Berlin

By Pierre Frei, Anthea Bell (translator),

Book cover of Berlin

Book description

Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been acclaimed as "ambitious . . . filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerizingly readable, and disturbingly convincing" by the Sunday Telegraph. An electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst,…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Berlin as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

In addition to being an intriguing mystery about a serial killer, this is a fascinating portrait of Germany before, during, and after World War II. What is the landscape of a defeated country really like? How can cigarette butts literally become economic currency? The reader learns truly remarkable things about what people will do to simply survive. Plus, the narrative itself flips tradition on its head by telling you about victims after they are dead, rather than before they are killed. Atmospheric and compelling, this story pulls you in and won’t let you go.

Want books like Berlin?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Berlin.

Browse books like Berlin

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Germany, police, and serial killers?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Germany, police, and serial killers.

Germany Explore 469 books about Germany
Police Explore 226 books about police
Serial Killers Explore 287 books about serial killers