The Long Road Home

By Adrian Vincent,

Book cover of The Long Road Home: An account of the author's experiences as a prisoner-of-war in the hands of the Germans during the Second World War

Book description

The honest account of one prisoner-of-war’s struggle to survive through five years of Nazi imprisonment. An essential book for readers of Horace Greasley, Alistair Urquhart and Heather Morris.

On a cold May morning in 1940, Adrian Vincent arrived in France with his battalion.

His war didn’t last long.

Within five…

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked The Long Road Home as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Another prisoner who lost five years of his life to Nazi tyranny. A real honest and at times, brutal account of what it was like in a German POW camp during WWII. It begins with the soldier's capture in Northern France, and the horrendous journey just to get to the camp in Germany. A story that captures the hopes and the hopelessness of these young men, who at first believed it, 'would be all over by Christmas' and endured year after year staring down the barrel of a gun behind barbed wire, wondering where the next meal would come from.…

From Ken's list on WWII prisoner of war.

Want books like The Long Road Home?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like The Long Road Home.

Browse books like The Long Road Home

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in World War 2, prisoner of war, and Germany?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about World War 2, prisoner of war, and Germany.

World War 2 Explore 1071 books about World War 2
Prisoner Of War Explore 61 books about prisoner of war
Germany Explore 322 books about Germany