AlterWorld

By D. Rus,

Book cover of AlterWorld

Book description

A page-turning LitRPG debut in the tradition of Nam Heesung, Legendary Moonlight Sculptor, and Ernest Cline, Ready Player One. Bestseller #1 for years 2013, 2014 and 2015. Bestseller #1 at Audible in 2016. Translated to Korean, German, Polish and Czech languages. A new pandemic - the perma effect - has…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked AlterWorld as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

A Russian novel with a top-notch translation, Alterworld is a controversial series, but one that is etched into LitRPG history and is legitimately worth reading.

The story’s terminally ill protagonist cheats death by uploading his consciousness to a game world, trapping himself in-game, and unlocking a whole slew of issues to overcome. Be forewarned: the series is mired in controversy for several reasons, not least of which being the author’s mercurial political stance. Initially hyper-critical of government, the author becomes famous and suddenly changes his tune. If you binge read the series, this jump to pro-national propaganda will stick out…

Want books like AlterWorld?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 71 books like AlterWorld.

Browse books like AlterWorld

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in virtual reality, propaganda, and presidential biography?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about virtual reality, propaganda, and presidential biography.

Virtual Reality Explore 49 books about virtual reality
Propaganda Explore 19 books about propaganda
Presidential Biography Explore 19 books about presidential biography