When We Make It

By Elisabet Velasquez,

Book cover of When We Make It

Book description

"The energy. The clarity. The beauty. Elisabet Velasquez brings it all. . . . Her voice is FIRE!"-NYT bestselling and award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson

An unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to "make it," for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Sarai…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked When We Make It as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This coming-of-age novel-in-verse beautifully captures the dynamics of survival in tough neighborhoods in a way that honors the humanity and nuance of the community—details that are too often lost in media and forgotten by the people that “make it out.” Through the lens of the Puerto Rican-American protagonist, Sarai, her family, and the neighborhood characters that are all too familiar, I was brought into the heart of pre-gentrified Bushwick, Brooklyn, and Puerto Rican culture to go on Sarai’s journey of self-discovery. We are sitting on the stoop, at the foot of the bed, in the back pew in conversation with…

Want books like When We Make It?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like When We Make It.

Browse books like When We Make It

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in New York State, Brooklyn, and New York City?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about New York State, Brooklyn, and New York City.

New York State Explore 519 books about New York State
Brooklyn Explore 106 books about Brooklyn
New York City Explore 1,078 books about New York City