Contagion

By Erin Bowman,

Book cover of Contagion

Book description

Edgar Award Nominee for Best Young Adult Mystery

Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy.

After receiving a…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

2 authors picked Contagion as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Pre-Covid, I loved to read about dangerous viruses taking over the world. The genre has lost a liiiiitle bit of its charm since then, but Contagion is too good a story to pass up. It reminds me powerfully of the Dead Space video games, with its mysteriously uninhabited space stations. Like the very best scary sci-fi, it blurs the line between the terrifying things close to home – like an unexplained illness – and the deep, dark, scary depths of space we have yet to understand!

Contagion is my oh-so-scary recommendation for teens with a taste for mystery—it’s also the pandemic book on the list that is most escapist, in its way, being set in outer space. It’s impossible not to root for Bowman’s characters, and it’s fascinating to see pandemic literature travel off-planet.

Want books like Contagion?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like Contagion.

Browse books like Contagion

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in epidemics, interstellar travel, and pandemics?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about epidemics, interstellar travel, and pandemics.

Epidemics Explore 24 books about epidemics
Interstellar Travel Explore 39 books about interstellar travel
Pandemics Explore 24 books about pandemics