When She Woke

By Hillary Jordan,

Book cover of When She Woke

Book description

When she woke, she was red. Not flushed, not sunburned, but the solid, declarative red of a stop sign. An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Hannah Payne's life has been devoted to church and family, but…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked When She Woke as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Because of its timelessness, The Scarlet Letter will remain one of my favorite novels. When She Woke is a modern retelling, set in a future where criminals have their skin genetically altered to reflect the nature of their crimes.

The story focuses on the journey of a woman who is "chromed" red for having an abortion and the lessons on love and autonomy that follow.

Want books like When She Woke?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like When She Woke.

Browse books like When She Woke

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in reproductive rights, Canada, and abortion?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about reproductive rights, Canada, and abortion.

Reproductive Rights Explore 25 books about reproductive rights
Canada Explore 404 books about Canada
Abortion Explore 36 books about abortion