The best LOL-worthy books for tweens that will make your parents wonder what’s so funny

Why am I passionate about this?

Most people are surprised to hear I wasn’t a reader growing up. All the books I was assigned to read in school were too serious or sad. It wasn’t until I started reading comedy, that I really got into reading. Now, I read everything under the sun, but comedy is still what I love to write. I write the kind of books that I wish I had found as a tween. And to this day, the best compliment I receive is when a parent tells me one of my books made their kid laugh or better yet, turned their reluctant reader into a reader. As a writer, there’s no better feeling! 


I wrote...

Amelia Gray Is Almost Okay

By Jessica Brody,

Book cover of Amelia Gray Is Almost Okay

What is my book about?

Twelve-year-old Amelia Gray has changed schools thirty-nine times because of her dad’s job, which doesn’t leave a lot of time for making friends. Amelia loves “life on the go” with Dad and their adorable supermutt, Biscotti. But when her dad announces that he wants to stay in their new town for the whole summer Amelia realizes she’s going to have to do the one thing she’s never had to do: fit in.

So she gives herself not one but three total makeovers. Is she Amie, a confident track star? Mellie, a serious journalist? Or Lia, a bold theater kid? Juggling three identities is hard, and Amelia soon finds herself caught in friendship drama. Despite her best efforts, she still can’t answer the most important question: Who is the real Amelia Gray?

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The books I picked & why

Book cover of Mistakes Were Made

Jessica Brody Why did I love this book?

When I read the first line of this book, “It’s harder to drive a polar bear into somebody’s living room than you’d think,” I knew I had stumbled upon something good.

And I was right. How can you not love a book that starts with a polar bear being driven into a living room? How can you not want to keep reading to find out why exactly this polar bear is being driven into a living room? I rest my case.  

By Stephan Pastis,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Mistakes Were Made as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

The movie tie-in edition of the award-winning and hugely popular adventures of Timmy Failure and his polar bear sidekick Total, who create chaos as they attempt to make sense of the world in the first book in the New York Times bestselling series.

Riotously funny and perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Barry Loser, Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made has been listed as one of 100 Children's Modern Classics by The Sunday Times and was chosen for inclusion in Tom Fletcher's second book club.

Meet Timmy Failure, founder of the "best" detective agency in town - Total…


Book cover of The Swap

Jessica Brody Why did I love this book?

Have you ever wished you could swap lives with someone? I know I have!

That’s why this book was so much fun to read! When Jack and Ellie magically swap bodies, it’s nothing but laugh-out-loud moments for the rest of the book! Plus, might have developed a bit more sympathy for what it’s like to be a boy in middle school after reading this. 

By Megan Shull,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Swap as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 10, 11, 12, and 13.

What is this book about?

Now a Disney Channel Original Movie, Megan Shull’s smart and funny, very readable book The Swap is a great summer reading (or anytime!) choice. Will appeal to fans of R. J. Palacio and Katherine Applegate, as well as of graphic novels such as Click, Invisible Emmie, and Smile.

With one random wish, Jack and Ellie are living life in each other’s shoes. He’s her. And she’s him.

ELLIE assumed popular guys didn’t worry about body image, being perfect, or talking to girls, but acting like you’re cool with everything is tougher than it looks.

JACK thought girls had it easy—no…


Book cover of Matilda

Jessica Brody Why did I love this book?

Anyone who’s ever felt misunderstood will adore this book.

It’s my favorite of all Roald Dahl’s books (and the funniest in my opinion!) I’m still laughing over the part when Mathilda’s dad accidentally dyes his hair platinum blonde and then superglues his hat onto his head.

Plus, who doesn’t wish they were smarter than everyone in the world? 

By Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

11 authors picked Matilda as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 8, 9, 10, and 11.

What is this book about?

Puffin Audiobooks presents Roald Dahl's Matilda, read by Kate Winslet. This audiobook features original music and sound design by Pinewood film studios.

Matilda Wormwood is an extraordinary genius with really stupid parents.

Miss Trunchbull is her terrifying headmistress who thinks all her pupils are rotten little stinkers.

