The Cloistered Lady

By Coirle Mooney,

Book cover of The Cloistered Lady

Book description

An enchanting historical drama set in Medieval France! For fans of Philippa Gregory, Elizabeth Chadwick, Carol McGrath and Anne O’Brien.

Joanna and Alice are forced from dazzling court life to bleak confinement…

1173, France

Eleanor of Aquitaine has been arrested for rebelling against her husband, King Henry II of England.…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Cloistered Lady as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Eleanor of Aquitaine is certainly one of the most formidable women of the Middle Ages; not just because she was queen to two kings, but because she had the courage to openly defy them both.

Consequently, I raced to order Coirle Mooney’s first novel in her The Medieval Ladies series, followed quickly by the second, The Cloistered Lady. I absolutely love the author’s ability to craft vivid descriptions of time and place, especially the uncommon setting of the nunnery at Fontrevault. Joanna, Queen Eleanor’s lady-in-waiting, is a delightfully complex character.

Like Christina Kohl in my series, she is wonderfully human;…

Want books like The Cloistered Lady?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like The Cloistered Lady.

Browse books like The Cloistered Lady

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the Middle Ages, Eleanor of Aquitaine, and France?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the Middle Ages, Eleanor of Aquitaine, and France.

The Middle Ages Explore 407 books about the Middle Ages
Eleanor Of Aquitaine Explore 8 books about Eleanor of Aquitaine
France Explore 883 books about France