The Book of Lost Names

By Kristin Harmel,

Book cover of The Book of Lost Names

Book description

Throughout the 1940s, forgers helped thousands of children escape Nazi France. In this instant New York Times bestseller, Kristin Harmel reimagines their story...

Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Book Thief.

In 1942, Eva is forced to flee Paris after the arrest…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

2 authors picked The Book of Lost Names as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II, a young woman with a talent for forgery helps hundreds of Jewish children flee the Nazis. Author Kristin Harmel includes meticulous research to spotlight the French Resistance figures whose bravery and immeasurable sacrifices must not be lost to history. The act of what the forger needed to turn out identity documents like birth certificates to library cards to ration cards—and the process itself—is fascinating! This is a heartrending page-turner! 

Again, inspired by a true story, The Book of Lost Names is an astonishing novel about a young Polish-French woman who risks her life forging identity documents for Jewish children. I’m a sucker for books about people helping people, and even more so when it has to do with kids. This story will rip your heart to pieces and then sew it back together again. It’s a testament to love and sacrifice. A beautiful page-turner with secrets and turns and all the fixings of a great novel.

From Sara's list on remarkable women in WW2.

Want books like The Book of Lost Names?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like The Book of Lost Names.

Browse books like The Book of Lost Names

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the German occupation of Europe, France, and librarians?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the German occupation of Europe, France, and librarians.

The German Occupation Of Europe Explore 51 books about the German occupation of Europe
France Explore 647 books about France
Librarians Explore 34 books about librarians