Unicorns Are the Worst!

By Alex Willan,

Book cover of Unicorns Are the Worst!

Book description

Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great, this wildly funny and imaginative picture book celebrates the value of differences as a grumpy goblin gets to know his new unicorn neighbors.

It’s an undeniable fact that unicorns are the worst!

Magic is serious business, but…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Unicorns Are the Worst! as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

When a hardworking goblin gets a frivolous unicorn for a neighbor, it’s easy to understand why he’s a bit put out. After all, he knows many useful magical skills, like turning socks into slugs and making (broccoli-flavored) ice cream out of broccoli. So where are the kids begging for goblin-themed birthday parties, huh? What makes unicorns so special? Great for anyone who’s ever felt overlooked or a little jealous of the popular kids.

From Jess' list on unusual unicorns.

I love this book because it is a different take on a unicorn. In this book, a goblin explains why magic is a serious business. He also complains that “all unicorns do is frolic around, have tea parties, and leave glitter all over the place!” He doesn’t think unicorns are helpful until he gets into a pickle himself. This book shows kids that stereotypes and judgments we may have about others are not always correct. Never judge a book by its uni-horn.

From Shelli's list on unicorn in the uni-verse.

Want books like Unicorns Are the Worst!?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 87 books like Unicorns Are the Worst!.

Browse books like Unicorns Are the Worst!

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in goblins, unicorns, and dragons?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about goblins, unicorns, and dragons.

Goblins Explore 27 books about goblins
Unicorns Explore 41 books about unicorns
Dragons Explore 175 books about dragons