The Mask of Aribella

By Anna Hoghton,

Book cover of The Mask of Aribella

Book description

Perfect for fans of The Thief Lord!

Aribella
lives in Venice, the daughter of an impoverished lace-maker.
But she has a deadly secret: when angered, sparks shoot from her
fingertips. Unable to keep her power hidden, she flees - but when
dark spectres rise from the lagoon, the fire in…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Mask of Aribella as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Here’s another magical adventure that has such potential to be a series. Set in a Venice that is full of actual magic this book will appeal to the Harry Potter lovers in your life. Aribella must use her newly found magic to save the city from a grim future at the hands of the villain Zio. Although a fantastical Venice there are plenty of true-to-life details like the Lion’s Mouth, gondolas, and a ruling doge. I really loved the twists at the end. Middle grade readers will be captivated. 

From Nancy's list on kids traveling to Italy.

Want books like The Mask of Aribella?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like The Mask of Aribella.

Browse books like The Mask of Aribella

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Venice, Italy, and Europe?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Venice, Italy, and Europe.

Venice Explore 67 books about Venice
Italy Explore 370 books about Italy
Europe Explore 878 books about Europe