The best chick lit novels to bring a smile to your face

Who am I?

I’m the author of the Storybook Valley chick-lit series, which includes Fooling Around With Cinderella and Prancing Around With Sleeping Beauty. I love reading and writing lighthearted novels about young women finding their Prince Charming—and also themselves. Setting is also important to me as a writer. To create my Storybook Valley novels I spied on Cinderellas at amusement parks and discreetly watched employees head off into off-limits areas. I watched hours of YouTube interviews with former Disney World princesses, behind-the-scenes videos with other amusement park employees, and listened to podcast interviews with managers of theme parks. All the novels I chose had well-developed settings that were an integral part of the book.  


I wrote...

Fooling Around With Cinderella

By Stacy Juba,

Book cover of Fooling Around With Cinderella

What is my book about?

Ever wondered what those cheerful theme park princesses are really thinking? When twenty-five-year-old Jaine Andersen proposes a new marketing role to the local amusement park, general manager Dylan Callahan charms her into filling Cinderella’s glass slippers for the summer. Her reign transforms Jaine’s ordinary life into chaos that would bewilder a fairy godmother. Secretly dating her bad boy boss, running wedding errands for her ungrateful sisters, and defending herself from the park’s resident villain means Jaine needs lots more than a comfy pair of shoes to restore order in her kingdom... First in the Storybook Valley series, a blend of sweet romance, humorous chick lit, and fairy tale fun. 

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

Confessions of a Shopaholic

By Sophie Kinsella,

Book cover of Confessions of a Shopaholic

Why this book?

I loved the plucky, flawed, and funny protagonist, Becky Bloomwood. She had an engaging voice and got herself into hilarious situations. This was one of the rare books that made me laugh out loud and it was what sparked my interest in writing a humorous chick-lit novel of my own. I also enjoyed the other books in the series, which follow Becky as she becomes a wife and eventually a mother. The series was a great example of an author creating character arcs for both the protagonist and supporting characters that evolve throughout different stages of their lives. 

Confessions of a Shopaholic

By Sophie Kinsella,

Why should I read it?

2 authors picked Confessions of a Shopaholic as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Meet Rebecca Bloomwood. She has a great flat, a fabulous wardrobe full of the season's must-haves, and a job telling other people how to manage their money. She spends her leisure time ... shopping.

Retail therapy is the answer to all her problems. She knows she should stop, but she can't. She tries Cutting Back, she tries Making More Money. But neither seems to work. The letters from the bank are getting harder to ignore. Can Becky ever escape from this dreamworld, find true love, and regain the use of her credit card?


The Singles Game

By Lauren Weisberger,

Book cover of The Singles Game

Why this book?

This book captivated me as it centered on a unique subject matter—professional women’s tennis. I played varsity tennis in high school, so have always enjoyed the sport, and I don’t think I’ve ever read a novel about pro tennis. It was fun reading about America’s sweetheart, Charlotte “Charlie” Silver, and how fame impacts her life. The book felt like an inside look at what it’s really like to be on the pro circuit with some entertaining romantic twists. The tennis aspects seemed authentic, as if the author had done her research. Since I’m a former journalist, authenticity and research are important to me when reading or writing a novel.

The Singles Game

By Lauren Weisberger,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Singles Game as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada and When Life Gives You Lululemons comes a dishy tell-all about a beautiful tennis prodigy who, after changing coaches, suddenly makes headlines on and off the court.

How far would you go to reach the top?

When America’s sweetheart, Charlotte “Charlie” Silver, makes a pact with the devil, the infamously brutal coach Todd Feltner, Good Girl Charlie is banished. After all, no one ever wins big by playing nice. Charlie finds herself catapulted into a world of celebrity stylists, private parties, charity events on mega-yachts, and secret dates…


Royal Wedding: A Princess Diaries Novel

By Meg Cabot,

Book cover of Royal Wedding: A Princess Diaries Novel

Why this book?

I had never read the Princess Diaries books but was a fan of the movies. I had also read some of Meg Cabot’s adult novels. When I heard that Meg was releasing an adult installment of her popular princess series, I had to read it. Royal Wedding follows Princess Mia and her Prince Charming as they plan her fairytale wedding. This book was also unique as it connected to a series of middle grade novels about Mia’s younger half-sister. (From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess) I wound up buying my daughter the whole series for her Easter basket during the first part of the pandemic as I thought it might cheer her up. It did!

Royal Wedding: A Princess Diaries Novel

By Meg Cabot,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Royal Wedding as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From Meg Cabot, the Number One New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries series, comes the very first New Adult instalment, featuring the now grown-up Princess Mia!
Royal Wedding follows Princess Mia and her Prince Charming as they plan their fairy tale wedding - but a few poisoned apples could turn this happily-ever-after into a royal nightmare.
For Princess Mia, the past five years since college graduation have been a whirlwind of activity, what with living in New York City, running her new teen community centre, being madly in love, and attending royal engagements. And speaking of engagements,…


A Princess for Christmas

By Jenny Holiday,

Book cover of A Princess for Christmas

Why this book?

I absolutely love Hallmark Christmas movies! Much to my husband’s chagrin, I fill up our DVR with Hallmark movies every November and December and never manage to watch them all. Many of those movies have a royal theme with a prince or princess wanting some normalcy and finding love with an American “commoner.” I originally saw this book on a shelf at Barnes & Noble and knew it would be an enjoyable holiday read. The author didn’t disappoint as she spun the tale of a NYC cab driver and his younger sister who cross paths with Princess Marie of Eldovia.  

A Princess for Christmas

By Jenny Holiday,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked A Princess for Christmas as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

"A perfect combination of sweet and sexy moments makes A Princess for Christmas an unputdownable read!"--Mia Sosa, USA Today bestselling author

From USA Today bestselling author Jenny Holiday comes a modern fairy tale just in time for Christmas about a tough New Yorker from the other side of the tracks who falls for a princess from the other side of the world.

Leo Ricci's already handling all he can, between taking care of his little sister Gabby, driving a cab, and being the super of his apartment building in the Bronx. But when Gabby spots a "princess" in a gown…


American Royals

By Katharine McGee,

Book cover of American Royals

Why this book?

I stumbled onto this book on Amazon and the hook intrigued me: What if America had a royal family instead of a president? This alternate reality story set in the present day follows Princess Beatrice and her two siblings. As Beatrice gets closer to becoming queen, she feels the intense pressure and it affects her friendships, family relationships, and her love life. I’ve also read the second book in the series, which had some surprising plot twists. While this is actually a young adult novel, adults will enjoy it also. It’s a bit soapier than the other novels on my list, but a tantalizing read.

American Royals

By Katharine McGee,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked American Royals as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES * What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown.
Two girls vying for the prince's heart.
This is the story of the American royals.

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on…


5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in family secrets, romantic love, and secrets?

7,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about family secrets, romantic love, and secrets.

Family Secrets Explore 113 books about family secrets
Romantic Love Explore 518 books about romantic love
Secrets Explore 143 books about secrets

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like The Vow, Late to the Party, and The Perfect Find if you like this list.