The Murder of Patience Brooke

By J. C. Briggs,

Book cover of The Murder of Patience Brooke

Book description

An intriguing detective series featuring Charles Dickens! Perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Victorian crime mysteries, A Christmas Carol and David Copperfield…

A brutal murder in Victorian London forces a famous writer to solve the mystery… London, 1849Charles Dickens has set up Urania Cottage as a sanctuary for fallen women.…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Murder of Patience Brooke as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

With Charles Dickens investigating, I had to check this out. The author’s imaginative use of Dickens as a sleuth is rooted in facts new to me. I didn’t know he had set up a sanctuary for fallen women, for example. Having read much Dickens, I found the voice authentic. His Victorian world, so intense in his novels, was equally immersive here – the poverty, the dirt, the inequality and I became thoroughly involved in the story and the unfolding investigation. If an author can draw me into their world and hold me… this did, due to impressive detailed research.…

Want books like The Murder of Patience Brooke?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 89 books like The Murder of Patience Brooke.

Browse books like The Murder of Patience Brooke

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in London, Victorian, and presidential biography?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about London, Victorian, and presidential biography.

London Explore 766 books about London
Victorian Explore 149 books about Victorian
Presidential Biography Explore 18 books about presidential biography