The best first books of cozy mystery series that feature libraries and librarians

Who am I?

I enjoy reading and writing cozy mysteries, especially ones that feature libraries and cats because I’m a librarian and have three cats of my own. I like cozies because they focus on characters who can become your fictional friends as you learn more about them with each book. I like the fact that there’s a minimum of violence and even though there may be romance, there are no explicit sex scenes. I’ve always enjoyed reading stories with twists and secrets that are revealed slowly to the reader. These are the type of books that you can savor along with a cup of tea seated next to a purring cat. 


I wrote...

A Stone's Throw (Cobble Cove Mysteries)

By Debbie De Louise,

Book cover of A Stone's Throw (Cobble Cove Mysteries)

What is my book about?

The first of the Cobble Cove cozy mysteries featuring Alicia the librarian and Sneaky, the Siamese library cat. In this book, Alicia, a widowed librarian, searches for answers about her dead husband’s strange hit-and-run accident. Her search leads her from her home on Long Island to the fictional upstate New York town of Cobble Cove where her husband grew up.

Befriending a few of the small town’s quirky residents including the local innkeeper and the handsome yet mysterious newspaper publisher and his father, a librarian at the Cobble Cove Library, she discovers that her husband’s death might not have been an accident and that the man she’s now attracted to may be connected.

The books I picked & why

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. This is how we fund this project for readers and authors (learn more).

Death Overdue (A Haunted Library Mystery Book 1)

By Allison Brook,

Book cover of Death Overdue (A Haunted Library Mystery Book 1)

Why this book?

I liked the unique addition of a library ghost in this book. The main character, Carrie Singleton, is hired as a program director in the small town of Clover Ridge, Connecticut. During her first event at the library, she witnesses a murder and is later aided by the library ghost in discovering the killer. I enjoyed the mystery, the characters, and, as a cat lover, I also loved Smoky Joe, the library cat who “adopts” Carrie and also helps her. Great start to a fun, paranormal cozy series.

Death Overdue (A Haunted Library Mystery Book 1)

By Allison Brook,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Death Overdue (A Haunted Library Mystery Book 1) as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

For fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay comes an enthralling series debut featuring a librarian who solves mysteries with the help of a ghost in the stacks

Carrie Singleton is just about done with Clover Ridge, Connecticut until she's offered a job as the head of programs and events at the spooky local library, complete with its own librarian ghost. Her first major event is a program presented by a retired homicide detective, Al Buckley, who claims he knows who murdered Laura Foster, a much-loved part-time library aide who was bludgeoned to death fifteen years earlier. As he invites…


Books Can Be Deceiving

By Jenn McKinlay, Jenn McKinlay,

Book cover of Books Can Be Deceiving

Why this book?

The first Library Lover’s Mystery, Books Can Be Deceiving is set in a small New England town where the main character, Lindsey, has recently taken over as director of the public library. She takes on the role of amateur sleuth to help her friend and co-worker, a children’s librarian, who has been accused of killing her boyfriend after they broke up. Clues lead Lindsey to discover some secrets in the murdered man’s past that now pose a threat to her safety. I liked the way the suspense was built and how the characters were portrayed. As a librarian at a public library, I also identified with the way the library and its staff were described. 

Books Can Be Deceiving

By Jenn McKinlay, Jenn McKinlay,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Books Can Be Deceiving as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Cupcake Bakery Mysteries comes the start of a series about a library where the mysteries refuse to stay in the fiction section...

Lindsey is getting into her groove as the director of the Briar Creek Public Library when a New York editor visits town, creating quite a buzz. Lindsey’s friend Beth wants to sell the editor her children’s book, but Beth’s boyfriend, a famous author, gets in the way. When they go to confront him, he’s found murdered—and Beth is the prime suspect. Lindsey has to act fast—before they throw the…


The Bodies in the Library

By Marty Wingate,

Book cover of The Bodies in the Library

Why this book?

