Two Bobbies

By Kirby Larson, Mary Nethery, Jean Cassels (illustrator)

Book cover of Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival

Book description

from Newbery award winning author Kirby Larson comes a remarkable true story of the devotion, friendship, and survival of two pets left behind in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. In the tradition of Owen and Mzee, this beautiful picture book is a testament to the spirit that defined post-Katrina rescue…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Two Bobbies as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

A dog and a cat are left behind when Hurricane Katrina strikes. Rescuers dub them, “The Bobbies” because of their bobbed tails. The two are inseparable, and the dog Bobbie is fiercely protective of the Bobbie cat, who we later learn is totally reliant on him for her survival. The Bobbies are rescued, and we’re reminded how many “helpers,” as Mr. Rogers’ mother would say, there are in the world.

Want books like Two Bobbies?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Two Bobbies.

Browse books like Two Bobbies

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in dogs, cats, and Hurricane Katrina?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about dogs, cats, and Hurricane Katrina.

Dogs Explore 384 books about dogs
Cats Explore 184 books about cats
Hurricane Katrina Explore 21 books about Hurricane Katrina