Tombland

By C.J. Sansom,

Book cover of Tombland

Book description

Tudor England is brought vividly to life in Tombland, the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times
'Sansom has the trick of…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

2 authors picked Tombland as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

At the time of writing, this is believed to be the last in the Shardlake novels and I, for one, am already missing them. I have loved every one of the books in the series, following the adventures of the lawyer/crime solver Matthew Shardlake and his assistants Jack Barak and Nicholas Overton. The author has a real way of bringing the Tudor age to life and as a reader you are instantly transported into the 1500s with Sansom’s descriptive and quite brilliant writing. As a general recommendation I could have picked any of the Shardlake novels but under the heading…

I am a huge fan of the Shardlake novels and this latest instalment is one of the most compelling. What sets Sansom’s books apart from other historical novels is the colossal amount of research he undertakes for each one. The protagonist is far from being an archetypal hero but is brilliantly drawn and you find yourself rooting for him from the first page to the last.

From Tracy's list on life in Tudor times.

Want books like Tombland?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like Tombland.

Browse books like Tombland

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in murder, criminal investigations, and lawyers?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about murder, criminal investigations, and lawyers.

Murder Explore 434 books about murder
Criminal Investigations Explore 237 books about criminal investigations
Lawyers Explore 62 books about lawyers