The best books for horse crazy kids

Sydney Scrogham Author Of Chase: The Promised Guardian
By Sydney Scrogham

Who am I?

I’ve always been a horse-crazy girl (going on nearly 20 years now)! Horses are excellent teachers and even better friends. They never lie, and they always treat you fairly. I’ve been teaching lessons for the past five years as a PATH Intl. certified instructor, and it’s been such a joy to share my love of horses with others. Here’s to all the great real-life horses in the world that inspire such great books.


I wrote...

Chase: The Promised Guardian

By Sydney Scrogham,

Book cover of Chase: The Promised Guardian

What is my book about?

She'll do anything to keep her horse. He's never met another human. Together, they're destined to end the world. If you like portals into new worlds, clean reads with magical creatures, and young love, you’ll like Book #1 in the Guardians of Agalrae series.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

The One Dollar Horse

By Lauren St John,

Book cover of The One Dollar Horse

Why this book?

I absolutely love this book even though it’s written in British English. It’s a great rags-to-riches, character-driven story that communicates the thrill of eventing. You never know what you’re going to get with horses until you’ve got it. Sometimes the one-dollar horses can be just as great as the six-figure ones. The story will stick with you long after the book is finished!

The One Dollar Horse

By Lauren St John,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked The One Dollar Horse as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A thriller set in the equestrian world about making the impossible possible, about reaching the top on a one dollar horse. Fifteen year old Casey Blue lives in East London's grimmest tower block and volunteers at a local riding school, but her dream is to win the world's greatest Three Day Event: the Badminton Horse Trials. When she rescues a starving, half-wild horse, she's convinced that the impossible can be made possible. But she has reckoned without the consequences of her father's criminal record, or the distraction of a boy with melty, dark eyes, with whom she refuses to fall…

The Wild One

By Terri Farley,

Book cover of The Wild One

Why this book?

It’s probably been 20 years since I’ve read this book, but it’s stuck with me. I love the idea of horses in the wild having secret bonds with humans. The concept of secret names may or may not be something that I’ve tried with my own horses—only they can confirm that for you! This is a great story of the deep bonds that run between horses and people.

The Wild One

By Terri Farley,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Wild One as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The beloved first book in the middle grade Phantom Stallion series about a girl, her horse, and the beauty of the American West returns with a brand-new, stunning cover and bonus material! Perfect for fans of Canterwood Crest and classic horse stories like Black Beauty and My Friend Flicka.

When thirteen-year-old Samantha returns home to her family’s cattle ranch in Nevada, she’s nervous. She moved away two years ago to recover from a bad fall off her beloved mustang, Blackie, and she’s still not sure she can get back in the saddle. She’s having trouble bonding with her new horse,…

Coming Home

By Lauren Brooke,

Book cover of Coming Home

Why this book?

This book (and series) was amazing before it was a TV show. Do yourself a favor and read. The. Books! Heartland is a powerful story of how horses can help us make sense of loss; additionally, it highlights how horses can help us connect to a deeper part of ourselves. Plus, the herbal knowledge in the books is way better than the TV show, and you might actually learn something your four-legged friends might like rubbed on their noses.

Coming Home

By Lauren Brooke,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Coming Home as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Amy's mother founded Heartland, a place for healing traumatized horses, but Amy, who inherited her mother's skills with horses, must continue her work after an accident on a stormy night kills her mother.

The Guardian Herd: Starfire

By Jennifer Lynn Alvarez,

Book cover of The Guardian Herd: Starfire

Why this book?

The pegasi characters in this story are a lot like humans, but they’re also a lot like horses. Their personalities are as unique as their names! I love how this highlights a young animal’s life in a really relatable, playful way that adults can enjoy, too. This book reminded me of the joy of horse foals in real life, but it also made me think a lot about what it means to be true to yourself and your calling.

The Guardian Herd: Starfire

By Jennifer Lynn Alvarez,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Guardian Herd as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

The first book in a gripping new tween fantasy series about winged horses-perfect for fans of the Warriors, Survivors, and Guardians of Ga'Hoole series. This paperback edition contains bonus content-a short story about Star's beloved friend, Grasswing! Once every hundred years, a black foal is born, prophesied to either unite or destroy the five herds of flying horses that live in Anok-fated to become the most powerful pegasus in all of the land. Star is this black foal. Even though Star has malformed wings that make him unable to fly, the leaders of each herd will take no risks and…

Unicorns of Balinor

By Mary Stanton,

Book cover of Unicorns of Balinor

Why this book?

This is another oldie, but a goodie! The Unicorns of Balinor was my favorite book series as a kid, and I’ve even revisited it as an adult. I may or may not have painted some model horses after the Sunchaser. This is a testament to how good of a story this is—growing up, these books were always checked out at the library! (Yes, that was the cool thing to do back then.) If you’re looking for epic fantasy adventures with fantastical unicorns, this is for you.

Unicorns of Balinor

By Mary Stanton,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Unicorns of Balinor as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

As Arianna recovers from a bad accident and loss of memory, she slowly recalls things about her past and learns that her “horse” Chase can speak thoughts to her, as can her dog. When Chase is threatened, Arianna tries to run away with Chase and Lincoln – only to find herself transported into the world of Balinor, where she must reclaim her birthright.

“Stanton writes with a sure hand." - Orson Scott Card

on THE HEAVENLY HORSE FROM THE OUTERMOST WEST
“A wonderful book”…“It is also required reading…for all animal lovers.”
- Gene Wolfe

“If you loved WATERSHIP DOWN ……

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in horses, Nevada, and equestrianism?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about horses, Nevada, and equestrianism.

Horses Explore 91 books about horses
Nevada Explore 20 books about Nevada
Equestrianism Explore 28 books about equestrianism

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Black Beauty, The Horse Dancer, and The Black Stallion if you like this list.