But Matilda will show these horrible grown-ups that even though she's only small, she's got some very powerful tricks up her sleeve . . .

Kate Winslet's award-winning and varied career has included standout roles in Titanic, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Finding Neverland, Revolutionary Road and The Reader, for which she…


Book cover of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Jessica Brody Why did I love this book?

Underdogs unite! I can’t resist a story of an underdog and there’s no better than one than Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

As a fellow middle school “wimpy kid,” I could definitely relate to Greg’s quest to fit in. This book has so many LOL moments, I’ve lost count. All I can say is thank goodness my middle school didn’t have anything called “the cheese touch,” because I surely would have caught it! 

By Jeff Kinney,

Why should I read it?

7 authors picked Diary of a Wimpy Kid as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 7, 8, 9, and 10.

What is this book about?

Boys don't keep diaries-or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you're ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley's star…


Book cover of 11 Birthdays

Jessica Brody Why did I love this book?

Imagine if you relived your 11th birthday over and over?

The answer is found in the pages of Wendy Mass’s delightful, sweet, and funny page-turner, 11 Birthdays! Pick up this book if you want to add a little magic to your day. It even has a little mystery to it. Bonus!

By Wendy Mass,

Why should I read it?

3 authors picked 11 Birthdays as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 9, 10, 11, and 12.

What is this book about?

It's Amanda's 11th birthday and she is super excited-after all, 11 is so different from 10. But from the start, everything goes wrong. The worst part of it all is that she and her best friend, Leo, with whom she's shared every birthday, are on the outs and this will be the first birthday they haven't shared together. When Amanda turns in for the night, glad to have her birthday behind her, she wakes up happy for a new day. Or is it? Her birthday seems to be repeating itself. What is going on?! And how can she fix it?…


You might also like...

Book cover of The Twins of Auschwitz: The inspiring true story of a young girl surviving Mengele's hell

Lisa Rojany Author Of The Twins of Auschwitz: The inspiring true story of a young girl surviving Mengele's hell

New book alert!

Why am I passionate about this?

I have published over 50 books, including award-winning and bestselling titles. I am also a publishing executive and editor with 20+ years of professional experience. My latest The Twins of Auschwitz: The Inspiring True Story of  Young Girl Surviving Mengele’s Hell, with Eva Kor, got a stellar review by Archbishop Desmond Tutu and is an international bestseller. As well as spearheading four publishing startups, I have run my own business, Editorial Services of L.A. I was Editorial/Publishing Director for Golden Books, Price Stern Sloan, Intervisual Books, Hooked on Phonics, and more. I am also the Publisher & Editor in Chief of NY Journal Of Books, the premier online-only book review site.

Lisa's book list on picture books for all ages

What is my book about?

This is the Inspiring true story of a young girl surviving Mengele’s hell. This is an incisive, harrowing, and touching memoir of Eva Mozes Kor and her twin sister Miriam, who are sent to Auschwitz only to be torn from their parents and given to Josef Mengele, "The Angel of Death," for his evil and damaging experiments on human subjects.

In the voice of the ten-year-old Eva, we learn about what life was like in the death camps and how a child survives when food, water, comfort, and care are absent. At times heartbreaking and at other times a triumph of the will of a child to survive, this is a memoir that is not easily forgotten.

By Lisa Rojany, Eva Mozes Kor,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Twins of Auschwitz as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it. This book is for kids age 12, 13, 14, and 15.

What is this book about?

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

The Nazis spared their lives because they were twins.

In the summer of 1944, Eva Mozes Kor and her family arrived at Auschwitz.

Within thirty minutes, they were separated. Her parents and two older sisters were taken to the gas chambers, while Eva and her twin, Miriam, were herded into the care of the man who became known as the Angel of Death: Dr. Josef Mengele. They were 10 years old.

While twins at Auschwitz were granted the 'privileges' of keeping their own clothes and hair, they were also subjected to Mengele's sadistic medical experiments. They…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in brothers, school, and friendships?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about brothers, school, and friendships.

Brothers Explore 108 books about brothers
School Explore 258 books about school
Friendships Explore 1,367 books about friendships