The Underground Man

By Ross Macdonald,

Book cover of The Underground Man

Book description

As a mysterious fire rages through the hills above a privileged town in Southern California, Archer tracks a missing child who may be the pawn in a marital struggle or the victim of a bizarre kidnapping.  What he uncovers amid the ashes is murder—and a trail of motives as combustible…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Underground Man as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

To my mind, Macdonald is the greatest of American mystery writers, yet he appears to be all but forgotten. Writing in the tradition of Chandler and Hammett—and sharing their California setting—he surpasses them both as a writer and a student of human nature. I find his detective, Lew Archer, a believable and appealing character. A decent and compassionate man, he’s as tough as needs be, but no tougher. The Underground Man is Macdonald’s best, a complex and haunting story in which a routine search for a missing person leads Archer into a twisted family heritage of death and betrayal that…

From Stephen's list on neglected mysteries.

Want books like The Underground Man?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 68 books like The Underground Man.

Browse books like The Underground Man

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in private investigators, California, and World War 1?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about private investigators, California, and World War 1.

California 381 books
World War 1 899 books