Girl in the Blue Coat

By Monica Hesse,

Book cover of Girl in the Blue Coat

Book description

The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true…

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked Girl in the Blue Coat as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

As both a reader and a writer, I seem to be drawn to books about characters experiencing oppression and persecution, and drawing on inner reserves of courage and compassion to combat it. This book fits that description perfectly. I was on the edge of my seat following Hanneke as she works for the Dutch Resistance during World War II. I was left wondering: How do you find the bravery and determination to risk your own life in order to save someone else’s?

Want books like Girl in the Blue Coat?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like Girl in the Blue Coat.

Browse books like Girl in the Blue Coat

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the German occupation of Europe, the Holocaust, and World War 2?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the German occupation of Europe, the Holocaust, and World War 2.

The German Occupation Of Europe Explore 51 books about the German occupation of Europe
The Holocaust Explore 190 books about the Holocaust
World War 2 Explore 1050 books about World War 2