero poems of…


Book cover of Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

Tiana Warner Why did I love this book?

Rick Riordan is a master of writing books based on mythology! His Magnus Chase series is excellent for fans of Norse mythology. It is a Middle Grade series, so it is directed at kids, but that doesn’t mean adults can’t enjoy it. I love a good Middle Grade book! This series is fun, snappy, entertaining, and has great, well-rounded characters.

By Rick Riordan,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 10, 11, 12, and 13.

What is this book about?

All three books in the best-selling Magnus Chase trilogy, collected in a gift-worthy paperback boxed set.
Magnus Chase, a once-homeless teen, is on a death-defying quest across the Norse realms, literally.
As a resident of the Hotel Valhalla, this son of the god Frey is now one of Odin's chosen warriors.
Magnus and his friends, Hearthstone the elf, Blitzen the dwarf, Samirah the Valkyrie, and other heroic characters must use all their wits and special talents in order to defeat fearsome giants, lethal creatures, and meddlesome gods in order stave off Ragnarok.
"A whirlwind of myth, action, and wry sarcasm,…


Book cover of Eight Days of Luke

Tiana Warner Why did I love this book?

This is a classic Middle Grade book that was first published in 1975 and still holds strong. Neil Gaiman himself endorsed it, so you know it’s going to be a fantastic mythology-based book! This is one of those stories that drops so many clues and hints that when you get to the end, you’ll want to read it again to catch everything you missed.

By Diana Wynne Jones,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Eight Days of Luke as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

There seemed nothing odd about Luke to begin with - except perhaps the snakes. If they were snakes, that is... David wasn't sure.

"Just kindle a flame and I'll be with you," says Luke. David thinks he's joking, but certainly, whenever he strikes a match, Luke appears immediately.

But David's new friend seems to have some extraordinary friends and relations, and some very dark secrets. And when David enters into a bargain with the mysterious one-eyed Mr Wedding, life gets very hot indeed!


Book cover of Loki's Wolves

Tiana Warner Why did I love this book?

Yes, this is the third Middle Grade book on the list, but you can’t beat kids’ books when it comes to adventures based on mythology! Loki’s Wolves is action-packed, entertaining, and full of Norse gods and monsters. It’s an imaginative, entertaining read for Norse mythology nerds of all ages.

By K. L. Armstrong, Melissa Marr,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Loki's Wolves as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

Calling all fans of myths, action-adventure, and the Percy Jackson series - don't miss this first book in the Blackwell Pages trilogy from bestselling authors K.L. Armstrong and Melissa Marr.

While thirteen-year-old Matt Thorsen has always known he's a modern-day descendent of Thor, he's been living a normal kid's life. In fact, most people in the small town of Blackwell, South Dakota, are direct descendants of either Thor or Loki, including Matt's classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke. No big deal.

But now Ragnarok is coming, and it's up to the champions to fight in the place of the long-dead gods.…


You might also like...

The Olympus Project

By Zoe Routh,

Book cover of The Olympus Project

Zoe Routh Author Of The Olympus Project

New book alert!

Who am I?

Author Leadership futurist Adventurist Former bellydancer Historical and speculative fiction nut Marathoner

Zoe's 3 favorite reads in 2023

What is my book about?

The future is uncertain, and the stakes are high. Climate change has wreaked havoc on the planet, and humanity is on the brink of extinction. The only hope lies in the Olympus Project, a plan to colonise the moon and build on the Artemis Base.

Led by three of the best and brightest--Troy Bruin, Xavier Consus, and Xanthe Waters--they must battle both winner-take-all competition and their own differences in order to save humanity from destruction. But even as they search for a way to reconcile, a secret organisation is lurking in the shadows, threatening to extinguish their efforts and ensure humanity's downfall.

A gripping tale of leadership, ambition, and the indomitable human spirit.

The Olympus Project

By Zoe Routh,

What is this book about?

***WINNER: GOLD MEDAL in Fiction - Thriller - Environmental, Readers' Favorite Awards 2023***

They are the best. The brightest. The hope of humanity.

And they might destroy us all…

The future. Climate change has rendered much of the world desolate. Crops are failing. Rising seas have flooded coastal communities. The earth is dying, and humanity careens toward extinction.

Enter the Olympus Project—a plan to colonise the moon, building on the Artemis Base, led by three of humankind’s best and brightest: Troy Bruin, Xavier Consus, and Xanthe Waters.

But even the best and brightest can fall prey to humanity’s failing. Soon…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Norse mythology, the Poetic Edda, and Thor?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Norse mythology, the Poetic Edda, and Thor.

Norse Mythology Explore 58 books about Norse mythology
The Poetic Edda Explore 10 books about the Poetic Edda
Thor Explore 10 books about Thor