The best picture books for expanding families

Who am I?

I am a picture book author living in Los Angeles with my husband and two small children. Through my work, I hope to make children laugh, to inspire curiosity, and to create a magical world readers can lose themselves in time and time again.


I wrote...

How to Return a Monster

By Charlotte Offsay, Rea Zhai (illustrator),

Book cover of How to Return a Monster

What is my book about?

In this hilarious and heartfelt book about sibling relationships, a girl can't believe it when her parents bring home a fussy, stinky, attention-stealing monster. She hatches a plan to send it back to where it came from, with hilarious results . . . and along the way, she learns that maybe monsters--and baby siblings--aren't so bad after all.

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission

The books I picked & why

The Littlest Viking

By Alexandra Penfold, Isabel Roxas (illustrator),

Book cover of The Littlest Viking

Why did I love this book?

Sven is the littlest and loudest attention-demanding Viking until a new warrior princess arrives. Sven’s baby sister is even louder and more attention-demanding than Sven and no one has time for his stories anymore… that is until Sven dreams up the perfect solution for all. Filled with heart and humor this book celebrates imagination, Vikings, storytelling, and new siblings.

By Alexandra Penfold, Isabel Roxas (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Littlest Viking as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A hilarious story about what happens to the littlest and loudest Viking when an even littler and louder Viking arrives, perfect for fans of The Princess and the Pony and I Don't Want to Be a Frog.

Sven might be the littlest Viking, but he has no trouble making himself known. He has the loudest warrior cry and the fiercest set of teeth. He loves to pillage and plunder. But there's a new kid in town--a warrior princess, who is smaller than Sven and even louder. What's a little Viking to do?

"Penfold folds in fun ancient analogues to tried-and-true…


Mia Moves Out

By Miranda Paul, Paige Keiser (illustrator),

Book cover of Mia Moves Out

Why did I love this book?

When Mia’s new brother arrives, she finds herself without a place of her own – Brandon’s stuff is everywhere! She moves from place to place around the house, but nowhere feels quite right. In the end, Mia comes to find that having her own space doesn’t have to mean moving away from Brandon. This book beautifully opens the door to conversations around adjusting to a new sibling, sharing, and personal space. I also love that it incorporates adoption without making that the focus point of the story.

By Miranda Paul, Paige Keiser (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Mia Moves Out as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A sweet sibling story about one fed-up big sister who wants to find a space of her own, perfect for fans of Ashley Spires's The Most Magnificent Thing.

Mia loved her big, bright room . . . until she had to share it with her new brother. With Brandon's toys, books, and even underwear taking up space, Mia has finally had it. "I'm moving out!" There are lots of new and interesting spaces she could settle into--the bathroom, the basement, even a pillow fort. But something is always missing. What could it be? Tackling the oh-so-relatable topic of finding a…


His Royal Highness, King Baby: A Terrible True Story

By Sally Lloyd-Jones, David Roberts (illustrator),

Book cover of His Royal Highness, King Baby: A Terrible True Story

Why did I love this book?

When King Baby arrives, a young princess is forced to share her kingdom. The princess protests her new brother and his attention-demanding ways. She plots to break the spell King Baby holds over the rest of the kingdom until she discovers that perhaps there are benefits to co-ruling after all. Filled with humor, this voice-y princess is sure to be a hit with young rulers everywhere.

By Sally Lloyd-Jones, David Roberts (illustrator),

Why should I read it?

1 author picked His Royal Highness, King Baby as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Once upon a time there was a happy family: A mum, a dad, a gerbil, and the most beautifulest, cleverest, ever so kindest Princess Marianna. Until one horrible no good day when a new ruler was born...

From two of the most revered picture book creators working today comes a unique home-grown fairy tale about a little girl with a new baby brother. Marianna, the most beautiful, ever so kindest princess, lives happily with her mum, dad and gerbil. Happy, that is, until the new baby comes along. His Royal Highness King Baby is so smelly. He's so noisy. And…


The New Small Person

By Lauren Child,

Book cover of The New Small Person

Why did I love this book?

Elmore Green is perfectly happy being an only child and likes his life just the way it is, so when the ‘new small person’ arrives and throws everything out of line, Elmore Green wishes they would go back to wherever they came from. One night when Elmore has a nightmare though, everything changes, and he begins to find that there are upsides to having a sibling after all. With heart and humor, The New Small Person embraces the complex emotions surrounding becoming an older sibling and shows that while sometimes a sibling bond takes a little time to form, it can be pretty spectacular.

By Lauren Child,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The New Small Person as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Elmore Green started life as an only child, as many children do. He had a room all to himself, and everything in it was his. But one day, everything changed.
This brand new picture book from the hugely talented Lauren Child about the arrival of a new sibling is bound to be a hit with parents and children. Told with humour and with wonderfully stylish artwork, this is Lauren Child at her absolute best.


The Bossier Baby

By Marla Frazee,

Book cover of The Bossier Baby

Why did I love this book?

Boss Baby is used to being in charge but when his baby sister arrives, it is clear that there is a new CEO in town, and he is not happy about the perks she is getting that he never got. Boss baby feels replaced and ignored until an unexpected move from the new CEO shows that perhaps there is room for two CEOs after all. With a loud fun voice and adorable artwork, this is a hilarious and heart-squeezing read.

By Marla Frazee,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Bossier Baby as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Change is in the air-the Boss Baby's staff has stopped taking his direction! It seems that there is a new CEO in town; from the moment she comes home, Boss Baby's little sister is extremely loud and is demanding all sorts of corporate perks he never got. Can the Boss Baby and his staff get used to the new corporate structure?


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in sibling, brothers, and Vikings?

9,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about sibling, brothers, and Vikings.

Sibling Explore 178 books about sibling
Brothers Explore 82 books about brothers
Vikings Explore 95 books about Vikings

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Tikki Tikki Tembo, Peter's Chair, and Gregor the Overlander if you like this list.