Although the U.S. has wonderful libraries, England seems to top them, and I’ve always found English mysteries to have a special draw to them. The Bodies in the Library, the first First Edition Library Mystery, is no exception, combining both an English library and a clever mystery. Set in the English town of Bath, the book features Hayley Burke, who has taken the position of curator of a collection of Golden Age mystery books despite the fact that she has no knowledge of mysteries and is faking her experience. So when an Agatha Christie group meets at the library and one of the members is murdered, Hayley must do her best to solve it, so she can keep her job. Following in the footsteps of Miss Marple and Agatha Raisin, I found Hayley to be a memorable character with nerve and verve who I enjoyed meeting in this first of the series. The setting of the historic home in the lovely English town also allowed me to immerse myself in the story. 

The Bodies in the Library

By Marty Wingate,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked The Bodies in the Library as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

Hayley Burke's fresh start as the curator of the First Edition Society's library in Bath, England, is about to take a rotten turn in this charming new mystery series from USA Today bestselling author Marty Wingate.

Hayley Burke has landed a dream job: she is the new curator of Lady Georgiana Fowling's First Edition library. The library is kept at Middlebank House, a lovely Georgian home in Bath, England. Hayley lives on the premises and works with the finicky Glynis Woolgar, Lady Fowling's former secretary.

Mrs. Woolgar does not like Hayley's ideas to modernize the First Edition Society and bring…


Tall Tails Secret Book Club: The Secret Library Cozy Mysteries

By Ceecee James,

Book cover of Tall Tails Secret Book Club: The Secret Library Cozy Mysteries

Why this book?

As a cat lover, the cover of this book drew my attention, and I also loved the title which hinted at a secret. Both play big roles in the book that features a private library in a strange mansion where the main character, Laura Lee, accepts a summer job as a housekeeper. When the chauffeur is murdered and a valuable crown is missing, Laura Lee investigates the mystery with the help of Hank the cat who travels through the house via secret passageways and seems to know many of the mysteries of the house. As a fan of gothic mysteries, I found this book a great read and look forward to reading more in the series.

Tall Tails Secret Book Club: The Secret Library Cozy Mysteries

By Ceecee James,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Tall Tails Secret Book Club as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

A mysterious mansion, a suspicious death, and a cat too smart for its own good…When Laura Lee took the summer job as a housekeeper at the old Thornberry Estate, she knew it was a creepy place, but she had no idea how creepy. Mrs. Fitzwater warned her to keep her mind on her work and her nose in her own business, but one thing after another leads her astray, between the mansion giving up its puzzles as she goes about her work, fun secrets to share with the clever ladies in her book club who are always up for a…


Checked Out: The Village Library Mysteries Book 1

By Elizabeth Spann Craig,

Book cover of Checked Out: The Village Library Mysteries Book 1

Why this book?

Like most cozies, the first book of the Village Library Mysteries takes place in a small town, Whitby, North Carolina. The main character, Ann Beckett, like me, is a reference librarian. When a patron sets her up with a blind date and the mystery man turns up dead, Ann steps up to help solve the murder with the help of a few patrons. I loved and related to the library setting and the situations in which Ann found herself and also really enjoyed the addition of Fitz, the rescued library cat. I consider this a purrfect start to the series.

Checked Out: The Village Library Mysteries Book 1

By Elizabeth Spann Craig,

Why should I read it?

1 author picked Checked Out as one of their favorite books, and they share why you should read it.

What is this book about?

There are no renewals when you’re permanently checked out.

When librarian Ann Beckett finally reluctantly agrees to being set-up on a blind date by one of her over-eager patrons, she figures the worst that could happen would be the two of them wouldn’t hit it off.

Little did she know that she’d be stood up...because her date was murdered.

With help from her patrons, Ann tries to find out who might be responsible in the small town of Whitby before more residents are permanently checked out.

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in libraries, librarians, and Connecticut?

7,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about libraries, librarians, and Connecticut.

Libraries Explore 40 books about libraries
Librarians Explore 38 books about librarians
Connecticut Explore 19 books about Connecticut

And, 3 books we think you will enjoy!

We think you will like Ronan the Librarian, The Vanished Library, and Digging for Words if you like this list.